We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ouch”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Retreat Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Retreat Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ouch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

There price is rufly the same as gwel an more there is a huge diffrence this is in the middle of a holiday park all the balcony was rusty chepy ikea furniture nearly half the light bulbs were out the fridge did not work damp coming thew the roof 1 of the doors was unshutable I will upload some pics

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie R, Manager at Bay Retreat Villas, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
The 4 star Bay Retreat Villas are indeed situated on the St Merryn Park where they enjoy the facilities available. The weather was very wet earlier in the season and we admit this did cause problems with the metal balconies and the wooden doors.

The furniture is modern and contemporary and we describe it as such on our website and when writing up descriptions for other websites.

Our maintenance and servicing team do rely upon information from clients so if there is a bulb missing or a general fault, we ask for it to be reported to the on-site office or to our cleaners who visit the villas every day. Our contact details are clearly displayed in the Welcome Folder in each villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    60
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
75
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Overall the villas were very clean and well thought out. Our problem was getting in!! We arrived after a four hour journey to find no keys and no-one to help. A lady in the shop gave us Wendy's phone numbers (3 in all) and told us to ring her, but with no signal on mobiles (she wouldn't let us use the landline on site) we had to drive some distance before we could ring. Many phone calls, a text, voice mails and three hours later we managed to get hold of the elusive Wendy ( who seems to live on site). Not a sorry was to be heard in any form. Sounded like it was a normal occurrence, she left the keys in the safe for us at 9.00pm (we had arrived at 5.45pm) and was never to be seen. Soooo glad we didn't have children to see too it would have been a nightmare. The villa itself was lovely and home from home. Overall very pleased but feel the company needs to do improve the system for collection of keys on arrival.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank antony o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie R, General Manager at Bay Retreat Villas, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
May I thank you for your honest feedback, we take all feedback on board, good and bad. It is a shame that you were unable to bring these concerns to my attention during your stay as we would always prefer to address any issues at the time to ensure you and your guests enjoy your holiday to the full.

In the interests of fairness it should be pointed out that all guests arriving at Bay Retreat Villas are sent a set of check in instructions with their final confirmation. This is in the form of a PDF attachment which contains the safe code required to access the safe and the individually labelled arrival envelope for each guest.

On this occasion however, the client had used their booking reference to try to access the safe which obviously not work.

We appreciate that after a long journey, a swift check in is preferable, however, we provide as much information in advance of arrival as is practical to assist with this but if clients either choose not to read this information we cannot be held responsible, but our management and staff will offer their support when contacted.

If you wish to contact me directly, I would be happy to discuss any aspect of your stay further. Please email me at jamieriches@breaksincornwall.com if I can be of further assistance.

Assuring you of our best intentions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We and my other half stayed at this villa.. It seemed okay when we checked in but the next morning when we woke up we had discoloured skin on our face and body! We were tereffied we had to go emergency hospital where they told us it was something fungal could have been from dirty bed covers towels or furniture, we checked out straight away.. Also when we opened the oven to cook something, the oven tray had mouldy chicken pieces still left behind and it stank! This was a terrible experience and it totally ruined out trip! We will never ever come back! And we still have the discolored skin and it has spread! Very very very dissapointed! And we didnt even get a refund! It was a disgusting place!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie R, Manager at Bay Retreat Villas, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and rest assured that, good or bad, we are always grateful to receive feedback as it enables us keep a check on standards and make improvements where necessary. We have investigated the comments made but have to confess to being a little mystified by your review.

Our records show that you called to advise there was a problem with the bedding during your stay and that you had a rash. We went to the villa but there was no answer, so we called back a little later and spoke to a gentleman asking if there was a problem with the bedding and/or towels and offering to replace them. The gentleman advised that it would not be necessary as you’d been to the hospital and been given medication for the skin reaction. We understood from this that the rash was not related to your stay at Bay Retreat and the timing was just an unfortunate coincidence.

At this point we would like to make it known that all our laundry from Bay Retreat Villas and indeed all our properties at Watergate Bay and Porth are done in-house by our team at Porth Veor Manor in Porth. We pride ourselves on our high standards and we are not aware of any other incidents in ten years or more where clients have had a reaction to the detergents used in our laundry.

On the subject of the oven containing foods left behind from previous occupants, we have been in contact with our housekeeping team who have no record of this being reported at the time of your stay. We agree this would be a very unpleasant find and if it was reported to us we would have immediately dealt with it. Our team have a check list they work through when cleaning our villas and our records show that the oven was cleaned prior to your arrival. We accept that errors sometimes happen and we offer our profuse apologies if this was the case. Most importantly we would have welcomed the opportunity of dealing with the matter at the time.

In order to give a balanced reply to this review, it is fair to make it known that after you checked-out, having completed your three day stay back in February, we were unable to re-let the villa for several days as it did not meet the high standards required of 4 star accommodation. The villa needed specialist cleaning due to curry stains on the carpets and sofa. There were piles of rubbish left in the villa and generally it was left in a very poor condition.

We find it disappointing that in these circumstances you felt it necessary to leave this negative review - we would have much preferred that any issues you had were raised at the time with our onsite team so that matters could have been amicably resolved and you could have enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

A Secret Escapes offer - and great value, we used it as a base to explore Padstow and surrounding area - a car is really essential for this property as it is someway from the village of St Merryn, located on a holiday Park but dont be put off - the two bedroom holiday villa was spacious modern and clean. It comprised large double and a twin, modern bathroom plus ground floor cloakroom and kitchen with washer and dishwasher. A welcome tray of tea/coffee/milk and sugar plus dishwasher tablets was left in the kitchen. There is a small garden. Only negatives very low beds which may be a problem for those with back problems!

  • Liked — Modern Clean Property at Great Price
  • Disliked — Low Beds Difficult For Back Problems
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BusybeeSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Upon arriving at our villa on 7th April, myself and my partner were happy enough with the location and the overall presentation of the property and surrounding area. Unfortunately the experience went downhill from there. When we realised the iron was not working I promptly rang reception and was told that there was no one that could help me until the following day so I had to go to another villa to lend an iron. Maybe they thought as scousers we predominantly wear shell suits so don't need irons for our clothes. The worst part of the holiday actually started when we got back, we were under the impression that our deposit would be put into our account after 7 working days which in the age of faster payments between banks is baffling in itself. After numerous phone calls were the staff have been about as helpful as a tropical skin disease and about as empathetic. We still haven't had our deposit back. We have been promised phone calls to rectify the situation but unfortunately they don't seem to get the concept of repeat custom and haven't bothered to ever call us back. Leaving me to write my first ever negative review on trip advisor. This is a shame as the villas themselves are quite adequate but I will not be returning or reccomending these villas due to the nonchalant (I believe the staff members name was Clarie?) attittude of the staff. I still await my deposit which I believe a carrier pigeon has been entrusted to return to me safely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderholt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the end of March for my husbands birthday. We didn't really know what to expect as the pictures didn't show much of the properties. But were pleasantly suprised. The apartments were spacious and modern. The kitchen had a lot of extra things you might need to prepare a meal. The bathroom which wasn't shown on the pictures was excellent and does have a bath which we were pleased about. The only downside was that we felt a bit lost upon our arrival as to how we should proceed to our property and had to ask at the onsite shop as reception was closed. Apart from that we had an amazing time and would definitley recommend this to anyone who was looking to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieMears22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Bay Retreat Villas for three nights at the end of March and I can only sum up our stay as excellent. It's located on a holiday park which is within a 15 minute drive of Padstow, various attractions and numerous excellent beaches. On the park there is a small shop and a bar and grill restaurant (although we didn't eat here.) The accommodation itself is modern, spotlessly clean, bright and roomy. The open plan living area is more then adequate space wise with wide screen tv (with free view & sky sports) and DVD player. The kitchen is extremely well equipped with all you could possibly need for your stay including dish washer, washing machine, fridge and freezer. The garden is slightly on the small side but big enough for the kids to burn off any excess energy (if they have any left from the beach). Upstairs is a large modern bathroom with an excellent shower and handy towel radiator. The master bedroom is large, has a very comfortable double bed, TV and has with plenty of storage. It also has large Velux windows which open up onto a balcony. The twin is likewise in size and has everything you would expect. We would defiantly recommend these villa to anybody and will defiantly be returning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bryant1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Merryn
1.9 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
4.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in St Merryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Retreat Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Retreat Villas

Property: Bay Retreat Villas
Address: St. Merryn Holiday Village, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in St Merryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Retreat Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bay Retreat Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Retreat Villas Hotel St Merryn
Bay Retreat Villas Cornwall/St Merryn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing