We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive old church”
Review of Bamberger Dom

Bamberger Dom
Ranked #3 of 49 things to do in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very impressive old church”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The Dom is located on one of the hills in Bamberg and is a must-see. It is an impressive old church with notable graves, a crypt, and numerous statues including the famous "Reiter" (horseman) that is visited by thousands of people each year although nobody knows who he was...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Silke72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    219
    42
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Beautiful cathedral inside and out in a beautiful town .Deep in history ,a must see if visiting Bamberg.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mia209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kaiser's Imperial Cathedral”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The cathedral is spare considering the Barroque opulence of Bamberg; however, it boasts the tombs of an Emporer, Emporess and a Pope! The most famous sculpture is the Bamberg Rider - a complete enigma beause no one knows who made it, why they carved it, and who it depicts. However, there are many many other works to admire including a mideival fresco that hints how sumptuously the cathedral probably looked after it was first constructed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiden, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I wish I had read reviews before we went. I would have looked harder. You can't possibly miss sculptures, paintings and antiques. There were tons to see. I just wish I had realized it was the only papal burial site outside of Italy or France. I would have liked to have seen that. There were brochures available for 1Euro purchase (use coins, it's on the honor system) in several different languages. The paintings on the wall around the entire thing are the stations of the cross. Each station had 3 to 4 separate paintings. Fortunately we're in the area for a couple of years and I'll have an opportunity to go back. If this had been a one time only thing I would only regret having not spent more time getting pictures of every single thing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chiefandthemrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

A lot to see there, you can buy a pamphlet about the things in the church for a euro. I felt like it was worth it because of all the background information in it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jakeraz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamberger Dom also viewed

Bamberg, Upper Franconia
Bamberg, Upper Franconia
 
Bamberg, Upper Franconia
 

Been to Bamberger Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing