We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enchanting, Wonderful, Amazing Cottage & Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Huckleberry Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Huckleberry Cottage
Sitting Area with Central Gas Fire Open Plan Kitchen and Breakfast Bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Huckleberry Cottage
Sitting Area with Central Gas Fire
Open Plan Kitchen and Breakfast Bar
Master bedroom with King Size bed and doors opening onto patio
Sitting Area with double doors opening up to Orangery
Open Plan Living
Orangery / Dining Area for 6
Orangery with double patio doors leading to garden
Second Bedroom with doors opening onto patio
Second Bedroom sleeps 3
Bathroom with shower
Our stunning view of rolling countryside
Secluded and private location
Local Gastro Pub  'Black Horse Beamish' 2 minutes walk
Northumberland Coastline - Bamburgh Castle
Durham Cathedral in the winter (only 15-20 minutes drive)
Newcastle Quayside and City Centre (only 15 minutes drive)
Beamish Museum - http://www.beamish.org.uk/
Beamish Wild - http://www.beamishwild.co.uk/
Alnwick Garden and Castle owned by the Duke and Duchess of Northumberland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Beamish, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sonicacac...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enchanting, Wonderful, Amazing Cottage & Location”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Huckleberry Cottage is in the middle of a wonderful meadow, in an amazing quiet location. It is wonderfully decorated, with quality bedding, throws, cushions and tiles. Leather furniture in the living room and a wonderful fully fitted kitchen, and everything you will need in it. The beds are very comfortable. It is lovely to open the front door to just a huge meadow field and with plenty of out door seating, or just take a blanket and sit on the grass. So lovely to be able to take my dog with me, I have a Great Dane and there was plenty room for him to move around and the wonderful meadow to run on every day. The Black Horse pub is only 5 minutes up the bank with wonderful food and great staff. Great location to visit Museums, Shops, forests or just walk. Can't wait to book and visit again, I am sure it will be my UK holiday location for many years to come :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to take my dog with me
Liked least: It was dark outside for midnight doggy wee wee's
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope5...
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely spot!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Set right in the middle of a meadow, with wonderful views and a few minutes stroll from a friendly pub. Generally very well equipped, warm, cosy and comfortable. Bedrooms are on the small side but you don't spend too much time in those. Our dog loved the freedom of a big field to run about in, but the gate to the road doesn't seem to function, so if your dog has a tendency to wander, you would need to be aware. All in all, we had a great week and were sad to leave. So why 4 stars instead of 5? Cleaning could have been better in some areas and the sticking drawers in the bedside tables drove us mad. Information book could have been a bit more comprehensive - a list of local walks/local map perhaps. And maybe some very basic provisions in the fridge on arrival - a pint of milk for example - would be nice as there are no shops nearby. But just minor things really - not enough to put anyone off.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the lovely open plan living space/conservatory
Liked least: Those pesky bedside tables!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and peaceful location. Well appointed.
Liked least: Nothing - it was all excellent.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denmark
Reviewed 12 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Magic75
washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beutiful, well equipped and very clean”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Had a lovely short break at Huckleberry Cottage. Arrived at The Black Horse Pub to pick the keys up and was welcomed by a freindly face. The cottage was well equipped with everything you can possible need for a comfortable stay. Log fire was very cosy at night and the property even has under floor heating. The beds were very large and comfortable and the linen was of a very high standard which is a must for me. Bathroom was very clean but could of done with some nice big bath sheets a towels were abit small. My daughter enjoyed exploring the fields around the cottage and we all felt very safe and secure duing our stay. Felt like you were in the middle of no-where but lots of local ammenities including The Stables bar, Beamish Hall, Italian restaraunt and shops just a short drive from the cotage. Would highly recommend this rental to friends and family and will hoping to stay again ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: scenery and comfy bed.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrj6j
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Could' have been stunning but...”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Pros

Lovely location and very quiet. Beautiful views and close to many attractions which were very much enjoyed. Lovely beds which were very comfortable. Much effort had gone into the ‘look’ of the place. Clean oven. Entrance bell when front door is opened which is great when you have children.

Cons

Very dirty cottage which was not expected even though all occupants pay a cleaning fee of £35. Grease stain on wooden dining table, dishcloth not washed, glass bottles left outside from previous tenants with my children playing in garden, bathroom shower screen not cleaned, large amount of previous tenants hair on bathroom floor, 7 light bulbs not working including bedroom, no WIFI at all no matter how hard I tried to connect, chewing gum on a door bolt I had to remove, secure gate close to cottage is not secure and could have easily been used as an entrance instead of the difficult dirt and stone track. Smoke alarm went off a number of times during the first night waking whole family up including my young children. No reason given for this.

However, most concerning was following my request to have the light bulbs changed. The morning after they were changed (third day into holiday) I stood on a piece of glass and cut my foot whilst walking around barefoot in the morning. My two and half and six and a half year olds were also barefoot at the time and my dog stayed in the lounge overnight. I went around the lounge and kitchen very carefully and picked up 5 pieces of glass that had certainly NOT been there the previous day. These were shown to a member of staff and identified as part of a light bulb. This was totally unacceptable and I dread to think what my very young son would have done with glass stuck in his foot.

I contacted the owners and expressed my concerns over these issues and received an apology and they said it was a one off but have struggled to receive any confirmation since this incident as to the reasons behind it even though the owner stated that she was going to express my findings to 'key' staff.

I am not being picky as I take great pride in my home and I had hoped for a home away from home. If a payment is made for cleaning, I expect the place to be clean!

I hope it was a one off as this could have been a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: VERY dirty
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing