We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's in the little things...”
Review of Viva Sky

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Viva Sky
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's in the little things...”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed here for one night in November. When we arrived the lights in our room didn't work (the electricity had been off for a few hours that day, which we were informed about, but it seems nobody checked if they were working again after that). We got an upgrade so that was very nice of them. The room was big and spacious - with a great view (that we saw the next morning). The location is great - very central.
But it being November the heating was off and it was pretty cold in the room. Also there were some stains on the sofa and the small table. There were two bottles of water provided but no bottle opener. In one of the lamps the light bulb was broken which made reading in bed on one side impossible. There was only shower gel (in a large bottle) in the bath - no shampoo or other items. Also - they have nice big bath (they call it a hot tub... but its a bit small for that) - but no bathrobes which would be nice. Also the curtains in the room were very flimsy which means a lot of light in the morning. If you need a dark room to sleep then the suite isn't a good option.
Breakfast was good and had a great variety.

All in all it isn't a bad hotel but it needs to pay more attention to details - like the broken lamps, stains or switching the heating on before hand when the temperatures drop. If they do that then it will be good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79Nina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    100
    28
    1
    4
See reviews for
37
117
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at Viva Sky for 3 nights during September 2011 (2 adults + 2 kids, ages 1.5 and 4.5). We got a very large room with a separate room for the kids which was great. Brand new rooms with a nice decor, very clean. Excellent breakfast on the roof with a great view. Very good location, within walking distance to many restaurants and the Sea Life Museum. Parking lot is 2 minutes away on foot and they have a convenient spot at the front door to load and unload your luggage. You do need to go all the way up to the 8th floor for the reception, but that wasn't much of a hassle especially after having read at TripAdvisor that you need to do that then it was a no-brainer. Price was a bit expensive compared to other places we stayed during our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EranRippel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Hotel is 100m from train station, beach is 5 min walk from hotel, many bars, eateries, pizzerias are available around the hotel.
Please do not miss the breakfast. Its awesome and splurge with nice view of beach from top floor of the hotel. Hotel staff are nice and helpful.
Room quality is very good with very blissful sleep.
Cons: The reception of this hotel is at top floor so was difficult to find. Apart from this I can not find any flaw in this hotel.
Absolutely recommended to stay here if visiting Konstanz.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilipprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Our stay in Konstanz was the start of one of our biking trips, this one with our daughter, son-in-law and their three Munchkins (also on bikes). We stayed at the Viva Sky and we all loved it. It is a 5 minute walk from the waterfront and train station, right in the heart of the pedestrian center of Old Town. The lobby is on the 8th floor. What a great idea. You arrive out of the elevator doors to a large, sunlit breakfast room. The three walls of the room are all floor to ceiling glass. Bright and beautiful. Wow, we all said and went straight up the few tiled steps to the wide, outdoor marble terrace that encircles this top floor. What a smart use of space for all guests to enjoy. The views were 360 degrees from there: town, shops, Lake Constance, boats, steeples..... Breakfast buffet was great, all the usual but with little additions like complimentary lattes, etc, make your own waffles, a couple of hot entrees.... Our room on the 7th floor had a charming balcony where we could sit and enjoy the late evening air. Comfortable beds. Quiet. Would stay again (and again). It was such a good value. Warning: lots of gelato shops and delicious bakeries nearby! Also a good soup and salad bar next door on ground level.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This hotel is very nice,
-2 min walk from the station
-right in the heart of the city
-surrounded by pedestrian streets so wonderfully quiet
- sky lodge (bar/breakfast) on 8th floor with great views of lake and city
-spacious rooms nicely decorated and spottless clean
-service is fridndly and helpful
-prices are reasonable
-breakfast is delicious

Only (minor) drawback that made me rate rooms only to 4 is that some Bodensee room (which mostly have nice views of the lake) are right under the skylodge and you can hear a lot of noise from chairs moving or high heels...
At night it s allright cause it stops at 11pm but in the morning it starts at 6:30 so if you re sensitive to noise beware.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sourisverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Used this hotel for one night during a cycling trip. Really friendly and helpful people, nice clean rooms and a great view from the terrace bar. If you are cycling the hotel has a covered secure storage area a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ians2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We had visited Konstanz for the first time in Feb/ March 12 and had stayed there for 1 night . Though the room seemed to be a bit overpriced , the website is well made and potrayal of themed rooms are indeed attractive .


The location is very good and is just 3-4 mins walk from the train station . The Lago Mall / Sea Life and other attractions are all nearby .

It was indeed an experience as the reception was not on the ground floor !!!! We had to go to the 8th Floor ( great view from the 8th Floor though !!! ) to get the room keys and making the payment .

The Staff at the reception was helpfull and tried to speak as much English as she could which was very appreciative .

The Rooms were of decent size and well maintained .

The Bathrooms were big , very clean and well maintained .

Breakfast was really great with a lot of vegetarian choices .

The only factor which was a bit dissapointing was the price . At Euro 120 / night it did seem to be a bit overpriced !!!

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the Lake ... We stayed in a room which was on the other side . The Balcnies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VINAYLOGIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#14 of 34 in Konstanz
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
ibis Styles Konstanz
ibis Styles Konstanz
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Sky

Property: Viva Sky
Address: Sigismundstr. 19, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Sky 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HRS so you can book your Viva Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing