We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alstadt-Palais Lippischer Hof
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Bad Salzuflen
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
212 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

You can tell, they really try here: constant renovation and enlargement going on, which leads to the hotel having three very diffrent wings: an old wing, a newer wing and a brand new one. Depending in which wing you'll end up will set the tone for your hotel experience and the newest wing (still in construction then) looked pretty spectacular for a hotel in that area.

I had a single room (really a single as not suitable for more one person and a small suitcase) which seemed quite newly renovated, but you could tell it was in the old wing from room structure, door, windows etc. It had a high pile carpet which I don't appreciate and regard as a hygiene problem, especially in hotels.

Although Bad Salzuflen is not Midtown Manhattan there was some considerable noise coming from the street, a terrace below my window - and from the bathroom vent.

Wifi was not free, but very cheap - and one of the slowest I ever encountered.

The public areas are a little like "interior designer going wild": obviously expensively decorated, but stuffed with a strange, not very obvious mix of Asiatic, British and other items.

I did not try the breakfast or restaurant, but was almost unsuccessful trying to get a drink at 5:30 p. m. at any of their three outlets, because the new and very attractive rooftop lounge closed due to bad weather and the two bars weren't open yet. Luckily, the barkeeper at "Spirit of India" bar had the courtesy to serve me nonetheless (at pretty high prices).

Bottom line: if you don't get a room in the newer or newest wing, there are better options in Bad Salzuflen.

Room Tip: Try avoid rooms in the oldest part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    42
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
44
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a friends wedding. Our room was in the renovated part, and I really loved how stylish it was designed. Every detail was tasteful, room was clean, and lighting very cozy. Lovely idea with a wall upside down decoration. Wedding reception was in the hotel as well, and food was very, very good, especially entries. One minor suggestion, also with regard to breakfast: please include pure green tea to you tea selection. They also have little SPA are with tiny indoor pool and two saunas - we did not have time to enjoy it, however, we sneaked in to take a look: cozy, romantic, clean, and functional - my impression. I do recommend Lippischer Hof hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the room in newly renovated (or built?) building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna-off-austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Staff on front desk poor,not very welcoming,breakfast was a great disapointment, nice view, but cold cooked food . We have stayed here
Many times , but I feel money has taken over from customer service, not for us anymore

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukkkkkke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LippischerHofBS, Verkaufsleiter at Alstadt-Palais Lippischer Hof, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest! Thank you for you assessment on Tripadvisor.de.
Referring to this we would like to confer with you.
Please contact us under mueller@hof-hotels.de
or call us under +49 5222 534 300.
Thank you in advance!
Justina Müller / assistance of management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff there are pretty nice. Can take sometime for them to respond at the bar. and the rooms a pretty nice.

I stayed there for three trip lasting two weeks, with a colleague who was already staying there.

Unfortunately the simple things for the price are missing here.

There is no fitness centre as stated in the description. Only a small hydro pool.

The biggest problem is the internet connection it is so slow its pretty much useless, and never gets any better. 35kbps was the fastest it ever got to. I mean that's slower than the old 56K!! Reception just says 'that's how it is'. I know The area has good internet in other establishments.

other things that may bother you. No double beds (despite the description). No bath only a shower. Breakfast is average.

For me not having internet in this day and age is silly, so will try to stay elsewhere in future

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CompleteSightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Very peaceful and a great restaurant with fantastic food.
I stayed in the new part which hasn't been open long and has cables hanging down, a lift which isn't finished, faulty heating, no phones in the room and no air con.
The breakfast room is great with a nice big terrace but for some reason the waiters never offered me coffee as they seemed to do for everyone else.
The first room they gave me was unmade and dirty, the next room was nicer with a balcony with great views but very hot as the heating was faulty and stuck on full blast, they're didn't know this until I told them, guess their bill will be higher.
The mini bar is free.... if you book online which I didn't so I feel slightly miffed.
There is a tall narrow window in the wall between the bath room and main room, there in no privacy curtain or blind so if your sharing the room you can see everything the other person is doing!
I met the owner to discuss the heating and he was very friendly and easy to talk to.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank UK_Bloke_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I've travelled on business to this area for years, and stayed in the Lippischer Hof many times.

Rooms - they have a wide range, and basically you get what you pay for - the suites are fantastic, the premier rooms very nice, and the basic rooms - nice but basic. Some of the premier rooms feel poky, as they've tried to fit in a lot of things into a slightly too small space. That said, there are lots of nice touches that distinguish this from a lesser hotel.

Restaurant - the 'Walter's Pharmacy' restaurant, is fabulous. The meals are superb, if expensive.

Breakfast - this is a bit disappointing, simply by comparison with the restaurant. The breakfast is typical German, and good for that, but not outstanding. The restaurant sets the bar high, and the breakfast just matches what I'd expect from any other hotel of comparable quality.

Service - all the staff are great. English is spoken as a matter of course. The staff are genuinely friendly as opposed to forced 'customer service' false friendliness. You get genuine interaction as if they are enjoying their jobs. I hope that's really the case.

Fitness - a bit limited here. They have a pool which is the smallest pool I've ever seen (its barely more than a Jacuzzi). If you expect a gym then forget it. Take running shoes instead and go out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, Surrey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Restaurant was great, had a fillet steak that was fab. Local beer and wine was really good as well. hotel has a basement high class pool and sauna we'll worth a visit. Room had a balcony and was comfortable and quiet. The hotel is in the centre of town - the town being a high class well maintained spa town. All the hotel and town is definitely worth visiting if you are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Salzuflen hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Ostertor
Best Western Plus Hotel Ostertor
#1 of 24 in Bad Salzuflen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arminius
Hotel Arminius
#3 of 24 in Bad Salzuflen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maritim Hotel Bad Salzuflen
Maritim Hotel Bad Salzuflen
#6 of 24 in Bad Salzuflen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kurpark-Hotel
Kurpark-Hotel
#4 of 24 in Bad Salzuflen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Salzufler Hof
Hotel Salzufler Hof
#17 of 24 in Bad Salzuflen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kurvilla Fuerstin Pauline
Kurvilla Fuerstin Pauline
#14 of 24 in Bad Salzuflen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alstadt-Palais Lippischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alstadt-Palais Lippischer Hof

Property: Alstadt-Palais Lippischer Hof
Address: Mauerstr. 1 - 5, 32105 Bad Salzuflen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bad Salzuflen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Bad Salzuflen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alstadt-Palais Lippischer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alstadt-Palais Lippischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing