We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Wohnbar(Bamberg)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Tandem Hotel(Bamberg)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alt Ringlein(Bamberg)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$74
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
99
264
97
26
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
264
97
26
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain sitesold townexcellent locationcomfortable bedcentral locationhotel is perfectclean roomswalking distancewould stay here againstayed here for two nightsair convisiting bambergaltstadtaccorparkingeurocentre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 493 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Perfect Location nearby the walking area; easy staying atmosphere, and very convenient. Nothing more than decent but worth every coin. Wish only there where free parking included and free Wifi. Not so common in Germany but is it asking too much nowadays ? OK, there was a desktop with free use and internet connection in the Lobby. Friendly and efficient staff at Reception Desk

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vallomilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Biggar
11
Reviewed 3 February 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Quite different from the usual Ibis hotel, this one is located in a quiet street on the edge of the old town, about 5 minutes walk from the Altes Rathaus. Instead of the usual concrete high-rise, the hotel is squeezed into an old town house, giving it quite an intimate and personal feel. The downside is that reception area can get quite busy, the small and woefully inadequate breakfast area even more so.

Rooms were larger than expected, probably because we were in the attic space on the top floor. No proper air-co, as is the norm in German Ibis hotels, so only windows for cool air, fortunately the hotel is in a quiet part of town.

Quite a reasonable price, but the hotel loses a rating star due to its byzantine parking regulations. Squeezing a normal size family saloon car through the car park entrance was hard work enough, but that was nothing compared with the parking fascist working on front desk.

As I was checking in the lady asked if I needed to park my car. "Yes, I've already done so", which seemed to upset her no end, as she thrust a couple of photocopied A4 sheets under my nose. Noticing that they showed a map of the car park, I kindly pointed out that I had been good enough to use the dedicated hotel parking spaces and not those used by residents and businesses. But no, this was not good enough, I couldn't park in any old hotel parking space, I had to use the one space allocated to me. Go back downstairs and move your car into space X !

A walk down the stairs and a painfully slow drive around the extremely cramped and crowded car park revealed space X to be taken up. Somebody else hadn't been listening to Parking Patricia ! So back upstairs, to explain that I couldn't park there, maybe instead I could use one of the many empty hotel spaces and screw her precious allocated parking system. I might as well as asked her who had won war ! A clearly horrified PP sent me back down the stairs with a list of 3 spaces I could use instead. Eventually, mission complete and within 1 hour all was forgotten as I downed a cold beer for which Bamberg is famous.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Good value hotel, well located close to central Bamberg. In-room Wifi paid account seems a bit eccentric as the account expires whether you are logged in or not, and so compared to other hotels turns out to be over expensive. However you can use the free cable computer downstairs.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbit321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

This hotel is in a perfect location, in a perfect Bavarian town. The hotel itself is everything that a good IBIS hotel usually is - a standard that assures clean, small rooms and quick service. This hotel may lack the ambience of a 'local' establishment, but it delivers known quality at a very attractive price.... in this case the location was a true bonus ! If you want known quality with no surprises, this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain_Moonduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews