We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JC W
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg

A Strict Regime

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Aug 2021via mobile
A very venerable and elegant hotel. Our room was large, comfortable, modern renovated (we do not know wether all rooms are so). You can't sleep with the window open on the front side. Breakfast buffet was excellent. The room price is ok for all this luxury. The ladies at the front desk run a strict regime: you pay in advance, we clean only on request, at what time do you wish to have breakfast...?
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Halm, Gästeservice/Empfang at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review and feedback about your stay. We are very pleased that you had a good start to the day with our rich breakfast buffet.
We would be very pleased to welcome you again soon in our hotel. Then at somewhat more relaxed times without a strict hygiene concept.
We hope you had a pleasant journey home.

Sincerely,
your Hotel Halm Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
£234
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £234
  • Agoda.com
    £210
  • steigenberger.com
    £168
0.4 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
£171
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £171
  • Vio.com
    £151
  • Hotels.com
    £157
0.9 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
ibis
£78
  • Booking.com
    £82
  • Priceline
    £78
  • Expedia.com
    £82
0.7 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Guest room bath
Booking.com
£81
  • Priceline
    £79
  • Vio.com
    £75
  • Hotels.com
    £85
1.4 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
£85
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £85
  • ibis Styles
    £85
  • Hotels.com
    £85
1.4 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripster double room - the niu Flower Konstanz
Booking.com
£90
  • Hotels.com
    £91
  • Agoda.com
    £78
  • Priceline
    £90
1.4 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Speiseraum und Restaurant
Booking.com
£106
  • Priceline
    £117
  • Vio.com
    £94
  • Expedia.com
    £116
3.7 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£87
  • Priceline
    £87
  • Expedia.com
    £87
  • Hotels.com
    £87
1.5 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£170
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £169
  • ZenHotels.com
    £160
  • Hotels.com
    £170
2.2 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£339
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £339
  • Vio.com
    £325
  • Trip.com
    £325
0.8 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Konstanz
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveller rating
314
380
98
41
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
314
380
98
41
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station old town lake view front desk staff traditional hotel air conditioning public parking easy access charming hotel convenient location lake constance junior suite highly recommend this hotel euros per night breakfast buffet small room swiss burger
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 857 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2020 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in a suite at the Halm hotel. Overall mediocre service, extremely noisy room and A/c system which seemed middle aged. Considering the price, it is absolutely overrated in my view. To be avoided

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank danper1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2020

We have just completed a two week tour of Germany, staying at nine different hotels. Though apparenty one of the highest-rated hotels on our trip, this hotel was the worst one we stayed in. The check-in was very unfriendly and long-winded, and we were asked to pay for everything in advance, including the room (for which we had already pre-paid), to "simplify the check-out process". We had paid extra for a superior room with a lake view. Don't bother - the lake can just about be seen over the bus station and railway station that are directly in front of the hotel. The room was also very noisy, as the windows were not very well sealed. Breakfast was excellent, but the dining-room staff were fairly incompetent and the cleaning standards between (the rigidly enforced) breakfast sittings left a lot to be desired. Do not come down to breakfast late, as you will be constantly harangued during it that you only have a few minutes left of your allocated time slot.

Room tip: Don't bother paying extra for a lake view
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Halm, Gästeservice/Empfang at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2020

Dear Simon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,
your Hotel Halm Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2020 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this hotel and had booked a junior suite. When shown to our room the ‘junior suite’ turned out to be two connected rooms which were old fashioned and smelled. We asked to be transferred to another room, which was only possible for a smaller, but nicer room. We accepted this, but no funds were returned although the smaller room was clearly much cheaper. We complained with the staff, but were treated not very friendly. Management of the hotel refused the refund.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MariovanVliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Halm, Gästeservice/Empfang at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think about your stay with us. We regret that you have not had a better experience with us.
Our suites are classically furnished or modernized.
Unfortunately, when you made your booking, you did not state which furnishing style you prefer.
The staff at the reception showed you our last available room and, before you decided to move, pointed out that there was no price reduction. Since you were in the suite for over an hour, the room had to be cleaned and completely disinfected again.

We are working to ensure that our guests do not miss anything. If you give us the chance to regain your trust, we guarantee that we will do our best so that you can have the same good experience with us as other guests.
Sincerely,
your Hotel Halm Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2020 via mobile

We booked a suite. The room was small and did not smell fresh. The view was bad. We asked for another room. This room was smaller but with a better view and fresh smell. We did not recieve the price difference because of Corona. We had been in the room. Bad service. So of you want to change a room: be quick. This change has cost us more than 75 euro.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Y4700CKjosev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Halm, Gästeservice/Empfang at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think about your stay with us. We regret that you have not had a better experience with us.
Our suites are classically furnished or modernized.
Unfortunately, when you made your booking, you did not state which furnishing style you prefer.
The staff at the reception showed you our last available room and, before you decided to move, pointed out that there was no price reduction. Since you were in the suite for over an hour, the room had to be cleaned and completely disinfected again.

We are working to ensure that our guests do not miss anything. If you give us the chance to regain your trust, we guarantee that we will do our best so that you can have the same good experience with us as other guests.
Sincerely,
your Hotel Halm Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2020 via mobile

Hotel Halm was a welcome sight just across the road from the train station. Having said that there were no adverse effects from having the railway so close, only benefits. The rooms were freshly and tastefully renovated. The hotel oozes charm and is extremely comfortable. The breakfast seemed to be quite expensive and more like the buffets we have in Australia so we opted to pick up something in the streets close by. A welcome glühwein was a nice touch.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Culinarykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelHalm, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2020
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Gast,

herzlichen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Sie einen angenehmen Aufenthalt hatten und eine gute Zeit in Konstanz.
Wir hoffen Sie hatten eine gute Heimreise und würden uns über ein baldiges Wiedersehen freuen.

mit freundlichen Grüßen
Ihr Hotel Halm Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews