We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Helen H
Bristol, United Kingdom

Quirky nice hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Sept 2018via mobile
We stayed here for 1 night beginning of September €110. Which was a reasonable price. The place is very quirky, full of taxidermy, so if that is not your thing, do not stay here, but we had a good time. Good location, we parked on side street next to hotel and had our bikes, so easy to bike around the town and 10 minutes over the border to have a drink in Switzerland. There us a nice covered part to the garden so had cocktails on fleece lined chairs and blankets to keep you warm.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
£165
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £165
0.9 miles from Hotel Villa Barleben am See
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£125
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £125
1.5 miles from Hotel Villa Barleben am See
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Speiseraum und Restaurant
£125
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £125
3.2 miles from Hotel Villa Barleben am See
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£66
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
1.3 miles from Hotel Villa Barleben am See
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £318
  • steigenberger.com
    £197
0.4 miles from Hotel Villa Barleben am See
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Easy Zimmer
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £151
  • Expedia.com
    £195
0.6 miles from Hotel Villa Barleben am See
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £100
  • ibis Styles
    £103
1.4 miles from Hotel Villa Barleben am See
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis
    £99
  • Algotels
0.4 miles from Hotel Villa Barleben am See
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripster double room - the niu Flower Konstanz
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £98
  • Priceline
1.5 miles from Hotel Villa Barleben am See
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Front Entrance
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £132
  • Expedia.com
    £137
0.5 miles from Hotel Villa Barleben am See
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Konstanz
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
67
42
12
9
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
67
42
12
9
19
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We had a wonderful 2 day stay for the first days of our biking tour around the lake. We had a large lake view family room where we were able to comfortably sleep as a family of 5. The hotel put in 2 extra beds for us and provides an excellent breakfast on their lovely terrace - fresh fruit salad, delicious selections of bread, cheese, cold meats, jams and eggs! We were also particularly impressed with the personal attention of our hosts, who went to to the trouble of contacting the police to avoid us getting a parking fine! A great choice for a central yet peaceful location in a unique hotel filled with antiques with great personal attention.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2018

The staff was really friendly and we felt welcomed. You have to ring the bell, so you can enter the Villa. The whole house needs an overall renovation outside and it looks a bit chabby. The garden is cute, but a bit “kitschig” as you would say in German. The room was totally mixed with different styles which makes it complicated to feel home, or even arriving in you room. From African Accessoires, to Bavarian pillows to a bed from the 90s... All in one room. Also other guests from the night have been quiet, but you could still hear them whispering (maybe I’m sensitive in this). The Lavabo was in the room instead of the bathroom... Again, the staff was really friendly and the breakfast which I would like to highlight, was with loads of love, but for 240€ (1 night) far too much overall.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Z7314BBlisag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

In my worldwide travels I have never experienced anything like this before. The owner and the staff of this house run like properly were pompous and rude and had no consideration about guest comfort or needs. Upon arrival we were told that dinner finishes st 9pm. Following a walk by the water we rushed to get ready and turned up at 8:20pm only to be rudely dismissed by the owner and told that kitchen is already closed, while we could still see plenty of people eating/drinking on the tables. The owner even had the decency of asking if we were guests of the hotel to then tell us we should go across the toad to get dinner! It felt like we didn’t fit in his clientele of rich visitors and he was sending us away, having paid €280 for a night stay and breakfast! Furthermore, the property seems to be run more like a private house where the owner sets the rules with no consideration about the guests. We were told to park in the back yard, which could only take max 3 cars to then be asked to move our car because it was in their way as they were using the back door for laundry.
Utterly unacceptable pompous behaviour, the pompous owner with his Cocker-spaniel and his staff need to address their attitude to people because if it wasn’t for the guests paying their bills he will be nothing more than a scum bag!
Very disappointed and ruined our plans for a nice birthday dinner! He’ll be hearing from us in person!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank JuliaB1849
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Booked Villa Barleben for two nights at 165,- EUR/night + 15,- EUR p.p. per breakfast over Easter 2018. Had room #5. Best view to Lake Constance. Very greatly driven hotel with lots of exquisite antiques. Great beds.
Excellent WiFi.
Excellent breakfast Served at table.
Would definitely choose to stay again and prefer Barleben towards a standard Hotel chain.

Helpful vote appreciated.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Klaus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Lake view rooms offer a superb view of the whole of the city of Constance. Day and night! No other accommodation is a match !!!!
The villa the hotel is situated in is as it was a lot of years ago. Stylish but not today’s style. Modern comfort was added carefully and sparsely.
The only acccompdation within walking distance to Ophelia restaurant.
Friendly staff. Some like it ....

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank DEOBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews