We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too expensive for a very small room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“too expensive for a very small room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

the room was well equipped but way too small (there is almost no room beween the desk and the bed so that you kind have of slide when you cross the room) for the 130 euros charged. Breakfast was mediocre and overall the service was not very impressive (on check-out, the senior receptionist asked me if I was satisfied with my stay, I told her that I found that my room was too small : she very tactfully told me that next time I should choose the more pricey rooms which are bigger...I hope that this not the kind of answer they teach them in hospitality management, Anyway It reminded us of John Cleese in Fawlty Towers, so we had a laugh)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bousic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    165
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
62
214
30
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

my wife and I stayed at this hotel overnight on a tour of Germany last week .Bamberg is a lovely old city with many wonderful sites to visit. The Best Western hotel is centrally situated in the city near the river and shops . It is a modern hotel with very good facilities We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis as the hotel does not offer dinner however there are lots of good restaurants within a short walking distance . The rooms in the hotel are air conditioned which was a bonus as some of the Best Western Hotels we stayed in in other towns did not have air con .
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Bamberg area.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are probably better from a noise point of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Nice modern hotel, very clean, with good sized rooms. Aircon throughout. No restaurant. Room rate included breakfast and comprised a large choice of cooked meats, cheese, fruit and breads/pastries.Eggs, bacon and sausages were also available. The hotel was busy when we were there and timing was important when descending for breakfast. Staff were all helpful, friendly, and efficient. We used the underground car park and were able to take the lift from there, directly to reception and to the floor our room was on. Great when checking in and out. There's a wonderful organic food shop attached to the same building, with a huge range of food and drink.
The hotel is located a 10/15 minute walk from the Alte Brucke right in the heart of the old town. I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again, and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eltmann, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed there last december with a bunch of colleagues that had a conference in Bamberg. Since I'm from the Bamberg area myself, my own experience with hotels IN Bamberg is limited.

This Best Western is a nice place with a modern design. The rooms are clean and big enough for a night or two. I was surprised on the sound dampening quality of the windows, because I did not hear much from the downtown traffic outside.

After coming back from the diner, we stayed at the small bar in the lobby. The service was excellent and we had a good time.
Breakfast offered a good selection and was high quality. If the weather permits, try to grab a seat outside.

I was really surprised to find this quality in the service and the amenities in a US chain hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I know that travel purists say you should not stay at US chain hotels. Well, after 5 weeks of staying at small hotels I was thrilled to arrive here! All the great things listed below:

- friendly and efficient front desk
- restaurants around the corner
- laundry on site and a wash salon a minute away
- big room
- modern bathroom
- body lotion in the bathroom and a bar of soap (yes, little things that make me smile)
- soft, fluffy feather pillows
- free wifi
- great breakfast spread with fresh fruit
- free water and coffee in the lobby

A few minor things that brought it down a star:

- wifi was not fast enough to use FaceTime. I could connect, but it was really skipping.
- having to pay 8 euros extra for parking

We would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a larger room with seating on second floor typical hotel room from the world over but air con much appreciated in unexpected high temperatures
Reception faultless breakfast sufficient shame they don't make more use of that room in evening would be brilliant to sit out on terrace with a drink.

Only place outside is small areA and not much of a snack menu need to expand this free cd drinks and coffee all day in reception most welcome. Beat thing for travellers free washer and tumble dryer facility brilliant, also ice available all the time another bonus when temp is 34 plus degrees

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Best Western has more variation in quality than I like, and so the recommendations on a particular hotel in the chain is paramount. Simply put, this was the best hotel I have stayed at in that chain. The hotel has lots of public space, both on the first floor (in the American definition) and on the breakfast floor (there is an outside patio). The air conditioning was superb; and the breakfast was amongst the best I have had in Europe (a very large spread with very attentive staff). (All the staff at this hotel were very pleasant.) There is a washing machine and dryer available for the guest (and an iron).

The location could not be better. I was there for the Bamberg Music Festival last August. The hotel is sufficiently far away so that I heard nothing, but sufficiently close to get to the fair in ten minutes. You can walk everywhere in the old town from here (Bamberg is a very nice small city). There is convenient parking downstairs for a reasonable fee.

I definitely will stay here again when I return to Bamberg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonnogiovanni2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
0.7 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Address: Luitpoldstr. 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Ebookers, HRS, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing