We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owners, great hotel”
Review of Gastehaus Holzer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gastehaus Holzer
Ranked #9 of 17 Konstanz B&B and Inns
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great owners, great hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Simple but beautiful clean room, nice furniture, quiet neighborhood. We could see the water from our big side deck. Owners were attentive, friendly and professional. Great breakfast. Owners were a big help with finding our way around and steering us in the right direction. Fabulous place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doreenmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    4
    5
    14
See reviews for
12
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a little bit of a mix- up with our stay as we had booked another hotel in Konstanz(TERRIBLE) and had to find something else last minute. They were so accommodating! We first had a triple room with balcony and beautiful sea view on the third for 185 euro a night, then they moved us(one of us had difficulty with walking up stairs) giving me a HUGE 2 room single & the couple a nice room with balcony on the ground level. They have a good size heated pool and the owners were more than accommodating with step issue. Breakfast was delicious and room rates were fabulous.

Room Tip: Top floor has nicer ocean views, but there are rooms with a nice separate sitting area and bedroom o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreadreon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We chose this guesthouse to stay for a week because it was near the university and close to public transport. It turned out to be an absolutely perfect base - a pleasant stroll to the ferry and bus terminal. It is a lovely 20 minute ferry ride to Meersburg and you can catch the No. 1 bus from the terminal to the train station. It is a short walk to the stop where you can catch a bus to Mainau Island. Our accommodation consisted of a sitting room, a bedroom and bathroom. Things missing? No tea and coffee making facilities, and no access to a laundry. There is no handy laundromat either. Breakfast was supplied every morning and consisted of choices of meats, smoked salmon, cheeses, muesli, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, bread, eggs, juices, waters, tea and coffee. We enjoyed staying here very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We had a double room with bath and balcony and a single room with small bath for 2 nights. Both rooms were very nice. Location was good, near the lake, Mainau island, and the city bus. Price was better than in Konstanz hotels. Breakfast was fine. There was a good restaurant next door- Zur Traube. We did not have any problems with the owners.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrjones71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelinDood
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

This is a very convenient place to stay, near the ferry and the bus line. It's clean and comfortable, although a bit like a dormitory. Not high style, but for an expensive town like Konstanz, not bad. I did not eat the breakfast, so I can't comment on others' poor reviews of it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2005

My husband and I stayed at this "Bed and Breakfast" style hotel in Konstanz in 2004. We found them listed on a board near the ferry. Location was good. Close to Ferry and near the border to Switzerland. Checkin was smooth and the area was clean. The rooms are smaller then average european rooms but ok for one night. Offers German TV and phone in each room. Bathroom was VERY small. Smaller than average closets. (I am NOT kidding) but for one night this worked ok for us. We paid $39 Euros for the room and an additional $3 Euros per person for breakfast. This is average for 1 night stay in the area.

The breakfast in the am is rather petty. Bread, cheese and water. Not much to choose from. I would suggest NOT opting for the breakfast. It is not worth the extra euros. There are other nice restuarants in the area to choose from.

Our first visit is in our opnion a 2 out of 5 stars. Priced average. Smaller than average on space and below average breakfast for German standards.

What I would like to warn travelers about is most recent dealings with Gastehaus Holzer. My husband wanted to book us for another vist for a Thursday night in 2005. We attempted to make a reservation via their website on a Sunday. The following Monday morning we received an email from them stating that one night would not work that we had to stay two nights. Since we had plans to be somewhere else on that Friday night we cancelled explaining we only needed one night. (no where is the 2 night min noted anywhere on the website). Needless to say weeks later my husband received a bill for 2 nights and were told that because he could of rented the room for two nights and didnt, we were being charged for the visit. (even though it was never confirmed online and was cancelled three days in advance).

Since then my husband has immigrated to the USA and recently found that Gastehaus Holzer has sent the same collection notice to my father-in-law in Germany asking that we pay for the 2 nights. As an elderly man he paid the collection notice himself.

So my warning to travelers that are looking to book a room here is to call and ask questions FIRST. I would warn you to not use their reservation system online and plan to stay at least 2 nights. And if you think you may need to cancel, don't bother booking it at all. You will more in likely be charged. This will save you money and frustration.

As a Carlson Wagonlit Travel Agent, I travel often and stay at many different hotels in various classes. My husband is German and we travel back and forth many times a year. We have not returned to this hotel for the very reason I mentioned above. I would highly recommened that you keep looking for other hotels in the area. Pass on this location. At least until they can get their policies straight and published clearly for all travelers to understand.

Helpful?
15 Thank TravelAgentShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Konstanz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
2.5 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#15 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ringhotel Schiff Am See
Ringhotel Schiff Am See
#31 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.4 mi away
RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee
2.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Konstanz
Ibis Styles Konstanz
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Holzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Holzer

Property: Gastehaus Holzer
Address: Fischerstrasse 6, 78464 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gastehaus Holzer 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Gastehaus Holzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing