We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovey cottage with great views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mole Hill Farm

A traditional snug welcoming cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A traditional snug welcoming cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
A traditional snug welcoming cottage
Fabulous place to entertain or simply chill by the fire
King size bedroom which opens out to a private terrace
Relax in our exceptionally comfortable Super King size bed.
Enjoy the shower and roll top bath
Well equipped kitchen to wine and dine on a cosy evening in the cottage
Enjoy a bottle of wine by the fire
Enjoy stunning views of the Beamish Valley.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Beamish, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nikki S
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovey cottage with great views”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Great cottage in the owners grounds. Lovely views over the valley and stables. Secure car parking area behind locked gates. Good pubs for food and drink within walking distance. Only downside is the busy road situated quite close to the house which hosts some fast loud vehicles due to the long stretch of road. Would not have booked if I had have known as we wanted tranquility. That saying during winter months inside it would be great with the log burner on. All facilities you need and super large comfy beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Hi Nikki i'm pleased you liked our cottage here at Mole Hill, we do aim to please. I'm sorry that the road disturbed you, Due to the heat this summer it has been necessary to open windows. I encourage guests to open windows on the beautiful view side of the cottage which prevents any issue of noise from the road. You are right to think the cottage is a cosy retreat with the fire roaring during the winter months.
Best wishes Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Joh...
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 7 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Had lovely cake waiting for us very comfortable cottage and fantastic views so many nice eating places near and lots of attractions to visit shame we were only stay for long weekend as wife myself mother and mother in law did not want to leave would have love to stayed longer owners of the cottage nice and friendly and was lovely to see the horses and the terrriers only down side would have been nice to take dog with us

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
HI David thanks for your kind review, remember the cottage and surrounding pubs are just as welcoming in the winter months. please mention bringing your dog next time and i'm sure it will be fine.
Best Wishes Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Apr 2018
Thank you for your kind review Pauline, i'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at Mole Hill, even tho i think you had every weather possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nick H
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house!”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Stayed 29th December to 1st January. What a great house, lovely cottage! The house has two very spacious bedrooms, large kitchen with a great table in front of a log burner. Didn’t put it because of the little one but imagine it would be great after a day out in the cold exploring. Kitchen was very well equipped with everything you could need. Two fridges and separate freezer. The living area is upstairs with comfortable suites and reading area in front of a great view. We requested a stair gate which arrived the second night and unfortunately didn’t fit either end of the stairs. We used a clothes horse as a temporary measure and kept a close eye. A few features in the house make it a tad unsuitable for small children (1 year old) with wooden floors throughout its slightly slippery, a low level glass table and a mirror propped up against the wall. All of the above are completely manageable. There are more than enough things that make up for this. Horse stables outside the house were excellent for our inquisitive daughter and loved saying hello every time we left or returned to the house. Perfect location and close to two great pubs, beamish museum and national trust place Gibside. Some nice touches by the owners, mince pies, prosecco, cakes, teas and coffee milk and other essentials were all very welcome. Each bedroom has en suite with great big baths and separate showers. Had a small problem with the thermo stat and heating, contacted the owner and they arrived within 10minutes who resolved it straight away. Would love to stay again and will definitely recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you for your kind review. so pleased you enjoyed it! We have noted the stair gate problem and have swapped for the other one that fits. Sorry for the oversight.Would be nice to see you back at Mole Hill one day.
Best Wishes Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan311
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great cottage in a beautiful location. We spent four nights here and could not have asked for more. Lovely big bedrooms and a family kitchen. The location was great as it was so quiet, but a short drive from so many activities. Cottage was immaculate, well equipped and spacious. Thank you for a lovely stay !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you very much for choosing Mole Hill Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind review and recommendation.Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark G
1 review
“A Jewel in the North Easts Crown”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fabulous little cottage. Great location not only for Beamish but for most attractions the area has to offer. The cottage is very well appointed with everything you need for your stay. We were treated to a warm welcome with a number of 'value added' touches - the cake was very well received .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you we appreciate your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing