We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

A friend suggested that we stay in Bamberg as it is medieval town that was unscathed by the war. The town is absolutely charming. The hotel is well located and a short walk to the center of town. The room was the largest and most spacious of any hotel that I have stayed at. The service was great and the breakfast (which was included) was extensive with great quality and quantity of food. The hotel has been expanded. Get a room in the original part of the hotel as the newer rooms are not as spacious or charming as the original rooms.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BigintrepidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a hotel developed from a range of impressive period hospital buildings alongside the river and within very easy walking distance of most of the historic sites of this splendid small Franconian city.

The rooms are generous in size, and very well equipped, but avoid those right next to the road as it can be noisy - especially if you like some fresh air from an open window. This is a large hotel built around two garden courtyards and we were quickly moved to a quieter room when we complained. The hotel does not have a wireless facility but there are two terminals in reception available free of charge, and phone line connectors in the rooms - for a charge..

The breakfast offering was quite splendid and the biggest choice we have ever had anywhere, although perhaps a negative for some might be the absence of on the spot cooking.

Overall this hotel is excellent with a helpful reception team, but other negatives for some might be the lack of any porterage facility to handle luggage - a big problem we noted for a touring coach which arrived during our stay, and a very limited "spa" area. This had a few useable machines, but in the relaxation area neither the jacuzzi nor the steam room were working, leaving only a rather crowded sauna to use.

The hotel also has conference facilities, but for those on holiday it is a great location for easy access to almost anything you might want to see or do in this lovely city....and Bamberg really is impressive.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the street side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudapestDavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Came to bamberg as the celebration of st elizabeth came to an end of five nights of bear drinking in the streets of the old city.we adored the architecture and were so happy to go back to our own schloss when the night was over for us...wonderful place to come back to have your head on a very good pillow... Loved the breakfast and recommend it whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANIELLA107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

Exclusive resort just a short walk from all the city centre attractions. We got a large corner suite (#601) with views over the river and the city. Impeccable service, convenient parking, excellent breakfeast. But it comes at a price.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jorrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We spent only one night and were fortunate enough to be given a large room in the front of the hotel overlooking the hotel's very pretty front garden. Two french doors opened onto the garden. The beds were comfortable and clean. Internet was indeed spotty and the a/c was non-existent. In fairness, it was in the 60's outside at night. Europeans open windows when it is cool outside- they don't run air conditioning until it is hot!

The location was perfect for exploring the old town, but tucked away enough to be quiet and peaceful for the night. Breakfast was fine, the parking was convenient and the front desk help friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trepidation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The hotel left us a bit cold. the entrance was very imposing. But the room could have been any hotel, anywhere, and looked a bit dated. Breakfast was excellent, but we had issues with the wifi. The staff incorrectly informed us that we had to pay some extortionate amount for T Mobile. We got the hotel wifi to work, but found that logging on with one device resulted in one traveling companion's device being kicked off the network. The hotel has parking, and is a 15 minute walk from the old town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This was a really nice hotel on the Regniz River Bamberg, Germany. The rooms are nice sized with a great bathroom space. What I really loved about this property besides the super easy walking access to the old town, was the fact they rent bicycles! The staff was professional, courteous and spoke excellent English. The only downside to my stay was the room's air conditioning was very minimal, I just shut it off and opened the windows. This resulted in hearing a lot of noise from the restaurant across the river and surprising loud partiers in the middle of the night. Overall was a great hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the walking path
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bamberger Hof Bellevue
Bamberger Hof Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Bamberg
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg

Address: Untere Sandstr. 32, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range: £101 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing