We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old farm house, friendly hosts, great stay”

Tregavone Touring Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Merryn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tregavone Touring Park
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely old farm house, friendly hosts, great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the room of the B&B at the farmhouse during the August bank holiday. It was clean, cosy and very authentic, in a peaceful little setting with chickens and geese about the place. Our room had a view of the little garden and the neighbouring field, not a car in sight. The cooked breakfasts in the morning were really good and Ethel and John who own the farm were always friendly. It's situated only a couple of miles from Padstow centre, though there are some lovely little places to eat in St Merryn itself. The Cornish Arms was rammed when we popped in, and Rafferty's Wine bar does amazing food, and really good wine.
(They had a raft race at nearby Harlyn Bay whilst we were there too which was hilarious).
The B&B offer lodgings for one room at a time, so although it would just be us down at breakfast, or running around upstairs, we were still made to feel at home, as we were pretty much left to ourselves, although they were always about if needed or for a friendly chat.
Good value for money and would stay again if visiting Padstow

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyDay777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Farmer John is still around to show you to your site on his quad bike and help with other enquiries.

The toilet block has 4 ladies loos (I think the men's have 3 toilets and a shower, there is another block for the ladies which has 2 showers and another 2 loos, an outbuilding also has one shower which is first come first served (ie unisex!).

There is no shop or entertainment, which is great as far as we are concerned, but there is a huge field so ball games can be played easily.

Hot water for dishwashing and showers is free.

Bonus for us compared to most sites is a free-to-use chest freezer for refreezing cool packs - not an expensive piece of kit to make available but makes a huge difference to the camping experience to be able to keep your cold stuff cold! We've not found many sites who offer this without a charge.

Only drawback for us was the distance to the facilities - we were at the furthest point away and the grass was quite long - so take your wellies or you'll get wet feet!

We have been to this site 3 or 4 times now and we will be going back again, excellent value at £12/night in August.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky-Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The site was quiet, level, clean.

The owners were very friendly, and helpful.

It is less than a mile to Padstow / beaches and just a medium walk to Rick Steins Bistro pub, but you will need a torch / head torch for walking to / from it in the dark as the roads are all c roads.

No childrens entertainment on site, but it is really great for families if you would rather your children play outdoor games in the field around the tent / caravan, as there is plenty of space and you can easily keep an eye on them.

Unlike some of the campsites around this exposed area, it has fairly high hedges and so is protected from the sometimes strong sea breezes.

Padstow is also a great place. Not at all like a tacky seaside village / town, but a really cornish seaside town.

If you like friendly old traditional pubs with good beer and food, make sure you visit The London Inn.

Room Tip: If in a tent, it is best to go in a space so your tent has hedges on 2 sides, as the wind is always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeJamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one week in Farmer John's exceptionally large field. Our pitch was good, next to the hedge and with plenty of room between tents. A field was allocated to walk the dog, which was great. There was always plenty of hot water on site and the facilities were kept clean. We were able to use the hairdryer for free and electricity could be used for 10p for roughly 5 mins. Our wellies had plenty of use as the grass on site is quite long and we were quite a way from the toilet block. The site is quiet and in a good location not far from Padstow. St Merryn is just down the road with the excellent Cornish Arms pub, which does good food. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sarahkpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here (camping) for 4 nights in June. Large field and very quiet, plenty of space to pitch tent. Cheap tariff, £10 a night without electric hook-up which is much cheaper than others in the area! Decent free power showers and toilet facilities with plenty of hot water. Have to pay 10p for hot water for washing up which I didn't realise beforehand.
Good location as easily accessible to Padstow and other local villages.
Ideal for couples, families who like a quiet campsite without any extra facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripcurlgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Having recently visited this site both I and my wife found our stay wonderfully peaceful. It is ideal for people who do not want to suffer overpowering commercialism!

There is a modern toilet area with a showering facility (which is free) which my wife loved and would be suitable for children.

The campsite itself was safe and well maintained and is within walking distance to many wonderful local sites.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caravan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

A lovely quiet family run campsite. Famer John will show you to your pitch on his quad-bike and if he's got time he'll show you around. It isn't the best of campsites because it's shower facitities as there are only a couple of showers and they do cost money to use - so if you're really fussed about your showers and the quality of the toliets it's probably not the best for you. Although they are clean and well maintained. It is extremly cheap to stay here and at least you're in friendly hands! I don't remember any gates being cloesed after a certain time either so this is a bonus compared to other sites. It's a short drive down into padstow and St Merryn. I personally really enjoyed my stay here and felt very welcome!

  • Liked — It's peacfulness
  • Disliked — Showers costing money
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meryine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Merryn
2.0 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in St Merryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Merryn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Waves Rooms
Waves Rooms
#2 of 2 in St Merryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.3 mi away
Woodlands Country House
Woodlands Country House
#10 of 56 in Padstow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.3 mi away
YHA Treyarnon
YHA Treyarnon
#3 of 12 in St Merryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregavone Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregavone Touring Park

Property: Tregavone Touring Park
Address: Tregavone Farm, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Speciality Lodging in St Merryn
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Tregavone Touring Park Cornwall/St Merryn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing