We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jan
Cape Town, South Africa

Great Hotel and location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Sept 2018via mobile
We were welcomed by the very friendly hosts Carmen and Johann and had no problem with an early check in. They did everything to comfort us. They printed our train tickets without hessitance. The Hotel is very nice decorated and very clean. Big room with complimentaty toiletries. The location is the best! We were served a great breakfast in a beautiful room. The breakfast offers a great variety and eggs were made on request. This was the best breakfast we had on our Europe cycling tour. Bicycles is stored in a safe place. All in all a great place to stay and we recommend the hotel. Well done Carmen and Johann.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£156
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
ibis
£78
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Speiseraum und Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£117
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £117
3.7 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
ibis Budget
£98
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.3 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
£155
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £155
2.3 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £234
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Easy Zimmer
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £145
  • Expedia.com
    £197
0.8 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Guest room bath
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • Expedia.com
    £85
1.3 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £78
  • ibis Styles
    £85
1.3 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £90
  • Expedia.com
    £91
1.4 miles from City-Hotel Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Konstanz
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
53
38
7
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
38
7
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Arrived after a very early flight to Zurich followed by a train ride to Konstanz to a very warm welcome from Johann at the City Hotel.

The room it's self is very basic but is clean and has everything you need. The bed was beautifully made but we had a wee nap which is why it's a bit messy in the picture. It looks out over a main Street with restaurants close by so would recommend ear plugs if your a light sleeper. It wasn't very noisy just a little bit.

The bathroom comes with shampoo/shower gel and there is a hairdryer.

The breakfast was your standard continental and had everything you would usually expect.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Logan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2018

This is an outstandingly located small hotel, with super-friendly hosts. My wife and two daughters had two rooms on the same floor. The furnishing and bathroom facilities are certainly on the simple side, but this is more-than compensated for by the pleasant small-hotel atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent -- the joint-owner (I think) takes orders for cooked eggs in the morning, but we were happy with the extensive buffet selection. I would definitely stay here again. The street below was quiet, except for a brief bit of merry-making on Saturday night (not too late). Our trip was early-April, so I can't comment on aircon/lack thereof. There is no lift, so be aware if this could be a problem for you. Highly recommended overall. I booked directly, and email responses were very quick.

Room tip: The front desk shuts at 8pm, after which you get a key.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely small hotel. great location. Very warm welcome by the owners(husband and wife run the place) Nice small garden in the back which is the pride of the wife. Rooms are a bit old but very well maintained and very clean. Only reason why I am not giving a full score is, no airco, which would be nice during summer.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 36maartenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We had two nights here and although the rooms were small they were comfortable and the location was ideal. Johann and Carmen were fantastic hosts and provided a superb breakfast. The Hotel was also very nicely and homely decorated.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iguana56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We booked a room through Booking.com and the only room left was a triplebed room for 171 Euro, when arrived we was asked why we dont book directly to hotel as they have to pay Commission to booking.com. I told them no way to book without email hotel and that was a bit to complicated so we booked the way we did. We were than told that our room was on 3rd floor without an elevator/lift but that they had a smaller room on first floor which we did accept. Room was very small and no A/C but lucky it was not a hot night so it was ok but the bed was very small and also worn down.
Breakfast was included but very limited selection, no hot food except a boiled egg on request. Hotel was well situated Close to the railwaystation and the Town. Parking not availble at the hotel but there is several different locations Close to hotel, we did park at Karstad departmentstore for 18 Euro overnight. When check out our bill was still the 171 Euro as we booked but our room should have been about 100 Euro as it was much smaller than booked. The owner even complained that he have to pay 15% to booking.com and 4% for my Visa card and was again asked why I dont book directly with the hotel. However the wife (I guess) was very friendly and helpful about directions around the city! But again a bit Cheap Charlie to ask why dont book directly and complain about C/C charges. I do suggest that they make a better WEB Site that allow guest to book directly with the hotel as I normally prefer to do as I know that hotels do prefer that and that they many times treat you better if you do so.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JankanHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews