We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outrages experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arkaden Hotel im Kloster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arkaden Hotel im Kloster
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“outrages experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have to admit that this review will not provide a feedback on the amenities of the hotel, as me and my family were never let in by the most arrogant and unhelpful staff we ever met in any hotel. I made a reservation of an apartment via a leading hotel reservation engine. When we arrived there with my husband and our small 2,5 years old son, they told us that there were fully booked and didn't let us in. We first tried at the parking gate where some lady on intercom simply hanged up on us without showing the smallest interest in seeing our reservation. Later at the entrance of the reception the same lady didn't let us in again and didn't even want to take a look at our reservation, but repeated that they were fully booked. We explained that we drove 700 km and were with a small child, but it didn't change anything. She stayed the same arrogant. She neither offered any help or assistance, but when we asked for it, she again hanged up and didn't answer our calls any more. We were left with a small tired child at 19:00 in the dark street. A person that helped us was a hotel guest that was an accidental witness to our conversation. She was the same outraged as we were and couldn't believe her ears. Fortunately she managed to get a phone number of another hotel in the vicinity, where she called to reserve a room for us. Then she led us by her car to the new hotel. I think this was the minimum what Arkadenhotel should have done for us once they realised that there was some mistake or miscommunication concerning our reservation. For us it was a deeply regrettable experience and we would like to express our opinion about this hotel on your website so everybody can get a sample how they are treating people. I cannot believe that this hotel received such positive fitback. For us it was the most outrages travelling experience.

Aleksandra with a family

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AleksandraJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    81
    46
    19
    48
See reviews for
55
139
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We loved the large room with one bed and not 2 twins pushed together. Couldn't have been happier with our 1 night stay. Don't miss Bamberg. Most scenic of all the cities near the Romantic Road. Great free Internet and easy parking!! Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We were very pleased to find this hotel in Bamberg. It is close to the old town and the actual house is interesting too.
The standard of the room differs, one of the families had a room with very nice decoration while the other room was more standard.
Breakfast was not included in the room, but it is good value to pay for it and have a good start of the day before you go out and try all of Bambergs different beers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wasabi69Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leefdaal, Belgium
Level Contributor
209 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We just loved this hotel ! On arrival we were, in a very friendly way, told all the necessary things, also about Bamberg. The room is kindly decorated, big and clean. Very comfortable. The setting, in an old monastery, is just very special. A large parking in front of the hotel, and only a 5 to 10-minute walk to the lovely center of Bamberg. Breakfast was more than ok, and worth its 5 €. Bamberg was a nice surprise for us, also thanks to this nice hotel !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

The hotel is a long way from the train station and not so easy to find. Access is from a lift from the street level which was only in German, so I had to lug my suitcases the long way around up quite a few stairs, and was buzzed in with no easy access in the early evening. However, it's a handy location for access to the old town where all the main sights are. The rooms were very nice and cosy with a view out onto the cloister of the monastery. Breakfast was very good and the staff were attentive. The room was a bit noisy late at night with people above me banging furniture around. Overall it's a pretty good bargain and well worth the money and time invested in getting to the place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonofsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Spacious, clean and tastefully decorated rooms, very helpful and friendly staff, a nice breakfast and an easy walk to the town centre - what more could you want? We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegreenpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
211 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Very pleasantly surprised on many levels. Lovely newly established hotel in the old monastery. Decor plays on this without being overly religious. Loved waking up to the bells in the morning. Staff was very pleasant and spoke perfect english.

Breakfast for 5 E p/p and parking for 5E p/d was a very good deal. Breakfast was standard cold buffet with fresh rolls, cheeses, meats, fruit, juice, coffee & tea. Dining area was large, comfortable & well lit. I've seen a lot less for a lot more.

Very near to old town areas, dom, schloss, breweries, et al. Surprisingly easy walking considering the apparently hilly terrain. Bamberg is lovely and ncely situated for a day trip to Bayreuth and Upper Franconia. And with such convenient parking a great base for exploring the area even a little further to Nurnberg & Wurzberg.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylInMainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alt Bamberg
Hotel Alt Bamberg
#22 of 40 in Bamberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel garni Altenburgblick
Hotel garni Altenburgblick
#16 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkaden Hotel im Kloster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkaden Hotel im Kloster

Property: Arkaden Hotel im Kloster
Address: Karmelitenplatz 1 / Westfluegel | Am Knoecklein 1, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkaden Hotel im Kloster 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arkaden Hotel im Kloster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing