We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nicest best western I have visited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“nicest best western I have visited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Best Western has more variation in quality than I like, and so the recommendations on a particular hotel in the chain is paramount. Simply put, this was the best hotel I have stayed at in that chain. The hotel has lots of public space, both on the first floor (in the American definition) and on the breakfast floor (there is an outside patio). The air conditioning was superb; and the breakfast was amongst the best I have had in Europe (a very large spread with very attentive staff). (All the staff at this hotel were very pleasant.) There is a washing machine and dryer available for the guest (and an iron).

The location could not be better. I was there for the Bamberg Music Festival last August. The hotel is sufficiently far away so that I heard nothing, but sufficiently close to get to the fair in ten minutes. You can walk everywhere in the old town from here (Bamberg is a very nice small city). There is convenient parking downstairs for a reasonable fee.

I definitely will stay here again when I return to Bamberg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonnogiovanni2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    166
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
62
215
30
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston TX
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Although a little hard to find (it's tucked away from the street, the courtesy of the staff and the working amenities distinguish this hotel from a lot of German counterparts. On-site washer & dryer are great to have. Lobby bar whips up a nice drink on request and the breakfast dining room is both attractive and well supplied. In good weather you can eat outside. Wifi works and they don't try to upgrade you at additional cost. Rooms are comfortable but lack sprinkler system or peep holes. Electronic door locks function easily. Bright, clean, and guest-friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladtobethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
245 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

So only stayed one night, but this was a nice hotel. Nothing special, but what I was expecting. Room had a desk and separate sitting area. Bed was a little firm for
my taste, but OK

Breakfast was typical European style.

Location was about 5 minute from train station and maybe 10-15 minute to Old Town.

They have separate underground parking, so convenient there.

All around good stay at a decent price

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MacJoeFQV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is by far the nicest Best Western on the planet. It rubs elbows with Hilton. Room was small but clean and modern. Access to the car in the shared garage and access to town center was immediate. Couldn't ask for a better location. Breakfast buffet was a huge spread with variety and quality. Will gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

It was my second trip to Bamberg and staying at Best Western made my trip much more joyful.
City center is somehow far from the central station but this hotel is located in the middle, so there is easy access to both Hauptbahnhof and Altstadt.
However this is not what places it on top of bamberg hotels. I can call the hotel "Standard" in all aspects. The check in process is very easy and staff are always there to help. I welcomed in my room with a free bottle of water.the room is big and clean facilitated with a flat screen TV and a laptop size safe box. There is a wardrobe with many hangers in the room and also many drovers allowing you take all your cloths out of the suitcase.
The bathroom is also spotless and clean. There is a free access to Wireless internet in the room. Each user name and password may be used with three devices (laptop, Mobile, tablet etc..).
Breakfast is perfect and there are many choices with a a very careful staff. they are always aware of what you might need.
There is a 24 hours com[lementary coffee and tea in the lobby. it was very pleasant experience drinking a cup of coffee in lobby after coming back fully tired from a long busy day. there is also an ice cube machine in second floor which could be useful especially during summer.
I had already stayed in other nice hotel in Bamberg but from now Best western will be definitely my first choice and I recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amirhassanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

They offered good value for money. The staff were friendly and the room was clean. They upgraded us to a suite, which had great space and the breakfast had a great variety. The hotel is situated close to the town centre, which made for a lovely walk. It ticked all the basic boxes and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pencoed, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here with numerous work colleagues from various European countries. The hotel serves it's purpose by providing clean accomodation and a nice breakfast. Free WiFi is a plus. The best thing though is the location. It is within easy walking distance of the old city with it's numerous breweries. One of the oldest is only 200m away. If you visit Bamberg you must try the famous smoked beer although it does take a bit of getting used to !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Address: Luitpoldstr. 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing