We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St Merryn, Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SamanthaP...
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tired and dated.”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spent one week here as part of a family of 5. 2 adults and 3 kids. The chalet is dated and in dire need of modernisation. There is no storage space for suitcases or any other bits and bobs. Hanging space for clothes is limited. The chalet was cramped and simply not big enough for 5. There is only seating available for 4. The park itself offers little. The same entertainment repeats over and over. The shop and reception were never open when needed. It was impossible to connect to the campsite wifi. Was not impressed to find you are also expected to clean the chalet upon departure

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
A very strange & unfortunate review. I think lack of communication & the guest not looking into what the chalet & site offer is the problem. All my previous reviews are 5***** so I don't take it personally. However I need to point out the chalet does have adequate storage & clothes storage , suitcases can be stored under the 2 double beds & there's 3 small wardrobes plus over bed storage cupboards.The chalet admittedly isn't top end with modern facilities but I'm not charging top end prices.There are 6 chairs for dining & 2 small sofas that comfartable fit 2 adults & child so plenty of seating.Most of the negative comments were aimed at the site but if you read the discriprion the site is listed as quiet and peaceful and to have any entertainment at all is a bonus. Wi fi is available in the pods & the shop is open until 8pm.With regards to cleaning the chalet afterwards this was also explained in the booking conversation & the option to hire linen on a none clean basis is always offered for a extra fee if desired , but this was not taken , although the state the chalet was left in after doing my weekly check I would have thought that option had been taken.The discription & photos on the website clearly show what size & facilities are offered at the chalet and the terms of booking.Overall a very unfair review & thankfully my only negative review !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polly6wes...
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a great stay here last month, very clean, very comfortable with everything you could ask for.

The owner James was fantastic (if only I was 20 years younger hehe), he was more than happy to help with anything we needed or wanted to know about the local area.

Can't recommend this place enough.

10/10

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
836tee
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect as always”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I have stayed in this chalet a few times before and keep coming back!
James is so helpful and nothing is ever too much trouble! The chalet is equipped with everything you would need to enjoy a perfect getaway! I will be back again and could not recommend this Chalet enough (as well as the host) for their outstanding service and help!
This feels like a home away from home!
Thank you so much!!

See you soon...

Tee :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
836tee
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect getaway chalet!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely chalet in perfect location! We had a brilliant stay and James was so helpful with the entire booking process! The chalet has everything you need to enjoy a relaxing seaside holiday. The Jacuzzi bath was a perfect way to relax after a day in the water and the beds are super comfy- we can't wait to return and a massive thanks to James for being so accommodating!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorraine...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent facillities”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Booked this for a 3 day break and was extremely happy with the chalet and its location. it was very well equipped for all our needs. the location was great and the owner called to make sure we had settled ok. the location was ideal for exploring the places of cornwall we wanted to see. I would recommend a visit to Magavissey harbour with quaint shops and views. We would definately stay here again and would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traceyann...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful quiet place to use as a base for visiting the area”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my partner and elderly father. It was a lovely place to use as a base for visiting various places like the Eden Project, Jamaica Inn, Lost gardens of heligan etc. The chalet was very warm and cheap to heat. We put £5 in the meter and this lasted 4 days with the heating on constantly (my father feels the cold). We ate out so did not use the cooker etc. The beds were very comfortable and the quilts supplied thick and warm. I would definately stay here again if I came back to Cornwall. The area was very quiet and peaceful. The only downside is that we would not use this place if touring on our Harley as the parking area is not close enough to the chalet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quietlocation
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemBean10...
1 review
“Peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Fantastic little chalet with everything we needed. It is in a quiet location but is only a 2 mile walk from the nearest beach. Would definitely stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing