We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst stay we have ever had”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Die Alte Post
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The picture in the internet is not the same as all the rooms they offer. Ours was just big enough for a double bed and there was a very noisy pump removing water from the bathroom every 5 minutes the whole time we were there... including all through the night.
The TV reception (TV sitting on a stool) was so bad we could not get a good picture at all.
Never again.... and they charged us 80 euros (75+parking 5euros).

Room Tip: Make sure you visit the room first and check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great value hotel close to the bahnhof. Plenty of single rooms with shower, small but clean. Excellent breakfast and they let us leave our luggage there after checkout. We were then able to visit a couple more breweries before training home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrbi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

This guest house was "perfect". The staff were very kind and helpful. Such a pleasant experiance. The Breakfast each morning was "awsome". Fresh fruit, meat ,cheese ,several types of bread and jam,butter and cream cheese, coffee, oj,milk ,cerial..And Great Service too !!..All anyone could want. Such an eye pleasing array of food. The room was pleasantly roomy, very clean with fresh towels each day. The beds were very comfortable. I must say the Staff were very welcoming to us. I felt as though they were friends each time we incountered them. If ever we get a chance to see the wanderful town of Bamberg again, our home while we are ther will be the "AWSOME" DIE ALTE POST... it is so close to everything. The bus and bohnhauf are in walking distance. No need for a car. The price for what you get is more than worth it. This is very much part of an authinic visit to Bamberg. They are definantly what a "German" guest house is. All you need wrapped in one place. ..Very much a big part of our visit ! Thanks to all of you ! You all made a good memory for me and my sister....JoAnn and Cindy, from the USA

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnn052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ich war in einem einzelzimmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jürgen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank ThomasDbamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 123Museumbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yarapsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.8 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#9 of 40 in Bamberg
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gastehaus Graupner
Gastehaus Graupner
#10 of 13 in Bamberg
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Die Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Die Alte Post

Address: Heiliggrabstr. 1, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range: £56 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Die Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing