We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old elegance, a bit frayed, but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
335 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Old elegance, a bit frayed, but comfortable”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel looks as if it's on the river - not really, the view is minimal. It is not in the center of town but a 10 minute walk which is fine but late at night on deserted streets - too far. Staff very pleasant and helpful. The hotel feels, well, old. There is a need for redecorating and new energy. It had a little feeling of a retirement home. The brunch/breakfast stations are prominent on main hall leading to rooms - tacky. The room was average - definitely in need of new thicker carpeting. Dinner was very good and breakfast average. A good choice but lacking in ambience, or if you want elegance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beentheretooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guests,
each guest’s experience at our Hotel is truly important to us. Thank you for your feedback.
Your feedback helps us to continue developing and optimising the quality of our service and of the products we offer our guests. We take all of your feedback very seriously.
Our primary motivation is to achieve our aim of ensuring that each and every guest enjoys their stay with us.
We look forward to being able to welcome you again soon. Until then, our very best wishes.
Kind regards
your team of
WELCOME HOTEL RESIDENZSCHLOSS BAMBERG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    159
    57
    19
    3
See reviews for
31
164
16
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
198 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

If driving, enter the hotel off the main road and drive straight down into the underground car park...easy.
Reception was excellent..very helpful,friendly and efficient.
No problem with the room...clean, comfortable and with robes for use in the Spa. Free use of the steam room/sauna which was very pleasant.
The buffet breakfast was good for both variety and quality.
An easy walk along the river into the medieval centre, and up the hill to the cathedral.
Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stationmastershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte Hotelgäste,
Ihr Wohlbefinden liegt uns am Herzen. Vielen Dank für Ihre Mühe, uns bei tripadvisor zu bewerten. Wir als Dienstleister leben von den Meinungen unserer Gäste. Sie helfen uns dabei, die Servicequalität und unsere Leistungen immer weiter zu entwickeln und zu optimieren. Über Ihr Lob und Ihre positive Bewertung haben wir uns sehr gefreut. Dies ist für uns Motivation und zeigt, wir sind auf dem richtigen Weg zu erreichen, was uns am Wichtigsten ist: dass Sie sich wohlfühlen.
Wir wünschen Ihnen alles Gute und freuen uns auf Ihren erneuten Besuch.
Ihr Team vom
WELCOME HOTEL RESIDENZSCHLOSS BAMBERG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Well they say first impressions last and I have to say when the taxi dropped us off in front of the hotel we were extremely impressed. We got a taxi as it would have taken about 15/20 minutes to walk to the hotel. The hotel is on the river so you can go down the steps at the back and get to the Old Town in 5 minutes. The check in was quick and although we had arrived early our room was ready. We were on the third floor at the end of the corridor nearest to the road, not a room I would stay in again due to the fact that it was 35 degrees most days and nights, there was no air conditioning and we had to leave the window open, hence quite a lot of traffic noise. I suppose we could have asked to be moved but to be honest we got used to the noise. The room was spacious and very clean and the we had a bath which was great. The breakfast was amazing and there was a fantastic choice of food every morning. The staff in the dining room were extremely courteous and although my German is not great they made an effort to encourage me to speak it which was quite daunting for me and quite entertaining for them!!. There was no Wi-Fi in the bedroom so we went to reception to get it sorted, the lady on reception didn't have much patience with us so we ended up logging onto the internet to get it sorted. Overall we had a lovely stay even though there was no air conditioning, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spurs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte Hotelgäste,
Ihre Zufriedenheit ist uns wichtig. Vielen Dank für Ihre Mühe, uns bei tripadvisor zu bewerten. Wir als Dienstleister sind ständig bestrebt, die Servicequalität und unsere Leistungen weiter zu entwickeln und zu optimieren. Wir bedauern sehr, dass Ihr Aufenthalt durch die fehlende Klimaanlage und dem Strassenlärm getrübt wurde. Da unser Gebäude unter Denkmalschutz steht, ist es für uns kaum möglich eine Klimaanlage einzubauen. Bitte haben Sie Veständnis dafür.
Unsere Motivation ist zu erreichen, was uns am Wichtigsten ist: dass Sie sich wohlfühlen.
Wir wünschen Ihnen alles Gute und würden uns sehr freuen, Sie wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.
Ihr Team vom
WELCOME HOTEL RESIDENZSCHLOSS BAMBERG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked a deluxe double on floor 3 in the back section of the hotel with a view of the vast inner courtyard.

The room was a reasonable size with uncomplicated 1970 style, 2010 manufacture furnishing which was in good order.
We had a small window but it opened which is a bonus- no aircon and it was 32oC but they did supply us with a small desk fan which helped.
Decent modern TV supplied.
Beds were spotlessl- we booked a double but got 2 singles they were very clean if a little hard and the pillows also seemed synthetic and fought back too much for our taste.
The bathroom wasn’t large and the grout as is too often a curse of hotel bathrooms needed sorting.
The shower pressure wasn’t too forceful and any of snow white’s friends would have fitted in the tub but alas no one larger would have enjoyed the experience!
Towels were standard quality and were of average size, they just about covered the important areas after a shower. No robe or slippers.
A HUGE downer which really irritated me was this hotels policy not to supply even OK bathroom goodies but instead to fix 2 cheap and nasty looking industrial strength soap dispensers more reminiscent of a school shower block than a top hotel- very ill thought policy by the management in my opinion, penny saving stupidity – enough said!
We went into town for meal but enjoyed a good buffet breakfast.
We only stayed one night and found the underground secure parking a bonus.
The staff members we met were all extremely polite, friendly and helpful especially the youngsters who serve at breakfast.
Decent value overall and a decent en route stop

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear guests,
it is extremely important to us that our guests enjoy their stay at our Hotel. Thank you so much for your praise. Praise from our guests is wonderfully motivating and shows us that we are on the right track to achieving our aim of making every guest welcome and ensuring you enjoy the true WELCOME experience.By recommending our hotel you are of course helping us to do this. Personal recommendations from satisfied customers are very important to us.
Best regards
Your team from
WELCOME HOTEL RESIDENZSCHLOSS BAMBERG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Visiting Bamberg we stayed one night at Hotel Residenzschloss. Our room was in the front building. It was spaciuos with a nice sitting group. The bathroom was nice with good amenities. We missed the air condition and the room was very hot in the night. The room was equipped with a fan of no good use. The hotel i a short walk along the river from the charming town. We had a nice outdoor dinner at night. The breakfast was very good. Exellent service and a very friendly and helpful staff. If possible we definitively will come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bisibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear customers,

each guest’s experience at our Hotel is truly important to us. Thank you for your feedback.

Your feedback helps us to continue developing and optimising the quality of our service and of the products we offer our guests. We take all of your feedback very seriously.

Our primary motivation is to achieve our aim of ensuring that each and every guest enjoys their stay with us.

We look forward to being able to welcome you again soon. Until then, our very best wishes.

Kind regards
Your team of
WELCOME HOTEL RESIDENZSCHLOSS BAMBERG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Had a single room - and while it really was a single, the bed was much mor spacious than usual, the room quite large, good desk, perfect bathroom (shower). It was summer, but the temperatures were ok, with the windows open at night (no noise problems with a room on the courtyard), there was an aircondition, but it was not working et the time.
Different Internet-options, one (with limited data transfer) at no extra charge (sufficed for me). The room was in one of the back buildings, nice, but a little walk from the entrance.
One of the best breakfast buffets I ever had at a hotel in Germany (seating in a friendly restaurant or outside). The bar in the evening was ok, nice local beer, a small bowel of nuts complimentary. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Mr. Staden,

each guest’s experience at our Hotel is truly important to us. Thank you for your feedback.

Your feedback helps us to continue developing and optimising the quality of our service and of the products we offer our guests. We take all of your feedback very seriously.

Our primary motivation is to achieve our aim of ensuring that each and every guest enjoys their stay with us.

We look forward to being able to welcome you again soon. Until then, our very best wishes.

Kind regards
Your team of
WELCOME HOTEL RESIDENZSCHLOSS BAMBERG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We visited Bamberg for a weekend in June and took advantage of one of the many special deals this hotel has to offer (2 nights, breakfast both days and one dinner in the hotel included). This ended up being cheaper than just booking 2 nights outside the "package", but in hindsight I wish we would have done rather than going with the package deal. The reason is that (a) there were no options/choices for the meal at all, and although the food was very good some people in our party (including my dad to whom we had given this trip as a birthday present) really did not care for it (main course was veal, medium rare) and (b) that we had small children with us for whom this high end restaurant was not the right place. Otherwise, we were very happy with the hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean, they have a very nice bar, service is exceedingly friendly, and their breakfast buffet may have been the best I have ever seen. The hotel is located immediately on the river (approximately 10 minutes from the famous "little Venice" on the riverfront. You can walk along the river right into downtown, which is also nice, and a little bit down the road we found a very scenic path leading up to the Michaelsberg. We would definitively stay here again, but probably not with a package deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silke72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guests,

each guest’s experience at our Hotel is truly important to us. Thank you for your feedback.

Your feedback helps us to continue developing and optimising the quality of our service and of the products we offer our guests. We take all of your feedback very seriously.

Our primary motivation is to achieve our aim of ensuring that each and every guest enjoys their stay with us.

We look forward to being able to welcome you again soon. Until then, our very best wishes.

Kind regards
Your Team of
WELCOME HOTEL RESIDENZSCHLOSS BAMBERG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg

Property: Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Address: Untere Sandstr. 32, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing