We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Good Location”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here two nights on a tour of Germany & Switzerland. The hotel is centrally located opposite the main station, near all the shops, and just a short walk to the lake edge. We had a superior room which was a good size and had a nice bathroom. The service was good and the reception staff spoke English. The hotel has a deal with the multi storey car park behind it for you to park your car for a set rate (and come and go as you please).
We didn't eat in the hotel, but reaalised afterwards that there were more options than we realised. Overall - good. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Lake view superior rooms are nice. Beware however, there is a station between you and the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharinaJ_Halm, Front Office Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Philip
Thank you very much for you kind review. We are looking forward to welcome you again asap.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    250
    64
    23
    9
See reviews for
91
227
20
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

From the outside this hotel has real vintage charm. Inside it is renovated to blandness. Bed preferences are personal, but for me it was way too soft. I even had to lie on the floor, where you could feel the busses passing like a minor earthquake, and that on the fourth floor. Charging for wifi, even if it’s only 5 euros, is vintage in a bad sense.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharinaJ_Halm, Front Office Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Room provided was a non smoking room that a lot of people smoke in, had to beg for another room. Took about one hour to obtain an iron that did not work, another hour to get another iron but with a British plug, then another half an hour to get an adaptor to Europe plug. No parking facilities available and no air conditioning as well. Hotel WEB totally misleading

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharinaJ_Halm, Front Office Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Rafael

Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry about the inconvenience during your stay. That is not a part of our standards. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We only stayed for one night without any meals included. The staff was very friendly and polite. The room was clean but the furnishing a bit older. Only points of criticism were the carpet in the room which I find quite unhygienic and in the morning we woke up far too early due to the litter service. Unfortunately the wifi wasn't included and therefore I found the overnight rate a bit high.
The bed was very comfy and the bathroom featured all necessary toilet articles.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharinaJ_Halm, Front Office Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback and note.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1,413 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 759 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed here once in June and again in July. Overall, I was pleased with the staff and their assistance.

The June stay was a corner room in the old wing of the hotel, which was the smallest room I have stayed in during all of my visits, though inclusive of most amenities, mini-bar, flat screen TV and hygiene articles in the bathroom. The main item of note about rooms in this older wing of the hotel is that these rooms do not have air conditioning, which on the warmer summer days and nights makes for the room being very uncomfortable. There is a fan/ionizer in the room, but this does nothing to control the temperature.
A big bonus for the hotel was they have made an effort to hire some diversity to the staff (most notably at the reception desk).

The in-room hotel service guide has yet to be updated since I visited last year. The guide still only translates the first few pages and all historical information on the history of the hotel is only in German. The showers in the basement/sauna area still do not properly operate. The steam sauna still has a ‘Defekt’ sign on it which did not seem to have been moved since last year. The dry sauna operates.

The July visit:
This visit I had a room in the newer wing and I could immediately tell the difference in comfort level as there is air conditioning in the room. Staff is always friendly and again ‘Mr. Nico’ is the best always recognizing me and greeting me with a smile.

Parking is available in the large parking structure behind the hotel. Special rates for those staying two days or longer, otherwise the daily parking rate applies. The parking spaces are very small and driving from level to level is very tight, so don’t be surprised to have/get a little damage to your vehicle from the parking structure.

I would certainly recommend staying here though certainly still room for improvements.

FYI:
Rooms ending with 01-08 are located in the older wing and do not have air conditioning.
Rooms ending with 10-28 are the newer wing and are more comfortable as they have air conditioning.

The TA responses from management seem to show a lack of response to guest concerns. Just to say ‘thank you for your review’, does not address concerns expressed by the guests, so a better and more personalized response would show more concern as to a generic, cut and paste answer.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 01-08 are in the old wing and don't have air conditioning. Rooms ending in 10-2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FormerCaliBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharinaJ_Halm, Front Office Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madame

Thank you very much for your commendation about our staff - We are very happy about that!
But we do not understand: We have not any old or new wing - There is only a difference between our standard and superior rooms. We are very sorry about the misunderstanding, our steam bath no longer exists since 6 years.

We appreciate your feedback to be able to improve our services to your satisfaction.
And at last: many greetings from Mr. Nico! :-)

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It's a classic hotel with wonderful service and a an outstanding buffet breakfast as good as anywhere in northern Europe. My room was small but very clean and nicely decorated. I slept well but I was exhausted anyway. Didn't use teh restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharinaJ_Halm, Front Office Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to serving you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nice hotel, nice people, nice service. We were there for three (separate) nights. Smiley people in the reception and the rest of the hotel ( and they offer you a welcome-drink when you arrive).
We also had dinner two nights in the restaurant , which also was very nice. Their specialty is Moroccan dishes but they serve "normal" European dishes as well. Very nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinNorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharinaJ_Halm, Front Office Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
0.8 mi away
RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee
1.6 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#14 of 34 in Konstanz
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Sky
Viva Sky
#7 of 34 in Konstanz
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
47 Grad
47 Grad
#6 of 34 in Konstanz
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Halm Konstanz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Halm Konstanz

Property: Hotel Halm Konstanz
Address: Bahnhofplatz 6, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Golden Tulip Halm Konstanz)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Halm Konstanz 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
99 comfortable arranged rooms in different sizes and equipment are waiting for our guests. From a luxury suite with a marble bathroom, big balcony with a wonderful lake view to comfortable junior suites and superior rooms with jacuzzi to cosy family rooms, standard or single rooms.All rooms offer TV, telephone, comfortable beds, minibar, a desk, bath tub, shower and hairdryer.Some of the rooms are equipped with air conditioning and jacuzzi.We wish you a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Halm Konstanz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Konstanz
Konstanz Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing