We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Took my mum for afternoon tea. The whole experience was fabulous.
The gardens and hotel were beautiful. The staff friendly and welcoming. The selection of sandwich cakes and scones were mouthwatering. Will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    339
    140
    66
    38
See reviews for
255
684
17
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cramlington northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Just been to Beamish Hall for afternoon tea which had been a xmas present from a lovely friend, and wow we were not disappointed. It is the first time we had been to the hotel and from the moment we drove in it just got better and better. We were served in the eden suite by Tony and he made our visit special. He told us the history behind the hall and then went and got us an information sheet. The afternoon tea was superb, and the cakes were to die for, we ended up with a doggy bag. Ample coffee with the right amount of attention. At the end Tony showed us one of the superior rooms and then where the stable bar was. The hotel has a gem in Tony and he is an excellent advocate for selling the virtues of the hotel. We will be back, this time to stay.

Room Tip: Room 102 was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 102 (premier room) last night for my birthday. When we arrived the reception lady was just lovely and very helpful. Sometimes it can feel like staff just reel off a script and lack interest but this lady was quite the opposite. She made us feel very welcome. The room was splendid, and absolutely massive as well as in keeping with the period of the building! Loved the four poster bed and jacuzzi bath, luxury! Only one thing that was bad, it was too hot in the night, but this was probably down to us having the heating on too high for too long. Good breakfast too, and made to order! Thanks.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here in the middle of February, with my boyfriend. The bedroom was lovely and cosy although a little on the small side!
We went for a meal at the Stables on the evening, the food was beautiful and the staff very friendly! Had a comfortable night sleep, although could have used a king size rather than a double!
Perhaps the best part of the full trip was the breakfast! We got room service so ate our breakfast in bed, was probably one of the nicest breakfasts I have ever ate! The food all seemed very good quality and was very tasty indeed!
Great hotel, would definately go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Had afternoon tea in this secluded hotel, near Beamish Museum.
on from 12 until 4pm very civilised .With views over the lawns it is really a different way to have lunch.Yes lots of places do afternoon tea but the selection of cakes will have your mouth watering.(and a doggy bag if you cannot manage them all).I will go back soon to this hotel for tea and recommend .it to everyone .Hotel also looked inviting something to think about for the future.

Room Tip: Only sampled the Afternoon tea but some of the rooms open and i wished we had been staying as so tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed for one night dinner, bed and breakfast. When we arrived we were thrilled to find we had been upgraded to the deluxe room with a double jacuzzi in the bathroom.

The room was perfect decor with lovely oak (I think) furniture. We went for the tour around the micro brewery in the stables bar and restaurant which was very interesting. Then we got to taste the 6 different ales they make on the premises. Very nice indeed.

Our meal included 3 courses which my husband and I enjoyed very much indeed. The service was very attentive and pleasant and the surroundings were really tastefully done.

We had a very comfortable night's sleep.

Our breakfast was really tasty with a massive choice. The service at breakfast was the only tiny point that was disappointing. We got to the dining area at 9.45 where breakfast was to be served until 10am. The slightly offhand waitress made it quite clear they were waiting for us to be able to finish serving (even though we were on time). Also, I just wanted parts of the full breakfast instead of being wasteful and not eating the bits I don't like, but obviously by being selective proved somewhat problematic to her.

Anyway, that certainly would not stop us from returning as all the rest of the staff, in particular the reception staff were absolutely lovely.

I hope anyone going there will enjoy their stay as much as we did. Thankyou very much.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looby193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south tyneside
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel surpasses all expections of hotel accomodation, from the staff to the room to the food. i loved everything about it. The staff gave 110%, nothing was a problem. My husband booked this hotel as a surprise 50th birthday present and i recieved flowers and a bottle of wine in my room, truly amazing. The view from the room was spectacular with deer in the fields. A visit well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitorSouthTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
0.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
394 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,046 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,146 reviews
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Beamish, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing