We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed there for a week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Waldhaus Jakob
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Constantia, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed there for a week”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is a lovely cosy feeling hotel. The beautiful garden has lovely views of the lake. The staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious, and the hotel is in close proximity to a popular swimming beach, as well as the local warm swimming pool centre. Breakfast was ample and tasty. We would have loved to stay there for a week, but unfortunately only spent one night. The restaurant was good, but a little confusing, as all the staff were Italian, and it was a little strange trying to order food in Italian (whilst in Germany!) We would like to go back to this hotel some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianneG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    25
    25
    14
    9
See reviews for
28
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed two nights at Waldhaus Jakob, in the main building in a lakeside room
We were booked by a travel bureau as part of a cycling tour package, so no clue what price we paid
Staff was very friendly, but rooms are only average for a 3 star hotel and a bit outdated
The biggest asset of the hotel is its location in a park at the border of lake Konstanz (Bodensee).
It is way out of town, but that's hardly a problem, because during your hotel stay you have free public transport throughout Konstanz and the city bus stops in front of the hotel. So no bother about your car, which is fine because downtown Konstanz seems continuously blocked.
The hotel restaurant is OK and has a beer garden, but the fine restaurant Seelig is only a two minute walk.
So no need to go into town for dinner

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Durkheim, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We arrived for a 3 night stay in this 3 star hotel in Konstanz. It resides right at the huge Bodensee, some of the rooms have a lake view even. Right around the corner you can find Bodensee Therme, a place to unwind and relax and enjoy some jacuzzi's and sauna.
The room prices are quite steep, it is currently off season (mid/end November) and the two of us have to pay 345 Euros for 3 nights. Our little doggie is 10 Euros extra per day, which is ok. The room has a good size, however the interior and equipments are really old. An old TV (no, not a flat screen) with a tiny screen and a remote that is not working properly, but hey, I did not really come here to watch TV anyway. The hotel advertises free internet in the rooms, but honestly, they should take that off their website. It works pretty ok in the main house with the lobby, but if you go two floors up, the signal is too weak to have a proper connection. In the 2nd house, the coverage seems full strength, however the speed is terrible. They seem to have technical difficulties, it does not seem like a professional set up.
Breakfast is another sad story, hardly any choice, the famous German rolls called "Brötchen" are not fresh, but warmed up/baked in the oven. 4 tables were occupied and there were not enough Brötchen available, also, I had some salmom and fruits (I cleared the salmon plate) and after I was done (20 mins later) the salmo plate was still empty. My wife asked if it is possible to order eggs (scrambled that is) and the response from the (friendly) waitress was "as an exception, we can do this". The scrambled eggs were pretty disgusting, just eggs, very very runny and it didn't look good at all.
If the rate was 60 €, it would be pretty good, but at the going rate it is absolutely overpriced.

Room Tip: I had the chance to look into another (bigger) room located in the main house on the 2nd floor. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrs_schubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my children for one night - our room was very big which was great but it was a bit old and musty with a tiny outdated bathroom (and drip-drip shower) - if it gets refurbished it will be great. The location is nice enough, quiet with nice views bit it is a little outside of the centre of town. Breakfast was disappointing. We got a good deal on the room so you get what you pay for, still I wouldn't go rushing back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeciliaLausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed there from Tuesday, July 31st, till Sunday, August 5th. Our room’s windows faced the courtyard, where cars were loading and unloading, music playing, etc., in the early hours, around 3 to 4 AM, making it impossible to sleep.

We contacted the reception on several occasions regarding the matter, but despite the receptionist’s promise that the hotel manager would be addressing the issue, no one got in touch with us. On check-out, the receptionist proposed that we would only be billed for one night until the hotel manager sorted out the issue directly with us. Regretfully, we discovered that, despite this promise, our friend credit card (she made the initial booking and then was unable to join us due to the illness in the family) was billed in full.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misha_liberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Konstanz hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was night 2 of the European expedition. Nestled in a quite little village about 200m from the lake. We walked all the way along the lake into town which is a lovely walk but a good 30 minutes. Wifi was good and free, great selection of beer and wine and the restaurant was very good also.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herojoe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volos, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

i saw it at the internet and it is much better than it looks. it is close to the public baths (2 minutes walk). staff at the reception when we arrived was helpful and let us have a look at the room before checking in. the room had everything with view to the lake. breakfast was o.k. but no omelete which i can't unnderstand why. parking is free. we payed 135 euros which is expensive for this hotel but o.k. if you check the prices of other hotels in konstanz.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MITSOS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Barleben am See
Hotel Villa Barleben am See
#17 of 34 in Konstanz
65 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ringhotel Schiff Am See
Ringhotel Schiff Am See
#31 of 34 in Konstanz
88 reviews
1.6 mi away
Apartment Hotel Konstanz
Apartment Hotel Konstanz
#8 of 34 in Konstanz
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bilger Eck
Hotel Bilger Eck
#10 of 34 in Konstanz
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#14 of 34 in Konstanz
97 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhaus Jakob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhaus Jakob

Property: Hotel Waldhaus Jakob
Address: Eichhornstr. 84, 78464 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldhaus Jakob 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Waldhaus Jakob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing