We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not special . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Altstadthotel Molitor
Ranked #3 of 13 Bamberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at this Bamberg hotel for over a week. The room we had (a large double with an extra bed) was spacious, though everything felt quite dated: the sofa reminded me of college days. We happened to hit Bamberg during a particularly hot spell, so the lack of air-conditioning became a real problem, especially since the noise from nearby beer gardens and bars lasted late into the night, and delivery trucks began servicing businesses very early in the morning--so the requisite open windows at night allowed in as much noise as cool air. A large breakfast buffet is available (we were automatically charged 5 euros each for it), and it is good. As others have noted, the reception desk is limited, since it closes at 7:00 pm, and it is "staffed" by only one person in the morning (who is seldom there, since she is also running the breakfast buffet). Since the hotel is locked after 7:00 pm, you need to have your (large) key with you, and, since my wife and I were often at different places, we had to beg to have two keys (apparently they only have two and are loathe to give both to guests). The refrigerator upstairs stocked with beer, water, and fruit juice for one euro a bottle is a real bargain and a nice touch. We found the beds okay, but the heat made sleeping iffy. Great restaurant (Eckert's) right across the way, on the bridge over the river, and a good restaurant and brewery right next door (Klosterbrau), with excellent brown beer on tap. Good location. But I think next time in Bamberg, I'll try another place, maybe the Barock am Dom, which looked lovely and was a little more centrally located.

Room Tip: Friends had the upstairs suite, which is pictured on the website and is really special--compared to...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingScholar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Altstadthotel Molitor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a small unik hotel with a cosy and warm atsmophere right in the central oldtown Bamberg.
Booked the suite for four days and that was a great pick. Two rooms with a nice bahtroom with a bathtub.Very clean and with a good breakfast served by the sweet and friendly staff. We will return.

Room Tip: the suite is worth the litle extra money
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank viking0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed one night in March 2014.

Positive
The hotel itself is fine.

Negative
The system for late arrivals is to inform the hotel if coming after 19.00. We arrived at 18.40 to find the reception empty and a notice saying ‘The Reception is not open until 19.00’. We left our cases and went over the road for dinner.
Returning at about 20.30, we found the hotel closed and had to ask the restaurant to phone the owner.
We cancelled the remaining two nights of our booking. The owner agreed not to charge for the cancellation, but imposed a 10 euro charge for cleaning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMH289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights in June to visit our son who was studying at the University in Bamberg for his year abroad. The rooms/suites were very comfortable, so were the beds. The bathrooms were spotless. The location was fantastic for the shops, cafes and restaurants/pubs, only a short walk away, lots of historical places to visit too. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The fridge was handy for cold water, beer and fruit juices for 1 euro each. The breakfast had everything you could think of to eat, different fruit bowl every day, cereals, toast with an assortment of bread and rolls, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, jams, nutella, no marmite though, as you would expect, luckily I took my own. the only downside was when it was very hot, there was no air conditioning or fans to cool the rooms and the sunny side rooms would not cool down. We bought our own fan for 15 euros.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 61Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

On a recent two week trip through Germany we stopped here for one night and loved it. Thankfully, we had reserved the Suite which lived up to expectations. The room is huge (sitting area with a sleeping loft) with exposed beams and a big chain hand crank in the center of the room. The sitting room furniture is a bit tired, which is the reason I did not rank this hotel as "Excellent". Beds were terrific and we slept very well.
Breakfast was huge and varied but crowded. If you arrive a bit late they replenish everything so perhaps not arriving with everyone else in the hotel would be smartest.
Parking is an issue. The hotel appears to have only two place (8 Euro each per night) and we were lucky to find a space in a small outdoor lot nearby (8 Euro). There is a larger parking garage nearby but it is double that price.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Get the suite
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D0ugP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is was perfect hotel for our stay in Bamberg. Bamberg is not Munich, Frankfurt, or Hamburg, and that's a good thing. But don't expect giant, luxurious American style hotels like you would in those cities. We read the reviews on Molitor - the good and the bad - decided that it was exactly what we needed. It is quaint, it is local, it is very German / European. It is also exactly as described.

It is true that they do not have 24-7 staff, but this is not a security issue as described. You have a key and as far as I can see, they weren't handing out free copies on the street. Plus, your room has a lock especially for you so no worries about anyone breaking into the room. Bamberg is safe. Relax and enjoy. I also read that the breakfast was not American. Well...you're not in America. Get over it. Other also right that it isn't modernized. See my note above about being in Bamberg. Don't expect The W.

The hotel is close to EVERYTHING including Klosterbrau, a rather amazing little brewery (with great food). You are literally in the heart of it all. They also offer free WiFi and by being a registered guest, you have free access to hotspots all over town. A nice option. And the fridge in the hall has a great assortment of beer for 1 euro.

The one con that does ring true is the beds aren't exactly the most comfortable in the world. But, if you manage enough beer, then the beds aren't much of an issue. I give this hotel a 5.

Room Tip: Vist Klosterbrau across the street for great beer and food. Seriously, you have to go.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWanderingGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed here 3 nights with my mother. Very close to all the attractions and if you are a history buff then Bamberg is the place to go. The hotel is modest and doesnt have those litle extras that the larger hotels have. But it does offer great value for money with comfortable beds (doonas and fluffy pillows), great continental breakfast (boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, yoghurt, fruitsalad, variety of breads), and free WiFi. It is also on the river Regnitz and my room had river views. The day I arrived it was Fathers/Mens day celebrations and groups of men enjoying the day with a few beers. I was worried about the noise but found my double windows great in blocking most of the noise. There is a pub opposite and noise can echo in the small lane. I found the street quiet late at night, but I always sleep with earplugs wen I travel.. In a nutshell if you want the spoils of a chain hotel then this may not be the place for you. But if you love authenticity, value for money and the uniqueness of an old buiding then Molitor is the place to book. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If noise may bother you then ask for quiet room away from street.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Living_my_dream_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Molitor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Molitor

Address: Obere Muehlbruecke 2-4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bamberg
Price Range: £69 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadthotel Molitor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly in the hard of Bamberg in a very silence area. Everything of the importent parts you can catch easily by feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HRS and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Altstadthotel Molitor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing