We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good location and great breakfast.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Glasgow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location and great breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Nice small hotel in good location in Konstanz. Friendly check-in and departure. Rooms basic, but clean and comfortable. Good selection for breakfast. Appears to be popular with cyclists as there appeared to be lock-ups for their bokes overnight. The restaurant at the front of the hotel was nice for a evening night cap.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
18
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Nice hotel on edge of old town, within walking distance of lake, restaurants and shops. Rooms are rather dated and there is not a lift, but clean, helpful staff and a good breakfast.

A very large, new shopiing complex has been built about 200 metres away and obscures the view from some bedroon windows, but I would still recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Bodenplatz rather than ones with view of new shopping centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlieLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALCUTTA, INDIA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I havent stayed in the hotel but I have dined in their restaurant. Good service, food was also good and the outdoor sitting area just superb. Also it opens quite late by Konstanz standard. Price little on the expensive side.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUBIRGHOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2008

The genunine friendliness and thoroughness of the staff (it seemed family run) and the hotel's small scale made this otherwise ordinary facility worthwhile.

This hotel's bold colour, prominent location on a plaza, and big sign are misleading. It is in fact a small hotel that occupies only a portion of the building. Fortunately, this is an advantage in a tourist city full of pompous or poor-value accommodation. Across the street from the old city, a 5-minute walk from the train station and waterfront, and a stone's throw from a modern mall, this hotel's location is practical not prestigious. We liked it a lot. In the narrow streets behind we found intriguing restaurants and business, but the real show is in the old city just across the main street.

For 102 Euros in April, our twin room was small but very clean and modern. The bathroom was also small and well-equipped. There was no air conditioning but the windows opened onto an alley that had only occasional foot and vehicle traffic in the night. While the halls are dingy and dark, the stair well is bright and open. The breakfast room was first class, providing a well-tended buffet and excellent coffee.

The staff were friendly, professional, and warm, particularly the main receptionist who was on duty most of the day. She had a ready smile and offered a friendly comment or information at the slightest opportunity. At the same time, she kept an eagle eye on the place, supported by an automatic lock on the front door (if she wasn't present, we had to use our key to enter). The character of the area did not seem to warrant such security but we appreciated it nevertheless.

The only negatives proved to be of little consequence during our two-night stay: no Internet access and poor interior soundproofing. During high season, the latter might be a factor.

  • Liked — Personable receptionist; location; clean rooms
  • Disliked — Weak soundproofing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2007

Great hotel!! Short walk from the train station.
The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and courteous.
Wonderful breakfast for a smaller hotel. The breakfast host would light a candle on our table every morning. A great regional hot item was served every morning, along with eggs.
Champagne was available at no charge. Konstanz is a great city, also a great location for side trips in the area. Clean rooms and bathrooms.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, great breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CinAnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewbury UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2007

Very conveniently located within a short walk of the railways station and harbour, this is a very pleasant hotel with friendly staff. Unlike the previous reviewer, I had no problems with the room - bedding and towels were all clean and unworn and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good - one hot choice plus eggs and a range of cereals and bread. It was quite hot in the room in early May, and there was no air conditioning visible, so it could perhaps get very hot in high summer. One of the receptionists spoke English and was very helpful. The one drawback for us was the complete absence of any facilities for a drink in the daytime or evening. No hot drink facilities in the room or anywhere else. I've never stayed in a hotel before that didn't have a coffee room or bar, but both of those I stayed in in Germany lacked the possibility of a cup of tea in the evening. Perhaps that's normal for Germany, but we weren't impressed.

  • Liked — Location, friendly receptionist
  • Disliked — Lack of tea facilites
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank alanterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and from the outside the hotel looks impressive. However, once we were inside we were reminded of why it's a 2 star hotel. Our room located on the top floor was very basic and outdated. The linen was well worn and the towels were so old they looked like they came from the 70's. Nevertheless, it's clean, tidy and has a good breakfast but in our opinion the room wasn't worth the amount of money we paid. The best restaurant in the area, Tolle Knolle is located at the front of the hotel, it's modern, has great food and is relatively cheap.

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Disliked — furniture
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N&JB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City-Hotel Konstanz
City-Hotel Konstanz
#8 of 34 in Konstanz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Sky
Viva Sky
#7 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#12 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Property: Hotel Hirschen
Address: Bodanplatz 9, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hirschen Hotel Konstanz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing