We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great quiet restaurant”

The Ivy House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in St Merryn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great quiet restaurant”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Visited for an evening meal. The food was brilliant, really well cooked. My partner had the pate followed by the duck, and I had the mussels and the sea bass. Service was good. nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pandora2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    23
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant food, brilliant service”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We visited the ivy house last week, an idyllic restuarant in St Merryn.

Annabel was a brilliant host, and made us feel very welcome.

For mains had the "Special " halibut with ginger and chilli and my partner had the fillet steak with peppercorn sauce, Both dishes were divine.

This place is a must visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort Food”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great atmosphere and service, nothing pretentious, just good food and good fun.
The outdoor space was exceptional.
Will go back whenever we're in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JO-Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely return.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Driven past several times but went for meal from recommendation by Rafferty's restaurant in St Merryn. What a great surprise it was with pre meal drinks in the covered outdoor area. Lovely meal full of flavour and great service. Icing on cake is it is very reasonably priced. Definitely going again and would recommend anyone to give it a try.
Steve & Elaine Hancock

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little disappointed to be honest”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We decided to try the Ivy House based on reviews but, maybe because we were expecting a lot, we were a little disappointed. Service was good and seemed like a friendly place but the menu was a little limited and the food was fine but nothing special for the price. Probably the worse aspect was a lack of atmosphere, maybe we chose a bad night to go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank philm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ivy House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Ivy House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing