We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
manuelyanza
Hamburg, Germany

Nice facade but terrible hotel

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Apr 2024
We chose the Hotel Halm because the pictures of the hotel promised some grand-hotel feelings and its convenient location right next to the train station. That's about where the nice things about the hotel end. The hotel room should have been renovated about ten years ago as you can clearly feel the ravages of time (comfortable duvet though). The bathroom featured a host of issues: it was not thoroughly cleaned and offered a previous guest's hair. further, we could smell the proximity to the sewers. This smell was nauseating on Friday when we checked in but somehow dissipated over night. Still, we preferred to keep our toiletries out of the bathroom and did not use any shower facilities. Front office staff did not inquire about our stay and generally seemed to be aware of the problems that come with this hotel (and the booked room category). They did not issue us the requested Constance Visitor's Passes—likely in an ultimate attempt to get the most out of our pockets. For this kind of money (and they do charge a lot) as well as their promised tradition of this hotel, I would expect a lot more.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: ensure that they issue you Constance Visitors Pass; try to get a renovated room (if they have those)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £260
  • Booking.com
0.4 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Easy Zimmer
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £158
  • Hotels.com
0.8 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £168
  • Expedia.com
    £170
1.0 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ibis
    £85
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.7 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £114
  • Hotels.com
1.4 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
£97
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.3 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Speiseraum und Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £87
  • Hotels.com
3.7 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Front Entrance
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £102
  • Expedia.com
0.2 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripster double room - the niu Flower Konstanz
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £127
  • Hotels.com
1.4 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £159
  • Hotels.com
2.2 miles from Hotel Halm Konstanz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Konstanz
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
315
381
98
41
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
315
381
98
41
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station old town lake view front desk staff traditional hotel air conditioning public parking easy access charming hotel convenient location lake constance junior suite highly recommend this hotel euros per night breakfast buffet small room swiss burger
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2024 via mobile

Very pleasant stay: we found the hotel beautiful and well taken care of. The room was big, the bathroom as well with proper glasses and a wonderful shower. Most stunning breakfast room in maroccan style, caring personnel and delicious and varied breakfast

Room tip: Parkhouse behind the hotel
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Magdalena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024

I've stayed in this hotel three times in the last few years. The first two times as an individual traveller, this time as part of a larger group during a conference in the hotel, so I've experienced various aspects of Hotel Halm's accommodation and service. As a summary, I would say that it is a nice, clean and comfortable hotel with not quite consistent quality of service by staff, and some things are a bit old-fashioned

Staff is mostly young, very friendly and willing to help, but they don't seem always well organized. When I was in the hotel the last time, some years ago, I received a wrong room key at check-in - for a room that was already occupied by other guests, I saw their luggage and clothes when I entered the room. So, this time, I always kept my key with me when leaving the hotel - though they insist quite emphatically at check-in that you should always leave it there when you leave the hotel, but I didn't feel that confident with their handling of keys after the last experience. That's also one of the old-fashioned aspects of the hotel - no keycards, classic bulky keys and a big key board behind reception. In way, I find it charming, though. Another aspect of the sometimes lacking service quality, this time, was their handling of drinks orders at dinner - always asking who has ordered what, always appearing slightly confused, and that was not limited to particular members of staff; all of them.

Otherwise, I really can't complain about the hotel, which is well maintained, conveys a feeling of historic grandeur, and is located very conveniently near the main railway station and the lake. From rooms on the upper floors facing the railway station, you may even see the lake behind the station, and the sunrise there... - Their conference rooms were adequate and everything worked fine.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IntoTheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2023

Great service, fantastic location and generously sized rooms. The internet is not particularly fast, and the bathroom is rather outdated, but otherwise the hotel is excellent. The breakfast spread is very thorough and it feels as if nothing is too much trouble, either for those at the front desk or the restaurant staff.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vacation08834992136
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2023 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Halm on three occasions during a self guided bike tour around Lake Konstanz. Hotel Halm is in a very good location right across the street from the train station and near the harbour. Great for walking everywhere. Very comfortable rooms with a great bathroom and shower. There are many restaurants very close by. Best breakfast we had anywhere on our trip in a beautiful dining room. Would definitely stay there again. On the last leg of our trip it was very hot and humid. We were able to upgrade our room for a very reasonable amount to an air conditioned room which was much appreciated

Room tip: The hotel has rooms that are not air conditioned. Not an issue if it isn’t really hot. We were able to open windows at night for cool air
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Boomersense
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2023 via mobile

Stayed 8 nights in a Superior Plus bedroom, and had several breakfasts.

Lovely traditional building, clean and well maintained. Fabulous dining room - incredible decor. Grand entrance foyer and staircase.

Bedroom was lovely, lots of storage cupboards. Comfy bed and lots of seating. Absolutely no noise from the road or from the railway station opposite.

There was however noise from other guests in the connecting room nextdoor and from the bedroom above.

We we wish there was tea/coffee making facilities in the room. A room of this standard should have a Nespresso machine or similar.

Also, these rooms have dormer type windows and the curtains do not stop the light which is not good when the light starts to come in, first thing in a morning and wake you up.

Nice en-suite. Lots of mirrors. Good shower etc.

Breakfast was good, plenty of choice from fruit to cold meats, to hot options. Good coffee. And lots of pastries.

It was my birthday during our 8 night stay and the hotel presented me with a small chocolate cake which was fabulous! (thank you again)

Reception can be busy at times and the wait was frustrating - more staff needed at busy times! However the staff are helpful and friendly, as all staff are in the hotel.

Hotel is very well located, next to the trains, buses, and the boats for the lake. The tourist information centre is also directly opposite the hotel as well.

Unfortunately the hotel’s restaurant was not open on an evening which was a disappointment. There are lots of nearby restaurants to cater for all tastes.

No other leisure facilities at this hotel.

Would we stay again… probably yes.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews