We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Arie en Silvia van Vugt
Malden, The Netherlands

Best stop for travelling by car to Konstanz

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 May 2024via mobile
Optimal location
Parking posibility expensive but very good. Friendly service at check-in with tips. Bike trip to isle of Mainau was advised adequately on the city map. Breakfast superb. We did not have our dinner in the hotel because we prefer local facilities.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Become a member of Steigenberger ans use electronic check in
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
B Hi, Sonstige at Steigenberger Inselhotel, responded to this review
Responded 5 Jun 2024
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback, we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay.
Best regards
Christiane Welt
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior view
£102
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
    £101
  • Hotels.com
    £106
0.3 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
£115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
    £115
  • Hotels.com
    £114
1.2 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
£97
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
1.2 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
£448
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £448
0.5 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £129
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £170
  • Agoda.com
    £161
  • Hotels.com
    £170
0.7 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Easy Zimmer
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £164
  • Hotels.com
    £212
  • Trip.com
0.5 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £148
  • Hotels.com
    £147
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £129
  • Hotels.com
    £129
  • Vio.com
1.3 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £168
  • Hotels.com
    £140
  • StayForLong
1.9 miles from Steigenberger Inselhotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Konstanz
Reviews (2,870)
Filter reviews
2,870 results
Traveller rating
1,565
900
283
77
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,565
900
283
77
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake constance former monastery old town beautiful hotel star hotel small balcony hotel restaurant breakfast buffet lakeside bodensee germany stube harbour station furnishings rhine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,870 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2024

I made a confirmed reservation for two rooms. I received confirmation of my detailed requirements. After check-in, it turned out that our basic condition, connecting the rooms through an internal door, was not met. Despite this, we were asked to pay for a reservation that was inconsistent with the contract. Very npleasant service at the reception.
And overall a terrible hotel. The interior decor looks like a military warehouse. View from the windows of the worst part of Lake Constance.
The hotel lobby leads directly to the railway tracks, where trains often pass by and the barrier is closed.
I strongly advise against staying this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 963top
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
B Hi, Sonstige at Steigenberger Inselhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

Dear Guest, thank you again for your feedback which we answered already directly. As we explained to you, the rooms have a connecting floor with a door, so you have 2 rooms and a floor just for yourself with a lot of privacy.
Best regards
Christiane Welt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2024

Now positives - great location and bar, superb room overlooking lake but the whole
place looks tired and sad - it needs a new paint job especially around the elevator. The latter has controls from ca 1950 - no logic loop at all. Please get new carpets in ground hallways - these look like something from 1960 - perhaps they are. Breakfast is OK but have you never heard of bowls of fresh fruit? Parking fee for guests is a rip off when you are already paying over 450 per night. This is just not what you expect from Seigenberger! Staff are good especially in bar but at breakfast forget them , get it yourself.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
B Hi, Sonstige at Steigenberger Inselhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

Dear Guest,
thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your detailed review and are committed to improving our services. It is invaluable to us as we strive to meet the high standards expected from a Steigenberger hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future and provide a more satisfactory experience.
Best regards
Christiane Welt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2024

We loved this hotel! The location and history are amazing!! Staff were wonderful and the accommodations comfortable and clean. I highly recommend a room with a view of the lake. We had one and the view was breathtaking!! We didn’t make reservations for dinner due to other demands on our time but eating next to the Bodensee would be magical.

Room tip: Get a room with a view of the lake and find time to sit in the lounge chairs by the lake- beautiful and peaceful!
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
B Hi, Sonstige at Steigenberger Inselhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2024

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you loved your stay at our hotel.
Best regards
Christian eWelt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2024

Wonderful hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The location is excellent and we were lucky enough to be able to have breakfast on the terrace with gorgeous views of the lake. Breakfast was superb with a wide range of choices to suit most people. The room was very comfortable and all the amenities were of a very high standard.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 966sallyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
B Hi, Sonstige at Steigenberger Inselhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Lake Konstanz, appreciating not only our friendly and helpful staff but also the prime location.
We're also delighted to learn that your room provided comfort and that you found the amenities to be of a high standard. We strive to create an exceptional experience for our guests, and your feedback is incredibly encouraging.
Kind regards
Christiane Welt
General Manager

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay! Thank you again for choosing our hotel.
Kind regards
Christiane Welt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

In my opinion, it’s the best location in town for a variety of reasons. It enjoys a beautiful panorama right on the edge of Lake Konstanz/Constance; the old city center is within walking distance, less than 10 minutes and, last but not least, the round the lake trail starts right there. This is definitely one of the old world places, high ceilings and the whole nine yards. Excellent staff, friendly and knowledgeable. You’ll be using only German and English for communication, which, I think, won’t be a problem for most. The breakfast buffet is opulent, appropriately displayed, very tasty and in the perfect ambiance. The only reason they don’t get the super superlative of 5 stars is my disappointment with their workout facility. It’s something I suggest they they work on for customers like me.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lucianos838
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
B Hi, Sonstige at Steigenberger Inselhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Dear Lucianos838,

Your detailed review was a pleasure to read. It's delightful to learn that you enjoyed our prime location, panoramic views, and the classic charm of our establishment. We're also glad that our staff left a positive impression with their friendliness and expertise.
Rest assured, your insights are important to us and your review will be shared with our team. We always strive for improvement and your feedback helps us focus on the areas that matter most to our esteemed guests like you.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Christiane Welt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews