We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place in Konstanz” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eugens Bio Cafe Restaurant

Eugens Bio Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 278 Restaurants in Konstanz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, German, Cafe, International, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sierentz, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place in Konstanz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We located this restaurant by chance walking through the city. Despite being nearly 2pm, many guests were still present or on the little terrace.
The atmosphere inside is very simple, cosy and modern. After a little waiting, lunch was served: every thing was tasty and fresh. Overall a place to recommend

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    43
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incompetent order taking, food OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We went to this place for a quick lunch and ordered a small mixed salad (with grated root vegetables) and a large one with salmon. What we actually got, (eventually, speed of service not being their strong suit) was a large green salad and a large salad with turkey. After pointing out the error on the first item, we got a small green salad, undressed. After further raising of this point, we finally got the grated vegetable and extremely vinegary dressing. They then had the nerve to charge 2 Euros for two glasses of tap water. When we protested about this, we were told is was not "Leitungs" (tap) water, but "tap" water (they used the English word, which they seemed to think added value..
Apart from that, the food was OK, but with this incompetence in the service, I wonder what else they are getting wrong. Lesson learnt: never again.
The establishment seems to want to appear like a cool, organic, casual sort of place. In my opinion, this is no excuse for poor service, erroneous order-taking and overcharging.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedgehog2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Rude hostess”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I understand that this place is popular, but that is not a reason to be arrogant and almost shout at the guests like the hostess ( or whoever she was ) did. We asked for the bill and had to wait about 20 minutes, and when we asked for a second time, we were terribly offended by this woman. She said that they were very busy and we are sort of stressing them. This is not only unfriendly but also not professional. As for the food, we got a small plate of salad with salmon for 15 euro, which was ok, but nothing really special. It could have been better for the reputation this restaurant has on tripadvisor. I am not going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“All was perfect! Looking forward to going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Excellent food , all bio and very very delicious ! Service superb , the owner was very nice and kind and attentive. Child friendly too , they have got a big box with children's books . Thanks for everything, really enjoy it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing salads!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We never go to Konstanz without stopping at Pano or Das Voglhaus, but thought we would try this new cafe for lunch. The soup and quiches looked amazing but we each had salads and loved them both. The bread was also high quality, and the service was terrific. It is a little bit more expensive, but for sitting down and avoiding the crowds at other places, as well as the delicious food, it is worth it! Definitely will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stiegnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eugens Bio Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Eugens Bio Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing