We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Day Out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beamish Museum

Beamish Museum
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This attraction has developped consdierably since we last visited 15 years ago. Everyone was incredibly helpful, trying their best to ensure that the experience was enjoyable. It was an extremely good insight into life in bygone days, in an area that was open, clean, tastefully arranged and above all still developing. I look forward to going back again!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,782
    895
    186
    71
    52
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An enjoyable visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Having not visited Beamish for a number of years, we returned last week and were once again impressed by the amount there is to see and do. We barely got round half of it in a full day so you definitely won't be bored, and the staff on the trams and at the mining centre were friendly and knowledgeable. The site itself is very spread out but the transport works very effectively, although can be awkward if, like us, you are visiting with older people (for example even on the accessible bus there was quite a steep step up). Tea shop was very busy at lunchtime but we really enjoyed our hot beef stoties! Overall a great family day out with plenty to keep you entertained.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank charvil-ae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A gr8 days outing n fab picnic area. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

A beautifully created insight to a bygone time. Well constructed buildings, wonderfully selected staff to complement a period in time. A testament to the North East.
Well done!

Helpful?
2 Thank d p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“DIRTY TOILETS, DIRTY HOUSES, RUDE STAFF!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Welcome was luke warm. The houses throughout were very dirty, people wouldn't have lived in such dirty conditions.

Many of the costumed staff/volunteers were miserable. The old chap at the mining place who was supervising the hats was just plain RUDE !

Other staff/volunteers were excellent and informative and very polite.

We went to the chipper, having seen it featured in a TV programme and thought that the attitude of the staff was appalling!

The railway station people were lovely. The Geocery Store, Garage and Dentist people were excellent. We found that there was insufficient knowledge held by the staff, particularly at the bank.

I guess that being seniors, we knew more than many of the staff as we had experienced some of the ages featured.

the bakery staff were handling cash and handling comestibles without the use of gloves or tongs, a breach of food handling safety surely.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 227131Susan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

to much to see in one visit hope to go again old blackpool tram just like coals from Newcastle. Bone shaker bus lives up to its name.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolGranmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beamish Museum also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Beamish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing