We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an expensive outing”
Review of Bodenseetherme

Bodenseetherme
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“an expensive outing”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

No doubt about it, the newly renovated baths are in a beautiful location right on the Bodensee. There is a walking trail along the lake so users can walk to the facility. Also, there is a city bus stop right outside the pool entrance and a bike lock up area too. The facility is spotlessly clean, the locker area is private & well organized, complete with public use hair dryers & mirrors.
There is an indoor pool as well as outdoor,there are swimming lanes too and access in good weather to the Bodensee, via a bridge from the pool area. I did not investigate the facilities for young children or the restaurant.
As tourists, we rented towels and took a 1.5 hour time in the pools. Although we tried to exit within our given time, I had difficulty getting my 'ticket' to exit, accepted & had to call for help. For sure, I do not speak any German, and no one at the front desk spoke any English (unusual for Germany, since so many people, even in the small towns, can converse in English).
The man at the desk was very unhappy with me and because we exited later than our allotted time, he charged us for the extra time. It left a bad impression on me. We strive as Canadian tourists to fit in, to be respectful and not complain, but there was little of the expected German efficiency or helpfulness that we found so endearing & welcoming, everywhere else. The late afternoon excursion ended up being quite a costly entertainment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank OntarioGinger186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    67
    20
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Water too cold”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We are regular thermal bath visitors in Switzerland, France and Germany but we found the water in these baths to be be too cold. The only warm water was in the jacuzzi.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alexken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a must experience”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

simply the best place to relax and take a rest for a few hours. besides a good Restaurant and outdoor Swimming pool

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank adi1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baar, Switzerland
Level Contributor
309 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A busy but clean place. Great for kids.”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

On a cloudy and cold Saturday, we decided to spend our afternoon at the Bodenseetherme in Konstanz.
The place is very well maintained and very clean.
It's very pleasant to go in the outside pool, have a look at the Bodensee ... when it's snowing !
For families with small kids, there is a pool dedicated and well equipped.

If you are looking for a relaxing spa ambiance, do not even think of going there !

The place is very busy when the weather is bad and must be even worse when the weather is fine!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Enjoy the "votrex of death"”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

O, it isn't as dramatic as this as this but the kids called the outside pool's whirlpool this way and it stuck.

This is a city spa with ery good indoor/outdoor leisur ( ie no laps indoor) facilities. In the summer the lap pool and slide arema huge attraction and the hot oudoors pool can be used even in the coldest of winters- on a sunny day the view over the lake is breath taking.

Moderate prices and very good changing facilieties make up for the limited and crowded (book in advance) spa treatments - it's ot a spa. It is a great pool with some spa treatment facilities. Book, arrive and enjoy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZOR-O16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodenseetherme also viewed

Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Bodenseetherme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing