We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unaceptable reservation service”

Augustiner Tor Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Augustiner Tor Hotel
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unaceptable reservation service”
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I have to write a bad review about a hotel that I thought would stand up to it's online reputation. I have made an online reservation through a booking agency, witch was confirmed. After that, I wrote to the hotel DIRECTLY, and they confirmed my reservation again via email.
When I arrived I was told that some rooms entered renovation and that they are no longer able to accommodate us, despite our confirmed reservation. They pointed us to a nearby hotel.
I find this kind of situation absolutely unacceptable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vladdhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    36
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
36
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

The hotel is direct in the city centre, not far away from the main train station, ferry terminal and the main attractions of the city. My room was new, relatively wide, clean and quite (surprising I had two bathrooms, dividing the toilet from the shower). The air dryer was ok. I had a large mirror at the room entrance, very practical! The breakfast buffet was well furnished. The reception was on the first floor (you have to walk on a stair before you can use the elevator). The staff was very friendly. Internet was not inclusive.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Great hotel to stay at if your travelling by train. If you're driving, you'll need to park at the LAGO (shopping center) across the street. Can get pricey if you're going in and out. On the weekend it's almost impossible to find parking. Alot of people from Switzerland come to Germany to shop...much cheaper. Hotel door is a bit hidden, but once you find it, it's easy to find again. Reception is on the 2'nd floor. Suitcases need to be carried up a short flight of stairs to the lift. Most of the rooms are located on the 3'rd floor. Minimalistic decor, but very comfortable. Breakfast is good with lots of variety. We were able to have a good breakfast that kept us going until late afternoon. Beds are comfortable and the bathrooms clean. Remember in most of Europe you must bring your own face cloths.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolingv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Went here for short stay business trip, lovely modern clean boutique type hotel, in the old town opposite square with some shops and restaurants, not far walk to the ferry terminal. Clean spacious rooms. Lovely town would have booked again for this July but sadly fully booked so will try Hotel Constantia

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marais72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuerich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Arrived on Saturday lunchtime for an overnight stay - the main entrance was a bit of a surprise and the reception combined with dining room on the 2nd floor was strange - but after that the news was mostly good. The room was very well presented and laid out, the facilities were good, breakfast also good. One area of concern was the out-of-date crisp and peanuts in the mini-bar. Other than that I guess we would use it again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PitBullCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Great hotel! Good location. (Drawback: no parking). Looks like it was just recently renovated, as the reception was a dining table with a laptop. But who cares? The breakfast was lovely, the deco modern and tasteful, and rooms and bathroom spacy, clean, modern, stylish, and comfortable. Definitely everything I need in a hotel, for business or leisure. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritz188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Most people don't need a full service hotel and don't want to pay for it. This is where the Augustiner Tor excels. You get a modern and comfortable room and breakfast (both German/Swiss style) You are in the middle of the town, can choose where you will eat and can walk everywhere and the price (about 90 Euros) is fair for what you get. If you want to drive, then stay elsewhere out of town, but if you are using the railway, which is generally the better option, this is the place to stay

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenaroundLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Constantia
Hotel Constantia
#18 of 34 in Konstanz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Scheffelhof
Apart Hotel Scheffelhof
#21 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
City-Hotel Konstanz
City-Hotel Konstanz
#9 of 34 in Konstanz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Sky
Viva Sky
#7 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustiner Tor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustiner Tor Hotel

Property: Augustiner Tor Hotel
Address: Bodanstr. 18, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustiner Tor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Augustiner Tor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing