We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room... Noisy heating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stayed there during a buisness trip this week. The hotel itself is very nice in impressive grounds. I was given a first floor room somewhere near the middle of the building which ended up being a bit of a treck up and down stairs and through corridors!

The room was huge, with a good level of decor and furniture etc. Plenty of teas, coffees, milks etc with the kettle and a decent iron and ironing board in the wardrobe (which is always good if you have shirts that look like mine when they come out of a suitcase).

Went to the stables bar for dinner and a drink which was excellent!

The only couple of things i would mention is that the bed was too soft for my liking and the heating got a bit noisy in the night but other from that, no worries!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lockye2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

Have eaten here several times and food has always been very good and well-priced. The set menu is great value although (understandably) the a la carte menu is better quality. Have also had a Sunday lunch here and it was far better than standard pub grub. There is also a good selection of real ales and ciders from the attached micro-brewery.

Only complaint would be that the drinks ordered by the table next to us were added to our bill; an issue a friend has also experienced when dining at the Stables. This was instantly rectified but the waitress did not apologise for this. The fact that the staff made a mistake and then did not feel any responsibility to say sorry left us feeling rather offended. However, it would not deter us from visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at the hotel for my sons wedding day. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. The staff were attentive and very friendly joining in the fun with the guests. The wedding ceremony was beautiful and the wedding breakfast aferwards was outstanding. The food and service excellent. Everyhing was re arranged quickly for the evening celebration. And again the food was first class. The accommodation and breakfast could not be faulted. It was great having everything in the one place with no worries about transport. I would highly recommend the hotel for a memerable and special wedding.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room at a little extra cost. Room 4 has a huge bathroom with walk in shower and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyhoy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This was our first visit to Beamish Hall and although the hotel and location are lovely some things were disappointing. The visit was booked for a birthday surprise for my husband and I emailed the hotel in advance to request a room with a good view - what we got was a ground floor room with a view of the car park! Not the best start.

The room itself although not spacious was spotlessly clean but I have to agree with Captain Amnesia_248's comments. My husband is also 6 ft tall and struggled with the bed length, bathroom door and shower height so if you are tall -beware.

However it was the noise which spoiled our stay the most. The floorboards creaked which in an old building is to be expected but what we didnt expect was being kept awake most of the night by the racket from other guests in the corridors, the surrounding rooms and above. In particular we did not appreciate the bedroom antics from the couple in the room above us - not very conducive to a restful nights sleep! Perhaps the hotel should hand out ear plugs to guests on arrival....... When we complained the next day the receptionist simply said 'oh yes that's happened to me before and its awful isnt it?' and that was that. Whilst I appreciate that this is something outside their control I felt they could have handled it better.

The breakfast choices were more than ample and the service was efficient and friendly.

We had a short tour of the micro brewery and then dinner in the Stables which I had pre-booked as part of the package and we really enjoyed. The staff there were very friendly and helpful both in the bar and the restaurant. We especially liked the cosy bar area where you could sit and relax beside the wood burner and for the summer there is a nice area outside to sit and enjoy a drink.

Overall we did enjoy our stay and would return but would ask for a high floor and maybe take ear plugs just in case!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so you dont have to listen to the people above you walking about (or anything e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spikeylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This was our 6th visit to the hall and every time I leave a little more disappointed.

We have booked our Christmas party in a private dining room for 5 years and whilst the event cannot be faulted it's all the little niggles that spoil it.

When we first started using Beamish the accommodation was always fantastic; large rooms, large bathrooms and fantastic views. However, contrast that with this years room supposedly of the same standard. The bed was too short for my husband to lie fully stretched out in, at 6' 2" I would hardly call him a freak of nature but every bed in the hotel (and we've stayed in 6 different rooms) has a footboard on. We did ask reception about this and were told the furniture in the hotel was antique and unfortunately all the beds were like this. The door into the bathroom was under 6 feet in height so he had to duck every time he used it. The shower was over the bath so again he couldn't stand up full height in the shower.

Another thing we have noticed is that the first few years we were there after our party was over and we were asked to vacate the room for the staff to set up for a wedding the following day, we were asked to retire to the residents lounge where we could order another drink or two while we chatted into the wee small hours. However, we haven't been able to order another drink for a few years now with reception citing a lack of staff and this year we were asked to sit the foyer which was cold and lacking in atmosphere.

This is a four star hotel and I would have expected a better standard.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank captainamnesia2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My husband and I booked a night away at Beamish Hall Hotel for a bit of relaxing and romance. Neither was had. The rooms have paper thin walls - we got to listen to our next door neighbours and above neighbours enjoy their romantic weekend; not to mention the Corrie omnibus we could hear through the walls on Saturday morning.... ugh. On top of this, we ventured to the much acclaimed "Stables" restaurant where we were left waiting for half an hour, then finally shown to our table as we were about to give up, to then wait a further 45 mintues and still not get our food. Read the other reviews and take heed: It is overrated and over-priced. We wish we'd gone to a pub down the road where at least you are served!!!
Overall, extremely disappointing and just glad we didn't pay full price. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Possibly one on the top floor so you don't feel like giants are parading above you all night? On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ricecrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

What a fantastic hotel the setting is fabulous, the wedding and wedding feast brilliant and the staff exceptional. The room we had was great with a jaccusi bath in it and marvelous views from the widows. The breakfast menu made you wish you could eat more but I couldn't manage the full breakfast. Brilliant Stay can't wait to go back.
No pool or gym but didn't go for that, close to Beamish Museum and other attractions. Olny Bad point if you dont know the area is tom tom can't find it but gets you close and it's well sign posted

Room Tip: Any room will do. we had a delux one which was faultles but a standard room at £60 for 2 including b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stickman1052016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
0.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
426 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
19.7 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,298 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#46 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Beamish, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range: £85 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing