We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary in June. We booked the champagne, dine and dream package. On arrival a bottle of champagne was chilling so we enjoyed a very pleasant afternoon relaxing in one of the deluxe rooms overlooking the grounds. Dinner in the stables restaurant was good. One of us had lamb which was served very rare. After asking for it to be taken and grilled a little longer this was done with no fuss and when it came back was delicious. It is worth booking though as it was very busy. Breakfast the following morning was served in a room overlooking the grounds and there were lots of options - one gorgeous full Northumbrian breakfast and one omelette. Great choice of fruits, cereals etc. The hotel were aware it was our anniversary and also left a card and chocolates in our room with the champagne which was a really lovely touch. Would definitely recommend for a romantic break.

Room Tip: Would recommend the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Ian_Tracy

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary and taking the time to review your stay. It is great to see that you stay with us was pleasant and enjoyable and the service you received was excellent. We value your feedback and will use it to constantly improve and develop the service and experience we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We chose the Hotel because of its proximity to the Beamish museum.
So we were really pleased when we checked in and found we had chosen well!
The room was a good sized room with two windows and a very comfy bed.
We had a good sized Bathroom with bath and shower over.
We stayed for two nights and used the restaurant on both nights as the hotel is a little ‘out of the way’. But I’m pleased to say, the Stables restaurant is really good and we are pleased that we used it. The food is good quality ‘pub grub’, and that is not being unkind, as my wife and I both enjoyed it. Good size portions and good quality ingredients. An extra bonus was the ‘Real Ale brewed on site – of which ‘The Beamish Bitter’ is excellent!
Breakfast is served in the Eden Room which has fine views over the impressive grounds. The cooked breakfast was as good as I’ve had and again, excellent quality.
The room we stayed in was 111 and is a Deluxe room at a reasonable supplement.
All of the staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
If we visit the area again we will definitely use the Beamish Hall Hotel.

Room Tip: The first room we were given had a very squeaky bed and was very warm (room 212) with a single windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xyzKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear xyzKerry,

Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, I am delighted to find that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. We take great pride in providing our guests with the best service and experience, and use feedback just like yours to constantly improve and develop our service. It was good to note that you enjoyed The Stables and the Real Ale brewed onsite.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beamish1, General Manager at Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a problem with our first room because it was far too hot but when we made this known at reception we were dealt with very kindly and given the option to change rooms. Daniel even came to help us with our luggage which was very welcome because we were tired by now. Our new room was excellent with comfortable beds and everything we could need. The staff here are exceptional and we had lovely relaxing breakfasts for the 2 days we stayed here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Anne H,

Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, I am delighted to find that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. We take great pride in providing our guests with the best service and experience, and use feedback just like yours to constantly improve and develop our service. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to all the staff especially Daniel.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Friendly staff in reception, restaurant and dining room. Good choice of well prepared food in stable bar. Large spacious, clean bedroom with good facilities. However, the bed was on the 'soft' side for me personally. Excellent parking and nice location, which was handy for the local Beamish Museum. An interesting building with a maze of corridors which gave us some entertainment in finding our rooms; not stressful though!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrGYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear mrGYorks,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel and taking the time to review your stay. It is great to see that you stay with us was pleasant and enjoyable and the service you received was excellent. We value your feedback and will use it to constantly improve and develop the service and experience we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at Beamish Hall Hotel for our 24th wedding anniversary on arrival I was cheeky enough to ask if there was any free upgrades available which we were given deluxe room the size of the room alone was huge never mind the ensuite with double shower and double jacuzzi bath. The food at the Stables was truly lovely and my husband was very happy as they have their own brewery with lots of fine ales for him to choose from. The breakfasts on the morning was nothing special but was ok. All in all a very nice stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 830lisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear 830lisas,

Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, I am delighted to find that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. We take great pride in providing our guests with the best service and experience, and use feedback just like yours to constantly improve and develop our service. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to all the staff.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We took my parents for afternoon tea in the Eden Room. The choice and quality of the food was excellent, and as there was so much we were offered a bag for the cakes we couldn't manage to eat. The waitresses were very polite and chatty, the room itself was bright and clean and tea is served at a dinner table which may seem an odd thing to point out but we have been to several other places where it is served in a lounge on low tables seated on sofas which is quite awkward to eat at in comfort. The whole atmosphere was very relaxed and not at all stuffy with music playing in the background. Excellent value for money and we will definitely return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kevin69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Kevin69_12,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent afternoon tea with us, its great to see that it was a pleasant experience.

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
0.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
444 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,180 reviews
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
8.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Beamish, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range: £53 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing