We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere between average and very good”
Review of Hotel Barbarossa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Barbarossa
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Somewhere between average and very good”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here five nights while attending a conference at the Uni. Our top floor room was not spacious by any stretch of the imagination, but it was bi-level, had a nice view of the square below. The bed (two singles pushed together) was decently firm. There's a little porch on the top floor for common use which is a nice touch, though you get too much information about the neighbors who are only a few feet away. No air conditioning, but though the daytime temp was about 80F the room cooled off at night with the window open.

The staff is very nice, the breakfasts are ok but nothing to write home about. It's a four block walk to the Bahnhof and one gets (well we got) a pass to ride the transit system for free for the length of stay; I don't know if this is standard or was arranged by the Uni. It's a toss up, whether to stay here or at the Hotel Halm: We stayed at the latter the first night in town; great view from room, room was _very_ large, but it's right across from the Bahnhof and the room there sort of swayed (because of the trains?).

Anyway, the Barbarossa is a nice hotel and would be a good base for a stay in Konstanz.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gottlob_Frege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    71
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
65
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a traditional German hotel with lots of history, just a 5 minute walk from the railway station. The staff on reception were very friendly and efficient. Our room, which faced the square, was fairly basically furnished but was comfortable and had a nice view. Breakfast was one of the best buffets we have had in Germany - lots of lovely choices. Dinner (we had two half-board meals) was truly excellent and the dining room was very picturesque.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the square for views, but it will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Hotel Barbarossa is a moderately priced but attractive and comfortable hotel right in the heart of Konstanz. it is easy strolling distance from good restaurants, historical attractions, and the harbor where boats await to take one to any corner of the Bodensee--Meersburg, Mainau (the Flower Island), or other destinations around the lake. I biked from the hotel to the Monastic Island of Reichenau one rainy morning and it was glorious.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed in a room to the back--no street noise, no disturbing lights or activities during the night--so it was a peaceful, restful abode for our two nights. Breakfasts were nicely presented and certainly met the standard of continental hotels. Wifi was unproblematical and the TV worked fine. We appreciated the technical solution to an odd room shape--the flatscreen TV swung out on an arm. The staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The location--in the midst of the pedestrian zone--is still very convenient, since the hotel is accessible from a main road , too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRPublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was our first stay at the Barbarossa although I have eaten there before. It is a lovely, family-run hotel with personal service and cordial attentiveness to guests' needs. The location is outstanding - in the pedestrian zone but accessible by car, and steps from the beauties of Konstanz as a city of history and culture. Despite the building's age it has been restored and modernized so has everything the guest needs. There were a lot of cyclists there when we were, and the hotel seems to cater to cyclists and provide good storage facilities. We ate two meals at the outside restaurant and enjoyed some of the local wines and the fresh asparagus. The coffee was the best on our three-week trip. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed there during a workshop in December - seems to be a favorite hotel for the University to book for visiting academics / conferences / etc.

The location is fabulous, in the middle of the medieval quarter, right at the end of the main market street. Everything in town (restaurants, bars etc.) except the university is a stone's throw away (including the Swiss border). It's a fully pedestrianized area, so it's really, really quiet.

It's a really beautiful medieval building, amazingly and painstakingly preserved and maintained. Some quirks may result from this - such as rooms not being perfectly level (mine was visibly sloping) - the bed, however, was perfectly even.

Rooms are a bit on the small size, but are well furbished - the bed, while a bit small (to fit with the room) was perfect in terms of firmness. Everything was spotlessly clean as well.

The staff was very nice and friendly; the price was excellent for what was provided.

Two downsides, however:

1. an ok-ish breakfast - too few choices, especially knowing the typical, lavish approach to breakfast German hotels typically have.

2. horrible wi-fi. I was warned from the reception that the wi-fi was flaky, but this was ridiculous. First, to even get it to work was an adventure : I ended up asking for a second code from the reception (the first one did not work - I was told by several other hotel guests going to the same workshop as me that they fixed it using the same strategy), cycling through various routers to find one that would work and then assigning a manual IP address. When it finally worked, the speed was horrendous. And wi-fi was especially important, since I was to modify my conference presentation and arrange my notes.

Nevertheless, highly recommended, definitely looking forward to staying there again, really good value for money. Given the low price paid (I did get a university discount), excellent quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frunzaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

This beautiful hotel in the picturesque town of Konstanz was the venue for a close friends wedding. It was possibly the most graceful and yet relaxed wedding event i have ever been to, and I feel this was very much supported by the hotel team, who were amazing! The same team looked after us throughout the celebrations. They thought of every detail. Wedding breakfast and morning breakfasts were all delicious with good variety. The hotel is a stylish and curious building with every room seemingly uniquely decorated. Staff speak good English and made all guests very welcome. In the centre of Konstanz and close to the train station, it was easy to access and a great base for shopping.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank hwhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
518 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#14 of 34 in Konstanz
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
675 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis Styles Konstanz
ibis Styles Konstanz
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva Sky
Viva Sky
#7 of 34 in Konstanz
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barbarossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barbarossa

Property: Hotel Barbarossa
Address: Obermarkt 8-12, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barbarossa 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At hotel Barbarossa history meets modern comforts. All of our 50 rooms are individually furnished and decorated to suit different reqirements and tastes, from general leisure guests and families, to romantic honeymooners. This diversity makes it possible for us to respond individually to the needs of our guests - no matter whether they stay short time are in transit or for several days, want to experience a dreamy getaway, or spend their family vacation at Lake Constance . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Barbarossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbarossa Hotel Konstanz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing