We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Merryn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Treyarnon Bay Caravan and Camping
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The touring field had good views, the grass was long and unkempt. The showers were a 10 minute walk away at the opposite end of the campsite ! The toilets WERE CLEAN , but in a portacabin. If you had little ones they would have been exhausted after the trip for a shower. We were welcomed by a teenager who told us to ' go up the middle road to the end and park anywhere ' Charming ! The static caravan occupies used the entrance of the touring field as a DOG TOILET !
We were disappointed !

Room Tip: Good location.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 305michelleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    18
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We have been visiting Treyarnon bay for 5 years now and will keep going back for many years to come. We camp in the top field which is always kept in very good order. The toilet facilities are basic but always cleaned at least three times a day. The wardens have converted an old static caravan into a pot washing area which serves us very well. To get an electrical pitch you need to book very early as there is not too many of them. The shower block is down the other end of the site but they are kept clean and tidy and I haven't had a cold shower yet! We normally drive down to the showers at the end of the day to save walking back in your dressing gown. There are two shops within a stones throw of the site providing everything you need and there are supermarkets in padstow and Newquay short drives away. The YHA on the headland serves beer and food all day every day which is brilliant when your on the beach and the temperatures sore around lunchtime. You have a choice of two great beaches for surfing rock pooling and sand castles. The coastal path makes for great walking with stunning coves and potholes to see. As you can probably tell we love it at Treyarnon I hope you do to.
Michael White and family

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Chigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We visit Treyarnon most years for our family holiday. We stay in static vans run by the site. It is such a great place to stay. So close to the beach. Great Shop in car park where you can buy everything needed for a holiday and a bar in the youth hostel on the headland. It is a really nice quiet family oriented site.
The beach has everything. Great sand. Great surf. Great rockpooling. Many days we spend 10 hours on the beach loaded like pack horses but its worth it for the BBQ at sunset!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have been going here since i was 5 yrs old now my children and grandchildren are camping here Its hardly changed in 5 years still a great safe place for kids to run around and very close to seven great beaches The beach shop is great value and staff at site always friendly
The facilities are basic but clean showers toilets and pot wash areas there are some electric hook up pitches but i always use solar panels and an inverter We spend 4 weeks in a tent every year its the best place i know to really chill out

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bj2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, Devon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked a weeks camping here for August 2013 and were really looking forward to going. It's in a first class position on the North Cornish Coast.
A few weeks ago we popped in (as we live fairly closely) to take a look at the facilities - we'd heard a rumour that they'd not been updated for some years.
We planned to camp so were interested in seeing the toilet and shower blocks before we confirmed the booking and paid the balance outstanding.
I was shocked when I saw the toilets. One set were in really old, cramped and smelly portacabins in the camping field. The others were old and cob web by - many of which were locked off and inaccessible - and the showers were also really bad and at the complete opposite end of the site to the camping field.
I was really sad to see that a site with such potential was so poorly looked after. The people in caravans didn't care about the facilities as they had their own.
We've booked somewhere else now. I just hope that very soon the owners see their way to putting some investment into what could be the perfect camping holiday destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank SpindleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights during this glorious English summer we are having. Who needs to get overseas when we are blessed with this?! Camped on the top field in a tent. All essential amenities nearby. Awesome views of the Atlantic as soon as you unzip the tent. The superb bays just a stroll away. Very friendly owners that welcome you with a down to earth charm. Overall, a brilliant 'old school' English camp site that reminded me of my teenage glory days! If they had an arcade, it would of been spot on all the way. But It's still awesome anyway. Go there. You'll love it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JesusSavesSouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

we spent 5 nights at the top of the camping field in really hot weather recently. the position of this camp site is second to non! just a short walk down to treyarnon or constantine bay beaches.
we spent much of our time walking the costal path, swimming in the waves-belly boarding and sunning our selves- so nice to have good english weather!
the camp site has basic amenities - but that is all we want- no club and razmataz(certainly don't want that)
there are 4 toilet blocks (2 old and 2 new blocks), a washing up facility in a static caravan and tap for fresh water (there are hook ups in the field but we do not use these) you need to go further down the site for a shower
there are 2 shops close by to buy provisions- 1 down in the car park at treyarnon bay and the other out of the back gate of the tent field at constantine(there is also a good surf shop here with very knowlegable staff)
very relaxing place and we will go here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sianella24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Merryn
0.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
395 reviews
3.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,438 reviews
2.0 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
939 reviews
8.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in St Merryn
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treyarnon Bay Caravan and Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treyarnon Bay Caravan and Camping

Property: Treyarnon Bay Caravan and Camping
Address: Treyarnon Bay, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in St Merryn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family caravan and camping site which is nestled just alongside the beautiful sandy beach of Treyarnon Bay which is short distance walk where you will find that the Bay is surrounded by low cliffs and backed by sand dunes. This popular family beach offers an expanse of fine sand at low water with plenty of rock pools and its own natural pool to swim in. It is a short walk around the point from Constantine Bay to the north with good marine wildlife. Both beaches are popular surfing spots for young and old. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treyarnon Bay Caravan And Camping Cornwall/St Merryn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing