We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£244
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sally D
Richmond, United Kingdom

Wonderful hotel on Lake Konstanz

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Wonderful hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The location is excellent and we were lucky enough to be able to have breakfast on the terrace with gorgeous views of the lake. Breakfast was superb with a wide range of choices to suit most people. The room was very comfortable and all the amenities were of a very high standard.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
B Hi, Sonstige at Steigenberger Inselhotel, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Lake Konstanz, appreciating not only our friendly and helpful staff but also the prime location.
We're also delighted to learn that your room provided comfort and that you found the amenities to be of a high standard. We strive to create an exceptional experience for our guests, and your feedback is incredibly encouraging.
Kind regards
Christiane Welt
General Manager

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay! Thank you again for choosing our hotel.
Kind regards
Christiane Welt
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £167
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Easy Zimmer
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £152
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £207
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ibis
    £88
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Guest room bath
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £88
  • Hotels.com
1.2 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ibis Styles
    £77
  • Hotels.com
1.2 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripster double room - the niu Flower Konstanz
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £78
  • Hotels.com
1.3 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
ibis Budget
£89
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.2 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Speiseraum und Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £127
  • Hotels.com
3.4 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £162
  • Expedia.com
    £171
1.9 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Konstanz
Reviews (2,854)
Filter reviews
2,854 results
Traveller rating
1,554
899
282
76
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,554
899
282
76
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake constance former monastery old town beautiful hotel star hotel small balcony hotel restaurant breakfast buffet lakeside bodensee germany stube harbour station furnishings rhine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 2,854 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

In my opinion, it’s the best location in town for a variety of reasons. It enjoys a beautiful panorama right on the edge of Lake Konstanz/Constance; the old city center is within walking distance, less than 10 minutes and, last but not least, the round the lake trail starts right there. This is definitely one of the old world places, high ceilings and the whole nine yards. Excellent staff, friendly and knowledgeable. You’ll be using only German and English for communication, which, I think, won’t be a problem for most. The breakfast buffet is opulent, appropriately displayed, very tasty and in the perfect ambiance. The only reason they don’t get the super superlative of 5 stars is my disappointment with their workout facility. It’s something I suggest they they work on for customers like me.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lucianos838
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
B Hi, Sonstige at Steigenberger Inselhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Dear Lucianos838,

Your detailed review was a pleasure to read. It's delightful to learn that you enjoyed our prime location, panoramic views, and the classic charm of our establishment. We're also glad that our staff left a positive impression with their friendliness and expertise.
Rest assured, your insights are important to us and your review will be shared with our team. We always strive for improvement and your feedback helps us focus on the areas that matter most to our esteemed guests like you.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Christiane Welt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2023 via mobile

This is a hotel of superlatives: wonderful staff throughout, excellent breakfasts and lunch, comfortable bed and room which are well-furnished, quiet. It’s a historic building but not in the Old Town (Altstadt), half-timbered sort. It’s a former Klöster. It’s also direct on Bodensee. I only wish I stayed when I could have enjoyed the private beach and the Seerestaurant Terrace. This is my 4th Steigenberger hotel. They are outstanding properties. This one is no exception. Kudos to the entire Steigenberger Inselhotel Team! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room tip: Guests can easily walk to hotel from the Konstanz Bahnhof. Don‘t hesitate to splurge on a Lakeview room. You won’t regret it & wish you had.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Eric Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2023

Let me start by outlining that we have been to this hotel quite a number of times the last years. It excels with its position right at the waterfront of Konstanz. The rooms partially offer stunning views of the lake and the terrace was always a nice place to sip a drink or have a good lunch/dinner.
That’s about it talking about the positive aspects of this hotel today.
Not only you would expect something special looking at the prices they are asking for, they are today not even able to deliver on the basics.
Some examples: although we had an upgrade voucher for a Suite this time, the room was rather small, but the biggest problem: it was shabby and dirty. Mold in the bathroom, broken cosmetic mirror, sink not working properly, no single corner of the room you really wanted to have a closer look at, the bed old and tired as well and in miserable optical condition, floor scratched and dirty - the list goes on.
The potential jewel, the terrace, is managed badly: breakfast was served by friendly junior staff, but apparently at the beginning of their training and with no supervision, resulting in a load of uncleaned tables, wesps all over the place with jam and honey pots placed along the sides as an attempt to get rid of them, etc - not a place to feel comfy.
I stop it here with my personal highlight: on the first evening I received an email from the hotel general manager, asking about my satisfaction. I answered expressing my dissatisfaction and asking for a change of room. I was promptly promised to hear back at short notice - after 2 days I received this morning when checkin out a standard reply with the usual BlaBla.
Unfortunately every experience I made during my last 2 days felt like a rip-off. They are apparently milking this place as longs as that works. For us it certainly has been the last visit.
Please avoid to be ripped off and choose some other nice places around, like the Riva Hotel or 47 Grad, just to name 2 good alternatives.

I want not to miss to praise the junior staff in training. They are apparently left alone with a rather unpleasant situation and are still trying to do their very best, despite we could witness a couple of situations where there have been criticized harsh by apparently more senior staff. Unfortunately it rather sounded like accuses than training. Guys: it’s because of you that this review is voted with 2 stars instead of one! Chapeaux.

Room tip: Simply avoid - until there is no radical change in Management and a thorough rennovation of this property this is no place you want to be at
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank xv17p88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas Swieca, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Inselhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2023

Dear Mr. Kleinkauf

it is unfortunate to hear that your last visit to Hotel Steigenberger Inselhotel did not meet your expectations. Your detailed feedback is extremely helpful to reconsider and improve our services.

We appreciate your loyalty and regular trust in our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and the view from the rooms.

However, we regret that you were dissatisfied with the condition of your room and the service on the terrace. It is our goal to provide our guests with an exceptional experience and we are sorry that in this case we did not meet your expectations. I would like to take your comment as an opportunity to explain to you why the Steigenberger Inselhotel could not give you an upgrade to a junior suite. Due to the fact that you booked your deluxe room at short notice and wanted to redeem your voucher upon arrival, the hotel could not offer you our 2 junior suites in the hight season. None of the junior suites were available when you arrived. Of course, this does not excuse the fact that I did not answer your inquiry personally.

Your positive feedback about our junior staff is very encouraging. We strive to create a supportive and nurturing environment for our employees, and we will certainly continue to work on improving our training and mentoring efforts.

We regret that your experience was less than optimal and hope that we will have the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations in the future.

Best regards
Thomas A. Swieca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2023 via mobile

We booked a deluxe double room with lake view for our anniversary trip and even sent the hotel an email ahead of time to ask for a nice room reservation. At the end we got a room at the top with slanted roof and 3 tiny windows facing the lake, unless you stand right at the window looking to the lake, you can’t see much… we complained and they said we arrived too late so all nice rooms were given away (we arrived around 3pm which is the time to check in!!!!), we mentioned that we sent an email about reserving a nice room for us. Back and for, we requested for a full refund and the manager refused this option, he didn’t try to find a solution, all he could say was that we came too late to check in and nothing they could do for us!!! At the end we had to even suggest a solution for him that he could show another non-lake-view nice room for us and refund us the difference. He offered us a garden view room, and no credit back, only compensation is free parking for the night. As a manager, he didn’t try to facilitate, find a solution nor even apologize for what happened. The female staff who showed us the room was the one actually apologized for the bad experience we faced. Anyway, very nice and beautiful hotel, but customer service is definitely not a 5 star standard!!!!

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Van N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas Swieca, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Inselhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2023

Dear Van N,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. The satisfaction of our guests is very important to us and we regret that in this case we could not meet your expectations.

We understand your disappointment regarding the room and customer service. It is our utmost concern to provide our guests with a pleasant stay and we regret that in this case we could not meet your expectations.

Your experience is very valuable to us and we will use it to further improve our service. We hope you will give us the opportunity to improve your experience in the future.

With kind regards
Thomas A. Swieca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2023

I do like this hotel, and is very nice and classy. However, do watch out which room they give you. The rooms on the fourth floor cannot be reached by the elevator you have to walk with your suitcases from the third floor to reach the fourth floor. I had room 402, which was very small (tiny!), had slanted walls and a tiny bathroom. I could not even stand up in the shower, but had to duck down under the showerhead. Showerhead fixture showed mold. Small window with no curtains, just a cheap shade. No closet, just an open space to hang your clothes, No bathroom mats, you must stand on the bare floor.
Complaint during my stay showed no reaction, not at check-out either.
All in all an unpleasant experience for a hotel that charges luxury hotel room prices..

Room tip: Do not accept rooms on the 4th floor
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carneub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas Swieca, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Inselhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2023

Dear Carneub,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. At the Steigenberger Inselhotel, we strive to provide all of our guests with the highest level of comfort and convenience. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible service and hospitality at every opportunity. While we understand your disappointment in this instance, please be assured that we take all feedback seriously and use it to improve our service in the future. Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

Yours sincerely
Thomas A. Swieca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews