We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Inselhotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The location on the Bodensee is the star attraction of this hotel. Our room was clean, but very average. The parking was a bit inconvenient, but not a deal breaker. I was appreciative that it was included in the hotel rate. It is walking distance to the city center and Konstanz is a lovely city.

The room was adequate, but not special especially because the place is a little more expensive. I didn't like the bathroom doors at all. They are half doors made of glass and there is insufficient privacy (even for married people). I won't elaborate further...

I felt the daily housekeeping could have been a bit better but not a big deal.

The restaurant had a breakfast that was included each day and we enjoyed that. I didn't enjoy it for other meals. It was more fancy than traditional German food. I recommend die Bleiche for a good traditional restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maximumeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Looking forward to a luxury weekend beside the lake....the location is superb but that is where it all horribly ends. Starts with the car park being "besetzt" - endless hassle to get even small cramped parking space; no assistance with luggage; room somewhat bleak and uninspring with bizarre bathroom and absurd half doors on it. No free WIFI (these days???) and when you do get it you have to sit out in the corridor for reception. No local information in the room. 95% German TV channels - OK this is Germany but it is meant to be an "international location" Compare Hiltons and Sheratons all over the world that offer good choice of channels always. Unbelievably the water in the room was cold in the morning.

The weather was terrible so we decided to take the easy option and eat in the hotel - big mistake - quite disgusting - raviolli that was more like lumps of decorated concrete and soggy lumpy vegetables and they had "run out of" the wine we chose, we told! Even the courtyard (which could have been beautiful with flowers and shrubs) looked tired and unkempt - breakfast somewhat like what I would imagine Butlins at Margate would be like - much queueing and jostling for large range of tired looking uninspiring food - a truly disappointing experience all round. Only excpetion was an attentive and cheerful waitress who did her best!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bethanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Recently enjoyed a 2 week tour of Germany. This hotel was one we were really looking forward to. But was our least favorite. Mostly because it was very expensive and we expected first class service. The staff was so-so as far as friendly and helpful. They charged us to use the WI-FI!!!!The rooms were redecorated, clean and comfortable, but way to stark and modern for a hotel that was a former Dominican Cloister from the 13th century. The breakfast were good and the location, Perfect. Walk right across the street to old town, Konstanz. Within walking distance to the ferries. Be sure to go to Meersburg and see the oldest castle in Germany.
As one in our group put it - the hotel fell short on the little things......

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gamy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Pros:
- Location
- Clean
- Excellent service (friendly and helpful staff)
- Comfortable beds
- Excellent food quality

Cons: None

Price: Approx $350 US Per Nt including breakfast ($350 price includes the VAT on the breakfast (19% or 39 Euro for three) and a city tax of 2 Euro per person per night)

Hotel was located 15 Min walk from train station along a paved walkway by the park, and directly across the street with access to the “old town” area. During my 26 day vacation, their breakfast ranked #1 for great ambiance, service and food quality, variety and presentation. Appreciated an employee “anticipating our need” by being pro-active in pressing the elevator button as he saw us rolling our luggage along the interior courtyard to the elevator area. We booked the most inexpensive room available (“double room with city view” and got a roll away bed for our 3rd adult). Since the hotel wasn’t overly busy we were very pleased that they provided us with a spacious room overlooking the grounds, river, park. Upon walking onto our shared balcony/veranda (shared by Approx six rooms) we enjoyed comfortable lounge chairs, large umbrella for shade and a distant view of Lake Constance. In the evening we enjoyed the quiet of the lakeside patio and delicious ice cream, drinks and snacks. I would definitely recommend this property and would not hesitate to return for another stay. PS: Since the city of Konstanz is in Germany (essentially surrounded by Switzerland) you require Euros. There was a convenient Deutsche Bank with ATM on a corner directly across the street from the train station.

Room Tip: Book early for best prices. There are train tracks located Approx 300 - 400 feet from the hotel ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoDWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The Steigenberger Inselhotel is located on an island in lake Konstanz, at walking distance from the train station. It has a wonderful terrace overlooking the lake and the building itself is wonderful, a reconverted cloister. The hall around the central garden with wall paintings is especially impressive.

Staff was very friendly and helpful and immediately pointed out a nice restaurant in the area when we asked for outside dining options.

Sadly, the hotel was being refurbished and half of the rooms were undergoing renovation. This led to noise and vibrations when I was in my room during daytime. Steigenberger still has the gall to charge for Internet in your room and even then you can only connect one device.

Breakfast is up to the usual good German standards, with lots of choice in bread, cold cuts and cheese and - of course - eggs, bacon and sausages.

Room Tip: Book a room with garden or lake view and wait until the summer of 2013 to book a room to ensure that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eindvijand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Located on its' own island in a former Kloster with views of Lake Konstanz. We stayed for one night with a garden view room. All lake view rooms are under major renovations through April 2013. Upon our departure date there was some type of renovations beginning on the garden side of the hotel as well. The room was nice, but far from spectacular. A flat screen tv and a very comfortable bed with two pillows with an option to choose from a variety of pillows. The staff in general was friendly. The bathroom was mostly in black marble.

Breakfast was good with a selection of scrambled eggs (other egg selections available on request), sausage, bacon, meatballs, steamed tomatoes, sliced meats/cheeses, bread, fruits, coffee, a special table for tea, jellies, cereals, juices and a mimosa station. Overall, breakfast was good as we had a table by the window with a view of the lake, but there was a cold draft coming from the window. Free Newspapers were available at the breakfast room and also in the lobby area. In nice weather the patio area is open for breakfast, but only after 9am, in respect for guest with lake view rooms.

The hotel has extensive grounds on the island with gardens, a patio area in warm weather for the restaurant, and a private beach with nice views of the lake. The hotel offers bikes for hire and 30 minutes of free internet access ( though not openly mentioned unless you read the in room brochure), after that there is a fee for hourly or daily access. Also, there is a fitness room with sauna, steam but it is only open at 15:00 (3pm) for just a few hours, but you can ask for special arrangements beyond these hours. Parking lot on premisis.

Overall, a nice stay here at the Steigenberger. This hotel during the summer is probably the better choice due to the private lake access, but at any other time of the year I would opt for The Riva Hotel which has more stylish guest rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview room (though through April 2013 all of these rooms are under total renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FormerCaliBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days for work and the overall experience was excellent. Though some portions of the hotel were closed due to renovation.

The hotel is facing the lake so the views are amazing, the rooms are nicely designed with balconies facing the lake (maybe not all of them).

The breakfast was good and the service was excellent.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Konstanz.

Room Tip: Request the room with the view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qindeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.5 mi away
RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee
0.4 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
555 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#9 of 34 in Konstanz
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
712 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis Styles Konstanz
ibis Styles Konstanz
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
47 Grad
47 Grad
#7 of 34 in Konstanz
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Inselhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Inselhotel

Address: Auf der Insel 1, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Konstanz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Konstanz
#2 Business Hotel in Konstanz
Price Range: £139 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Inselhotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing sanctuary: Our 5 star hotel welcomes guests in a former Dominican cloister on a small private island by the old town of Konstanz. The picturesque setting as well as the unrivalled combination of modern luxury and historic ambience characterise the charm of the location. Also in the rooms and suites, guests can look forward to the considerable comfort, stylish interiors as well as a wonderful view of Lakes Constance. Celebrate in styles: Whether a romantic wedding celebration or successful business banquet - the unique atmosphere of the cloister island makes any event a truly unforgettable experience. Our six representative rooms offer space for up to 400 people whilst the attentive service, excellent cuisine and state of the art audio visual equipment leave no wish unfulfilled. Starting on January 1st 2014, the usage of the WLAN will be free of charge for guests of all hotels of the Steigenberger Hotels AG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Steigenberger Inselhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Inselhotel Konstanz
Steigenberger Inselhotel Hotel Konstanz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing