We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Iguana56
Banbury, United Kingdom

A red carpeted entrance sums this up

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Jul 2018
We had two nights here and although the rooms were small they were comfortable and the location was ideal. Johann and Carmen were fantastic hosts and provided a superb breakfast. The Hotel was also very nicely and homely decorated.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £160
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Easy Zimmer
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £157
  • Booking.com
0.8 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ibis
    £90
  • ZenHotels.com
    £86
  • Booking.com
0.7 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ibis Styles
    £99
  • Hotels.com
1.3 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Guest room bath
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • Hotels.com
1.3 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
£97
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
1.3 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Tripster double room - the niu Flower Konstanz
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £98
  • Hotels.com
1.4 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Front Entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £108
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £153
  • Hotels.com
2.3 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £73
  • Hotels.com
5.9 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
View more hotels in Konstanz
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
53
38
7
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
38
7
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We booked a room through Booking.com and the only room left was a triplebed room for 171 Euro, when arrived we was asked why we dont book directly to hotel as they have to pay Commission to booking.com. I told them no way to book without email hotel and that was a bit to complicated so we booked the way we did. We were than told that our room was on 3rd floor without an elevator/lift but that they had a smaller room on first floor which we did accept. Room was very small and no A/C but lucky it was not a hot night so it was ok but the bed was very small and also worn down.
Breakfast was included but very limited selection, no hot food except a boiled egg on request. Hotel was well situated Close to the railwaystation and the Town. Parking not availble at the hotel but there is several different locations Close to hotel, we did park at Karstad departmentstore for 18 Euro overnight. When check out our bill was still the 171 Euro as we booked but our room should have been about 100 Euro as it was much smaller than booked. The owner even complained that he have to pay 15% to booking.com and 4% for my Visa card and was again asked why I dont book directly with the hotel. However the wife (I guess) was very friendly and helpful about directions around the city! But again a bit Cheap Charlie to ask why dont book directly and complain about C/C charges. I do suggest that they make a better WEB Site that allow guest to book directly with the hotel as I normally prefer to do as I know that hotels do prefer that and that they many times treat you better if you do so.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JankanHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Me and two of my daughters visited the hotel, the lovely couple warmly welcomed us.
The rooms are clean and tidy. Breakfast was wonderful, fresh and an incredible variety.
The couple who are in charge of this hotel are very nice and they gave us a lot of tips about our stay in Konstanz.

אני ושתי בנותיי ביקרנו במלון, הזוג קיבל אותנו באווירה חמה ונעימה. החדרים נקיים ומסודרים. ארוחת הבוקר הייתה מעולה- מגוון רחב של אוכל טרי.
הזוג שמנהל את המקום מאוד נחמדים, הם נתנו לנו טיפים לגבי הביקור בקונזטנס.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Basharti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and loved it. The location is perfect and yet so quiet. Lovely breakfast, good wifi, but the biggest plus are the owners who are wonderful and even allowed us to leave some shopping for collection by our daughter attending university there. Such lovely helpful people made our stay in this pretty town perfect.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kesbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2017

This small and nice hotel is located just a few steps from the main train station. We were by car, and in the neighborhood you will find 3 parking place..20 Euro per night, secured.
Inside very clean and warm hotel with a lot of paintings( hand made) and a huge collection of penguins( Johann,the owner, is maniac about penguins, so if you want to surprize him, offer him a penguin....hi.hi. The hotel was completely refurbished 3 years ago. Johann's right hand and soulmate, Carmen, is a wonderful lady..previously she worked at Ibis Wiesbaden ..so she knows exactly how to behave with guests and how to manage a hotel .In just a few words, this is a place were you have to be. The early morning breakfast is fabulous, and here a bug thanks.. to Johann. This pair are happy to have you as a guest, even for one night. Whenever life will bring me again in Kostanz..this will be my choose. Respect for them and for them hard work.! I saw only 2 stars from Tripadvisor, but they deserve much more ! P.S. You should ask here to show you the secret garden..a nice place with a lot of flowers were you can smoke and have you coffe.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

There are so many positives about this hotel that it’s difficult to know where to start.
Firstly, Johann and Carmen, who own and manage the hotel, are friendly, helpful and care for the hotel as if it were their family home. (I suppose it is; they spend most of their waking hours here!)
Secondly, the rooms are spotless.
Thirdly, the included buffet breakfast has both European (cheese, cold meat and salad vegetables) and other offerings (cereal, make-your-own toast) along with yoghurt and fresh fruit and pastries. Eggs are cooked to order and a pot of tea and varieties of coffee are offered. You won’t go hungry here!
I’m mentioning this fourthly, although, when booking, it was the main factor for us (we didn’t know about the first three!): the excellent location. It’s about 150 metres down the street directly in front of the exit doors of the train station. One block away is the shopping mall with brand name shops and cafes and it’s just a short walk to the lake.
Some other points that might be useful to know…
Wifi was good and free.
There are plenty of TV channels, but only a couple in English.
If you’re desperate for a hot drink for supper, McDonald’s is just around the corner.
Body soap/shampoo is provided, but if you need hair conditioner, tissues and bottled water, you’ll have to provide your own.
Although the room lacked the extras that some other hotels provide, the comfortable bed and good quality fresh linen and towels made up for that.
If the lack of a lift is a problem, ask for a room on the first floor.
As expected, there is no air conditioner, but a huge fan was provided and proved effective.
We have no hesitation in recommending the City-Hotel.

NB: The Swiss Pass transport ticket is valid for the two-minute train journey across the border, between Kreuzlingen (in Switzerland) and Konstanz (in Germany).

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank RJB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews