We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel with much of interest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A good hotel with much of interest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

A short break and this hotel made an ideal location. Not only a hotel but a venue in its own right. A great house with quite a lot of interesting history and the hotel makes the most of this without losing any of the charm.
The accommodation is very good and while using furniture and furnishings in keeping with the house it still provides every modern facility.

The staff here were superb, it is impossible to highlight any exceptional staff members as all were exceptional, reception staff were always very helpful and very friendly without being familiar. The staff serving breakfast were first class and a credit to themselves and the hotel.

The grounds were themselves a feature, extensive and well maintained with plenty of interest as is the house itself.

All in all this was first rate and all involved deserve the credit for a great hotel in a building that must present many challenges as well as opportunities.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear D C,

Thank you for reviewing your recent short break at BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall. I was delighted to read that the quality of service received was first rate. The building is indeed full of character and has a unique history dating back to the 13th century. We do have many challenges with the upkeep of the building but is good to know that it is all worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    330
    135
    66
    36
See reviews for
246
657
16
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redcar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

A wonderful couple of days spent here to celebrate our wedding anniversary, a warm welcome from reception she was lovely as was the duty manager
A beautiful room, the bed was so so comfortable,
hard to leave it, housekeeping immaculate they were so cheerful first thing in the morning.
Breakfast delicious cooked to order, the staff are so efficient & friendly they just appear at the right time to top up your coffee
We ate in the stables restaurant, food was very tasty & good value for money, young maître-d was very welcoming
We will definitely stay here again. So a big thank-you to all the staff who work as a team

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citylivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear citylivin,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so happy that you chose BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall to celebrate your wedding anniversary and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great team here and it is always appreciated when our guests comment on how friendly and helpful they are. We do hope that you will be able to stay with us again, maybe on your next anniversary?

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night with friends from Manchester for 1d concert that was in Sunderland. What an amazing hotel, we had 3 rooms in total, 2 were HUGE and one was normal size. Christine and Julie on reception were both great! We ate in the stables and the food was delicious, I recommend the pork and apple burger. We also are breakfast which was also great, huge variety of food. We were a table of 7 and all ordered hot food. I work in hotels and I was amazed that all the food both in the stables and at breakfast all came out together so not one of us was sitting waiting which normally happens. We walked round the grounds and played on the small adventure playground,a must for kids of all ages!!!
Although I don't live to far away (about 20miles) I will def be a staying again!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank strudled00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear strudled00dle,

Thanks for the review of your recent stay and for choosing BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall. We hope that you enjoyed the concert as well. Julie and Christine pass on their thanks for your kind comments. It is good to know that you appreciated the service in both the Stables and at breakfast.

Hope to see you more regularly as you are not too far away, if not at the next concert at SOL..

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed overnight on a trip down south. Declined the offer of breakfast as we are late risers, but dinner the previous evening was very good and the in-house beer excellent. The grounds were delightful and clearly the place is a popular venue for weddings. We were totally undisturbed by the reception that was taking place the night we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Jeremy M,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and for choosing BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that the Stables food and home brewed real ale were a hit.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just enjoyed a really good value afternoon tea at Beamish Hall. Cost £10 per person and for this we each got three finger sandwiches, three pieces of bread in each, a scone with jam and cream, three small cakes, a piece of quiche and a drink. Extra tea/coffee costs £1.50 per person.

Didn't look a lot when the waitress brought it out but we struggled to eat it all! Service was good and friendly. The tables next to the windows offer a good view of the parkland around the hall.

We booked and it was certainly busy when we were there, so advisable to book and don't forget to ask for a table next to the window.

This was our second visit for afternoon tea and we will certainly return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durhamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear durhamd,

Thank you for the kind review of your recent visit for afternoon tea. I am pleased that you enjoyed your day and that everything was to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you again soon.


Kind regards,
Chris Comerford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Appalling customer service from front of house reception staff. As a wedding venue, I can absolutely see why they would be booked up years in advance. Very grand! I suspect however, that the management have taken their eyes off the ball on customer service. The reception that I personally received was cold and indifferent. I'd expect more from a McDonald's, never mind a hotel where I am about to spend £90. The room was ok. The breakfast was good. I spotted a number of areas of damp around the public areas of the hotel, but that is to be expected to some extent in a building of this age. Upon checking out I was horrified to witness the following scene; a bride and groom were checking out following their wedding at the hall on the previous day. The receptionist stated that food had been charged to their room. Despite the fact that they obviously wouldn't have been in the restaurant and clearly had not signed the bill, the receptionist was insisting that they paid the it. Given the thousands that the couple must have spent, I just couldn't believe what I was seeing. Rather than accept responsibility for not following their own procedures, the receptionist had instead decided to potentially ruin the first day of married life for a couple who had just given the hotel thousands of pounds! I cannot understand how any service business can survive in today's marketplace with such an appalling view of customer service! Thankfully, after a few strong words the receptionist relented. However, by that point, the damage was done in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j_traveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear j_traveller69,

Thank you for joining trip advisor and sharing your recent experience.

I am sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory.

I agree wholeheartedly with your comments regarding customer service and will be investigating this incident in detail. We do however regularly have bride & grooms staying with us for more than one night where they will eat in the restaurant and regularly serve food to photographers and entertainers with the bill being added to the wedding room bill so it is not always as straight forward as you imply. Never the less all customer transactions should be dealt with efficiently and professionally and it appears that this was not the case on this occasion.


Kind regards,

Chris Comerford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north tyneside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I would strongly recommend you do not use this hotel if you have a baby or toddler. The hotel lift is tiny and will not accept a pram and as such you will have to carry the pram up countless flights of stairs some of which are so steep attempting to do this with a baby inside the pram is dangerous and should not be attempted. The bedrooms are set out over three floors and access is via a rabbit warren of different floor levels which is our case at times required us to go down a flight to return back up further along the route to our bedroom, an absolute disaster. You will not find a friendly receptionist quite the opposite could not care a less. One last point after you have endured the long march to your bedroom you may as was the case in out room find the room is equipped with sash windows which to our horror could be opened fully just waiting for your toddler to fall out to the ground two flights below. Do not go.

Room Tip: book a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear david r,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for your stay being less than satisfactory.

The Hall is a grade two listed building and the accommodation is situated over different levels within the building, some of which are not accessible by the lift. We do offer assistance to all guests as standard and cannot understand why the reception team did not do this at check in. The windows are all sash style in keeping with the building and do not contravene legal or health & safety legislation. I do understand your concerns and will certainly look into this in more detail. We do receive a lot of positive comments regarding the friendliness of the hotel team and will investigate your comments regarding the 'couldn't care les attitude' that you encountered.


Kind regards,

Chris Comerford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
0.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
22.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
Address: 1 Just off the a, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing