We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - Very Hard to Sleep Here and Bathrooms Were Horrible”
Review of Hotel Constantia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Constantia
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Everyone talks about the modern touches at this hotel but we found them horrible if you had to share a room with anyone. The rooms were tiny and the bathroom walls were clear glass, offering virtually no privacy for the water closet at all. Even if you wanted to shower in the separate bath area, there was a glass window from shower to toilet!

With no a/c, it was a must to leave windows open but the street traffic was so loud - and what looked to be a bar/strip club next door, sleep was impossible.

The location within the town was nice - straight across from Swiss border, but after NO sleep, I didn't have the energy to do much exploring.

Breakfast room was nice with a large selection - and the best water closets offering privacy, in the whole hotel.

Parking was impossible. People blocked you in and made it dangerous to leave.

We will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, don't stay in warm months or at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Constantia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Originally stayed at two different hotels in Konstanz, Germany and now stayed at a very clean and quiet place. One of the other hotels is far from the train station and required a taxi to get to and from the town and the hotel. The second hotel is across the street from the train station, but was noisy due to the traffic and the trains. The Hotel Constantia is less than 5 minutes walking from the train station and is in a quiet part of town. It is very convenient to get to shops and restaurants. Better yet the hotel is just a block from the Swiss border crossing, so you can walk to Switzerland for shopping and dining, but make sure you bring your passport in case the borders decide to check. The Hotel Constantia was renovated in the recent past, the rooms are very modern and clean, and the price is much better than the other two hotels I previously mentioned.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shermanlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stopped at this hotel on a trip to meet up with friends. The Constantia was well positioned just a short walk from the lake front, and main train station. the design was modern and the rooms were spotlessly clean and well set out. Strange to have the bathroom with a glass door into the room so you'll have to be close friends if you're sharing. The bed was a bit on the hard side, so don't use this hotel if you like soft mattresses. also the bed wasn't a proper double, but two singles pushed together. The quilts were also two small singles and a bit on the small side, so you might get cold in winter.
All the staff I met were helpful and friendly.
The actual room price was far from budget, and perhaps a little overpriced for the size of the room and the general package offered.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

the location is excellent to the rail station and harbour. only 10 minute walk so cannot be beat. the location is not that busy considering so central. we had a room in the back with a balcony overlooking parking lot. i believe all the back rooms have outdoor space given what i could see. the beds were firm and very comfortable. floors needed better sweeping. the bath towels were on the tiny side. room was a bit tight for us and my husband and i are pretty short and slim. for a nite or 2 is good. they have a nice large lobby downstairs where u can chill and enjoy a glass of wine. breakfast was good quality and huge variety. can please all with their spread.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I found this room at the last minute for my mother and brother to stay in for her 50th Birthday.

The room was small compared to others in the same price range in konstanz - although at least they had last minute availability. My mother loved the design of the room with glass walled bathroom, and so wanted to stay there.

However, at the time we didn't realise that the rooms face the street and are so noisy at night, - it is opposite a strip bar and some other bars, so it is noisy every night... Also, the room didn't have soaps.

In the morning for breakfast, the choice was quite small and limited. - Having seen the restaurant, they barely have two tables to serve a buffet breakfast on.

Very Disappointing, I don't believe that this is really a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank remeberthis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The room size is decent, however the hotel doesn't have proper double beds - it's made up of two small mattresses. Most rooms are facing the main road which is noisy. The worst thing is - for a 4* hotel in Europe - it does not have either bathrobe or sleepers even when requested. Didn't really expect this - was very much looking forward to a nice boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Request room facing the backyard.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littledada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

when we arrived we were informed from the receptionist that instead the double room we have booked , they would give us a junior suite. it was a pleasant surprise and the room was really nice with the bathroom standing in the room without normal walls, but with glass walls. it was really good and we really enjoyed the 3 nights stay.
the only ''problem'' we faced during our stay was the wifi connection that sometimes didn't work properly.the staff was really helpful and tried all the times to solve this problem.

i 'ld recommend this hotel to any bussiness traveler, couple or family that wants to visit constanz and tha needs accomodation close to the city center.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
543 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#10 of 34 in Konstanz
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
ibis Styles Konstanz
ibis Styles Konstanz
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
692 reviews
1.0 mi away
47 Grad
47 Grad
#7 of 34 in Konstanz
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Constantia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Constantia

Address: Kreuzlinger Str. 13, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range: £96 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Constantia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Constantia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing