We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sarah
Vail, Colorado

Great location, clean, considerate staff

Review of Hotel Alte Post
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 May 2024via mobile
We were booked at Alte Post by a bike tour agent. We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our bike trip around Lake Constance and 1 night at the end of the trip. The rooms are on the smaller side as is typical for European rooms, but they are well organized and very clean. The bathrooms were nice and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was included in the stay and it was really good. They had a wide variety of options. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful. The location of this hotel is just across from the train station in Konstanz and is right in old town with lots of restaurants and shopping. I would recommend Alte Post. :)
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Just across from the train station
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£260
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £260
  • Agoda.com
    £238
  • steigenberger.com
    £195
0.3 miles from Hotel Alte Post
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Easy Zimmer
£158
  • Expedia.com
    £178
  • Vio.com
    £137
  • Hotels.com
    £178
0.7 miles from Hotel Alte Post
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £125
  • Vio.com
    £125
  • Agoda.com
    £125
0.1 miles from Hotel Alte Post
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
£170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £170
  • Vio.com
    £144
  • Expedia.com
    £170
0.9 miles from Hotel Alte Post
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£115
Fully refundable
  • ibis Styles
    £115
  • Hotels.com
    £115
  • Priceline
    £115
1.3 miles from Hotel Alte Post
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
£90
  • ibis
    £85
  • Priceline
    £85
  • Expedia.com
    £90
0.6 miles from Hotel Alte Post
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
£133
  • Priceline
    £152
  • Agoda.com
    £121
  • Expedia.com
    £152
3.7 miles from Hotel Alte Post
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£80
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Hotel Alte Post
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripster double room - the niu Flower Konstanz
£115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £128
  • Agoda.com
    £101
  • Priceline
    £115
1.4 miles from Hotel Alte Post
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
£362
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £362
  • Trip.com
    £346
  • Vio.com
    £346
0.7 miles from Hotel Alte Post
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Konstanz
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
16
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
8
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2024

Very nice building, updated decore, very clean, comfortable bed, great location right in front of the train station. Comfort Plus with the lake view is mainly the train tracks & only a tiny bit of lake.

Breakfast is at another hotel. Front desk closes at 7pm. No tea or coffee in the room, no phone to call front desk as well.
Untrained front desk staff. It's apparent the staff were trained by someone who never managed an international hotel; more like a family runned B&B in a village. The hotel owner should invest in sending the staff to hospitality schools. Slow check in process, missed items at check in & giving bad information.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelingBugy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2023 via mobile

This hotel is highly convenient, located right on the edge of old town where you can start you stroll on the main walking street into the heart of old town.

The hotel is very new and all facilities are modern and comfortable. Room is spacious and toilet is very clean.

If you choose not to have a meal at hotel, you just walk out from the back door and here you go a restaurant and shops for you.

Parking is very convenient at the paid garage just 1 min away.

Highly recommend

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Suwatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2023

The hotel was brilliant all round! Our room was very spacious and the bed was comfy. Our room had a fridge in it, which was extremely convenient to keep our drinks cool, as the weather was near 30 degrees.
The location couldn't have been any better. Right in the centre of the town and a great choice of restaurants only a minutes walk from the hotel.
If you're looking to do some shopping, there's many great shops nearby also.
The train station is right across the road and was extremely convenient, as we travelled around quite a bit during our stay.
The breakfast was very good and a great choice of food options. The staff were very friendly and welcoming also.
Great also how the hotel provides the Bodensee Card, as this was great for transport and local attractions.

Only downside was the air con in the room was pretty hard to control, and it was quite hot in the room overnight.

Would highly recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Zane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2023

We didn't have breakfast at the property, but the staff member that checked us in was exceptionally friendly. I cannot recall his name, but was able to offer us some tips for restaurants, local spots to look at and was one of the friendliest people we met on our travels. The room was spotless, the bed most comfortable. The location was great, directly opposite the train station.
There was even a view of the lake from our room. I'd highly recommend a stay here.

Room tip: Cannot fault this hotel! Their sister hotel is next door, and they do have a bar/restaurant. Great location and really friendly staff.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank clareom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2023

We stayed at this hotel for one night prior to a bike ride around lake Constance. I can't praise this hotel highly enough and Iv'e stayed in quite a few around the world. It's location is fabulous, it resides exactly opposite the train station, very central to the city and all the shops and restaurants. The cleanliness of the hotel is second to none, the rooms are spacious and generous. This hotel, in comparison, gives excellent value for money and you won't be disappointed.
Be aware however, many hotels in this country, this one included, don't have a kettle or other tea / coffee making facilities.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Passenger13852488470
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews