We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Bad Salzuflen
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bad Salzuflen
Ribe, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not for business travellers”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The positive side, it was clean and the staff was friendly and if you fancy original decor from the 70ties you are at the perfect place.
The rooms are small and have not been refurbished for decades.
The internet was 15 euro a day for a landline connection. No electrical were available at the desk so either you need an extension cable or to move the television and minibar and use it's electrical plug
Wireless was not available in my room but a wireless network was available in the lobby.
It was not possible to borrow an iron and ironing board, an ironing service was available for a surcharge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    34
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
5
16
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Bad Salzuflen attracts a typically older age of visitor, owing to its range of spa and health facilities. In the hotel despite my 50th birthday looming up next year, it was like being part of an episode of "Waiting for God" in the hotel, with the surreal sight of the lobby full of septuagenarians dancing to a organist singing "Are you lonesome tonight?" (in German of course). We did feel young.

The best part about the hotel is its location, right opposite the park.

The hotel was clearly well-built in, I would guess, 1975. The restaurant is the high spot but the rooms and corridors are in desperate need of refurbishment. Bathrooms are dark and poor by modern standards.

Breakfasts and car parking are both very pricey. Although the breakfast buffet is very extensive and the staff are pleasant and friendly, at 16 EUR a go (including our son who had a daily diet of two rolls, a chocolate muffin and a glass of orange juice for 16 EUR) it's a bit steep. Parking is 13 EUR per day. Add to that one day of Internet access at 15 EUR, our "extras" bill which was for breakfast, parking, internet, one coffee and a bag of pretzels from the mini bar was about the same as the cost of the rooms!

Bad Salzulfen is a lovely town, and we will definitely be back. Near to the hotel is Vitasol, a large, state-of-the-art public spa that you must visit. Floating in a salt bath relaxing whilst listening to underground music was a wonderful experience and we could have stayed much longer.

Regrettably, unless we hear of a refurbishment at the Maritim, on our next visit to BZ we will look for another hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bad Salzuflen hotels

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Dependable accomodation in a good location - though the decor and fittings are now more than a bit dated. All very clean and tidy with a thoroughly good restaurant serving very good food.

Friendly staff all well presented and well trained. Garage is a tad expensive and many rooms have very narrow single beds tucked up against a wall.

Access late at night is limited (by road) as its located in a Spa Town. The town itself is well worth seeing - inlcuding the walls of twigs soaked in brine (a local health thing!!).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasatatamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

I stay at the Maritim Staatsbadhotel in Bad Salzuflen several times per year on business. It is a bit dated in its appearance and amenities, but more than makes up for this with excellent service. Rooms are bit on the small side.

The hotel is situated in a primarily residential area just off of the central park of Bad Salzuflen. After a long day of working, it is perfectly situated for a jog around the park or through the adjoining neighborhood. Be aware that due to a lawsuit (brought by one of the "neighbors" in the area) the gate that leads to the parking lot closes at 22:00 (10:00 pm). If you get locked out, you can park on the street. It is a very safe area, so no security worries there.

The food in the restaurant is excellent. It is one of the better breakfast buffets in the area. The dinner menu is also very good. I have never had a bad meal or bad service here.

If you are looking for a romantic hideaway, there might be better options in the area. If you are traveling on business, it is hard the beat the Maritim based on the hospitality, and efficiency of the hotel staff. They are top notch!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank pw1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Salzuflen hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Ostertor
Best Western Plus Hotel Ostertor
#1 of 23 in Bad Salzuflen
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alstadt-Palais Lippischer Hof
Alstadt-Palais Lippischer Hof
#2 of 23 in Bad Salzuflen
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arminius
Hotel Arminius
#3 of 23 in Bad Salzuflen
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kurpark-Hotel
Kurpark-Hotel
#5 of 23 in Bad Salzuflen
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kurvilla Fuerstin Pauline
Kurvilla Fuerstin Pauline
#15 of 23 in Bad Salzuflen
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vitalotel Roonhof
Vitalotel Roonhof
#6 of 23 in Bad Salzuflen
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Bad Salzuflen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Bad Salzuflen

Property: Maritim Hotel Bad Salzuflen
Address: Parkstr. 53, 32105 Bad Salzuflen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bad Salzuflen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bad Salzuflen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Bad Salzuflen 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting spa town of Bad Salzuflen lies embedded in the gently undulating hilly landscape between the Teutoburger Wald and the Weserbergland. In the midst of greenery, yet superbly connected by autobahns, the MARITIM Staatsbadhotel in Bad Salzuflen is an ideal destination for people on vacation, business travellers, conference organisers and visitors of the fairgrounds in Bad Salzuflen. The spa gardens and numerous spa establishments are located within walking distance of the hotel, just like the attractive inner city with its quant timberwork houses. Cities like Bielefeld, Paderborn, Gütersloh, Detmold and Minden are in the immediate neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Hotel Bad Salzuflen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Staatsbadhotel Bad Salzuflen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing