We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and Miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed one night BB&ED. The old building is really lovely, the decor and furnishings are top class. Unfortuntately we were given Room 107 which was tiny and in fairness is a single room with a double bed. The ensuite was very nice. We advised Reception that we are Best Western members but that didn`t work. During the night we did feel uncomfortably hemmed in. However all of the staff were extremely attentive and friendly. The micro brewery tour was interesting and informative. Dinner in the external Stables bar/restaurant was fine but noisy as a large group of ten drinkers were right beside us. It is more pub fare than 4 star dining. Breakfast in the eden Room was excellent. This room is in the older part of the Hall and is beautiful. Its a pity dinner isn`t served there.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 107 as its rather small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gluggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    330
    135
    66
    36
See reviews for
246
657
16
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed for one night at this traditional hotel and paid for an upgrade. Our room was very traditional and spacious - lovely! The bathroom was very modern with a fabulous double jacuzzi bath and stylish walk in shower - really luxurious. We had booked dinner, bed and breakfast but were very disappointed to find that the only dining option was in the on-site pub/restaurant. The contrast between the stylish hotel and the basic pub was stark. I know the pub is extremely popular locally, but it was a let down for us. The menu was typical pub grub. We like restaurant quality food and I am gluten intolerant so have to be careful with what I eat. Paul could not have done more to help to sort out a suitable meal, but the kitchen messed it up and my meal had to go back. My husband ordered sausage and mash with a side of veg. This was microwaved to death. The best part of the meal was my husband's cheeseboard. Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room in the main hotel. This was a much nicer experience. Ashleigh was a delightful waitress and the food very nice. Sadly we won't return because of the pub food and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Worth paying for an upgrade to get a more spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linsky28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed one night in this lovely hotel. The receptionists upon arrival were very welcoming and professional. Our room, albeit quite small was exceptionally clean. We had lunch and dinner that night at the Stables and the whole experience was excellent from staff friendliness, politeness, good food etc. We will definately visit again and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Well done to all the staff who made it a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue3658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcar
Level Contributor
166 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

stayed here for one night on a saturday
first impressions are good and the building looks very nice from the outside and the reception area is very nice

we arrived around 3pm and booked in for afternoon tea - we were seated for afternoon tea and they eventually took our order - It was a surprise that you are given a choice of one type of sandwich from the list and you can not have a selection as is what we have always been offered at other places when having afternoon tea

we waited 45 minutes to get our food which is poor service

the food was o.k and the scone was delicious, however the tea pot had only one tea bag and a separate jug of hot water was supplied - how many cups of tea do they expect you to get from one tea bag!!!
we then went to the bar next door for a drink but had to walk back to the dining room to pay for it as they had no float in the till

onto the room which was reasonably spacious and in good order, clean and comfortable
one bad point - the wall between our room and the next room was not very good as we could here almost everything being said and the t.v from the room next to us

looking out of the window was generally a good view but the garden next to the hotel had lots of weeds in it and there were gardening tools left out (only a minor point but being a keen gardener it would take little effort to tidy the garden next to the hotel which guests will look out at)

the evening meal was in the stables restaurant we sat down and were told there were 3 separate dishes on the menu were not available - the food was good apart from my wife ordered a dish with a sauce and it arrived without the sauce - when we asked about this the waiter went off to get it and arrived back with some coleslaw saying they had no sauce but would the coleslaw be o.k

overall it is a nice hotel with some lovely rooms and the staff are very friendly and polite but there is lots of room for improvement on the points mentioned

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcquade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Called into The Stables on 24th March with no table booked. While they prepared our table for five we had a drink in the comfortable bar area. Table ready in 5 mins. Staff friendly and efficient. Well designed and spacious. The starters and mains were well presented and we all thoroughly enjoyed. The men had beer from the micro brewery and it went down a treat. All in all a good time was had by all so much do we will be back very soon. Thank you to all the staff who made our night a great one.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maciiiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked via Groupon for a one night stay, dinner, bed and breakfast for £109.00. This is the first time my husband and I have been to Beamish Hall and it certainly won't be the last. From the moment we pulled up outside the impressive building, we didn't stop smiling. The greeting from reception was excellent. Our room (204) was absolutely gorgeous. Yes, it was quite small but all you do is sleep in it! The bathroom was excellent, modern and well equipped. Everything was spotlessly clean and well thought out. The bed was very comfortable (for someone who doesn't sleep well, I certainly had a very good night's rest). So peaceful and quiet! As part of the Groupon deal we had a tour of the micro brewery. This was informative and interesting and we got to sample 7 of the brews on offer. Full marks to the young man who showed us round. We ate in the Stables restaurant which was fantastic. There were no restrictions on menu choice (sometimes happens in other Groupon deals) and we were waited on by some truely delightful staff. Paul deserves a mention - he gave us a potted history of the hall and was passionate and knowledgeable throughout. Food was delicious, we had wine and liqueurs and was pleasantly surprised at how reasonable the prices were. Breakfast next morning was in the Eden Room which was a beautiful room. The only negative here was that the breakfast was slow - it took half an hour to get our breakfast. Although the food is all freshly cooked it was a bit slow! How we wish we could have stayed for longer. Also, just wanted to mention Best Western. Although this is a BW hotel, it doesn't mean that all the hotels in the group are the same! I am sure that BW hotels are run independently with BW support. All in all, a fantastic evening away, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biblet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked a 1 night stopover with B & B plus dinner as a anniversary treat. We live about 25 miles away and saw the offer via a Groupon email. I stayed here previously about 20 years ago as part of a Magistrates Training Weekend. At that time the Hall had been a teacher training facility and had not been part of a hotel group. In fact, I remember staying in a two bed room and slept in a narrow, short metal bed, with a mattress covered with a plastic sheet. Not a good couple of nights sleep, though I was impressed by the building and the grounds/setting (still a great location).

How times have changed. The whole Hall has been totally sympathetically modernised and refurbished by the Best Western Group, making good use of older features and furnished to a high standard. We paid an extra £15 for a Deluxe Room. Well worth it, we had a lovely room, with two windows, plenty of room and lovely period quality furniture, including a writing desk plus two small armchairs. Add to that a whirlpool bath and a 32" flat screen TV and full Wi-Fi. A very comfortable large bed with a tasteful tapestry bed covering.

Included in the offer was a tour of their own micro-brewery. The brewery is situated in a separated building which includes the main bar and restaurant. We were given a very interesting talk within the brewery by the enthusiastic head brewer. A lovely man who is passionate about his various brews all of which you can purchase in the bar. After the tour we had a very pleasant hour sampling the various ales/beers at the bar. Again, served by a very pleasant and welcoming lady behind the bar.

This was followed by our dinner, served in the same small complex. We had paid a fixed price for dinner when we booked - about £20 each. For this you have the choice of a starter, main and desert, taken directly from the 'a -le -carte' menu. Wine was extra and some larger steaks had a small addition charge. There is a good selection to chose from. We went for a walnut and goat cheese salad - lovely, then steak and handmade chips, followed by creme brulee with shortbread biscuits. A very good meal. The head waiter is a bit of a character, adding to a very pleasant dinning experience.

I have to say that all of the staff, from entering the hotel, being greeted by the two welcoming receptionists, to the bar and restaurant staff, were consistently helpful and very pleasant in their dealings with us, nothing was too much trouble. We have traveled around the world and we have never been to a hotel where every member of staff was so good.

Room Tip: We were in a Deluxe Room which was well worth the extra and over looking the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cussie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
0.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
22.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
Address: 1 Just off the a, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing