We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Informal Hotel at the Heart of Konstanz”
Review of Viva Sky

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Viva Sky
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly, Informal Hotel at the Heart of Konstanz”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Visited Konstanz for the first time 7-10 June 2013 and the Viva Sky was booked by a friend. We found a very informal hotel, slap bang in the pedestrianised heart of Konstanz and ideal for the on-foot traveller as the train station was also very close by. The two key elements of the hotel were 1) the room, which for 3 girls sharing was large and very clean with comfortable beds, feather pillows, state of the art shower room with separate loo, large entrance area for baggage etc and a balcony, and 2) the reception, located on the 8th floor, integrated with the dining room and roof garden, with very friendly and efficient staff. The views from the roof garden/terrace were panoramic and breathtaking, and we loved breakfasting overlooking the lake and old city. Breakfast was delicious, healthy and varied with everything from the usual continental offerings to inovative personal egg-boiling facilities (with your own personal timer), pancake making and a tasty varity of fruit, museli and yogurts. The one thing we were so suprised about was the peace and quiet - due to the location of the hotel in the pedestrianised historic district, there was no traffic noise - waking up to the sound of birdsong and the occasional church bell was very pleasant. I loved Konstanz and will definately be back, and I expect we will choose the Viva Sky as our stay was so comfortable. Thanks to Nicola, Madlen and team for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    100
    28
    1
    4
See reviews for
37
117
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

No in-building parking, no clear facade lobby, no blackout shades in my family room. I have to unload and park 400m away, pull my luggage up a flight of stairs, and no bathtub. But I get the 7th floor, which has good view of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

What inevitably happens when you recommend somewhere really great is that when you try to book in again, it is full. I'm going to be pretty annoyed if that happens when I want to stay at the Viva Sky in future...
We were very surprised by this hotel as it had been booked for us and we didn't expect much -our business hosts have a limited budget, so we expected a bit of a flea pit really.
The hotel is located in the centre of Constance, close to the Banhof (railway station). As we drove here from England I was concerned about parking and as the hotel does not have any, I parked outside where I was able to unload, report to reception, check in, deposit our luggage and then park in an underground car park nearby. This was not a problem, though I should mention that parking in the Augustin car park and even with a hotel discounted rate, this costs 10 Euros per day. Reception recommended that for the duration of our stay we rely on public transport and we were given a city pass which provided unlimited bus travel within the city (and this only costs 2 euros per day). We did use the buses, and they were great.
The hotel occupies the top three floors (6, 7 and 8) of the building. Reception and the restaurant/bar are on the top floor and the rooms are below on 6 & 7. We had a 'Cambodia' room - others include Africa and India. Rooms are so themed because the owner has travelled extensively and thoughtfully styled the rooms to reflect some of her experiences. The decor is both new and tasteful. Our room was a standard double but had a very comfortable bed, hanging robe, tub chair, workstation with stool and a very decent bathroom with large walk-in shower. We were not disappointed.
Though the hotel has a restaurant and bar on the top floor, they really only serve breakfast. This is a full and very good Continental and I can particulary recommend the excellent (and unlimited) coffee. The restaurant bar is open all day until 23.00, but really only for refreshments. However, this is not a disappointment as there are so many excellent places to eat in the city within minutes walk - see my further reviews!
The most special thing about this hotel however, are the views. From the roof roof terrace which completely circles the restaurant, you get the very best views over the city - there is nothing higher. Looking South you get a magnificent view across Lake Constance and can clearly see the snow capped Alps.
I could wax lyrical about Sky Viva forever, but as I want to write some other reviews shall keep this short! However, DONT STAY ANYWHERE ELSE! The staff are extremely pleasant and very helpful, the hotel is clean, modern and has all the essentials (free WiFi was excellent) and it is close to everything you will need or want to see in Constance.

Room Tip: I can't suggest anything to get a 'good room' because they are all excellent. However, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Both the reception and breakfast are on the 8th floor which offers a panoramic view of Lake Konstanz, with the sun rising over the lake (yes, you have to take the elevator up to check out). Breakfast is respectable though not out of this world, and the staff are very friendly and helpful.The rooms are decent size and clean. Prices are pretty good considering the location, which is a block from the train station and right near the heart of the old part of the town. There's also a wonderful soup and salad restaurant right down stairs. Viva Viva Sky!

Room Tip: They also have "apartments" which are larger, and have cooking facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnet777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Really nice hotel! Even if from the outside it doesn't make the best impression. The rooms are really nicely arranged, different styles - I liked them a lot! Breakfast at the top floor is definitely an attraction. A lot of good food and the best of all - amazing view at the lake and town of Konstanz.
The hotel is in the heart of Konstanz, only 3 min walk from the train station and maybe 5 min from the lake.
Perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM-G2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I spent a night in this hotel in august and it was amazing:) I found champagne and candies in the room, an amazing view(last floor), a huge balcony, a huge jacuzzi in the room, a very clean room and the breakfast in the morning was simply beautiful. the view while you take the breakfast is breathless- you can see zeppelin flying over you, the whole lake... it is great for a romantic escape

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Fantastic hotel -

Beautiful rooms - Finished to a very high standard, and uniquely decorated. Shower was very hot and powerful, lovely views from the room balcony.

Great location - Central to the train station and city centre

Fantastic staff - I liked the personal and friendly approach of the staff, all were multi-lingual and conversed if there was an opportunity, genuinely some of the best hotel staff i've ever encountered.

Breakfast - A good selection, although have had better, the breakfast room is as distinct and well finished as the rest of the hotel. The large open balcony overlooking the lake was a real treat to wake up to

I stayed here on business but is certainly somewhere I would like to return to on holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_s10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#14 of 34 in Konstanz
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
ibis Styles Konstanz
ibis Styles Konstanz
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Sky

Property: Viva Sky
Address: Sigismundstr. 19, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Sky 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Viva Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing