We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice handy for beamish and other attractions”
other travellers have booked this property
Huckleberry Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Huckleberry Cottage
Sitting Area with Central Gas Fire Open Plan Kitchen and Breakfast Bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Huckleberry Cottage
Sitting Area with Central Gas Fire
Open Plan Kitchen and Breakfast Bar
Master bedroom with King Size bed and doors opening onto patio
Sitting Area with double doors opening up to Orangery
Open Plan Living
Orangery / Dining Area for 6
Orangery with double patio doors leading to garden
Second Bedroom with doors opening onto patio
Second Bedroom sleeps 3
Bathroom with shower
Our stunning view of rolling countryside
Secluded and private location
Local Gastro Pub  'Black Horse Beamish' 2 minutes walk
Northumberland Coastline - Bamburgh Castle
Durham Cathedral in the winter (only 15-20 minutes drive)
Newcastle Quayside and City Centre (only 15 minutes drive)
Beamish Museum - http://www.beamish.org.uk/
Beamish Wild - http://www.beamishwild.co.uk/
Alnwick Garden and Castle owned by the Duke and Duchess of Northumberland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Beamish, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J0hn_C961
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice handy for beamish and other attractions”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

St pod is this you need two hundred words I have given it a good review and still they want to waste my time the Internet is still very slow so not sure what is wrong here

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sonicacac...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the cottage the first week in September, this was our 4th Visit to this fabulous cottage. This cottage is like home from home, well equipped with everything you could need. It had a new sofa and chair which is so comfortable. Very clean on arrival and well looked after. The beds are comfy, with lovely bedding, lots of nice towels to use. Everything you could possibly need in a kitchen is there. It is situated in the middle of a meadow, so no one bothers you. We had wonderful weather on our stay so constantly sitting outside. We visited the Black Horse pub just 5 mins up the bank for drinks and food. Easy driving access to Hamsterley Forest, Stanhope Town Centre, High Force. We drove to Middleton in Teesdale which was fabulous. There is an Asda 10 mins away for any supplies you may need. I never rent anywhere else, this is my only holiday cottage I would go to, it has everything I could possibly need for a relaxing holiday. Bonus too is you can take a dog, and mine loves it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonny1coa...
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a really good time
Weather was warm & sunny
The cottage was everything we wanted , beautiful , very spacious
Very private and quiet ,
oh and a great pub 2 mins away !!! We had a lovey meal , Very friendly bar staff

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
andreaNei...
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here for 1 week in march weather was fantastic family and friends came and we sat outside and had food and drinks in the lovely sunshine whilst the dogs ran around in the field. Great place for the dog as he spent most of the time roaming around outside and didnt need to worry as no road near. Cottage lovely and warm with under floor heating and a gas log burner to back it up which we hardly used. Kitchen lovely and big with everything you need. Only thing it could do with is a large freezer as only a small one in fridge. Lovely pub up the hill which did lovely food and had happy hour from 4pm till 7pm everyday we did take advantage of this as it was so nice and welcoming. Alison at pub very helpful. Would definately come back again we loved it

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle1...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice cottage”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at Huckleberry for 3 nights in January. Cottage is smaller than what you imagine from photos but big enough for 4 people. Décor is nice and kitchen is well equipped. Underfloor heating is excellent ensuring you are toastie throughout. TV is very old so could not connect PC/ USB or the likes so stuck with the TV channels. No WIFI either and mobile signal is very poor at the cottage despite all 4 of us having different network providers. So we really were incommunicado which for some might be fab but for me I like to be reachable as I have two young children at home. Absolutely loved the conservatory as we could watch the stars on an evening, although it is chilly in there. The cottage could have done with a good clean and sweep etc. There were many dead flies in the conservatory and there was dust on sofa, chairs, bedroom furniture. However we washed everything down and felt better. The views are amazing from the cottage and we went on lovely walks each day in the woods adjacent. Nice pub 100m away and beamish nearby. The road down to the cottage from the Black Horse is dreadful and my car undercarriage took some damage. There is a little road entrance at the bottom of the property which is in a better state of repair which should be used instead of the one down from the pub you have to collect keys from. All in all a good stay, perhaps just needs a bit updating in terms of technology and a thorough clean. This I feel changes it from a luxury cottage (which you are paying premium for) to a beautiful standard cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery
Liked least: Cleanliness and lack of wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing