We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This is a clean hotel with very friendly service and a good location at the edge of the old town. Bathrooms clean and spacious but nondescript stylistically--the whole place has had some dubious decorative color schemes but its well-kept. Wifi reception was good for my laptop but...the hotel's wifi does not work with IPhones. SERIOUSLY???!!! If you do most of your messaging while traveling via wifi on a smartphone (more specifically IPhone), this situation will annoy the hell out of you. But if you don't care about that, it's a very decent hotel. Avoid a street-facing room if you like to sleep with an open window (no A/C in rooms)--it's rather noisy outside and it wont be easy to sleep. 16 euro for breakfast felt overpriced, although it was actually quite a good buffet. Bamberg is a really beautiful town, btw.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Velvetgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012

I have stayed at the Messerschmitt nine times in the last ten years. The service always excellent, staff friendly,breakfast superb, and location perfect. It right around the corner from the main bus station and a short walk to the historic district. My favorite hotel in my favorite German city.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Messerschmitt for therr nights last month. The location is in the center of everything. There are dozens of restaurants just a short walk away. The area that is designated for foot traffic only is just meters away. The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast each day was delicious. I had no complaints with the room . I had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We have an overnight stay in this hotel and we find it really amazing! The decorations used and the how they maintained the hotel. It is very clean and we had a very comfortable sleep. Nice breakfast and staffs are also very friendly and helpful. I will definitely be staying in this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milds2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This hotel, and yes the connection is with the plane company, is ideally situated in Bamberg. It is comfortable and the food is good. It is a traditional German hotel serviing wholesome high quality German food.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We went for a weekend. This is the only hotel in Bamberg we have stayed in (so we are unable to compare/contrast).

Overall, it's a nice, classy hotel. Quiet too. Friendly staff, all seem to speak English. Hotel info and signs are written in English and German.

Hotel had a small bar. We enjoyed a few drinks there. Night-shift bartender was very nice.

Room is large for a Germany hotel. Double beds (in our room), a desk, chair, small TV (we got to watch CNN in English) and mini bar (whose prices are the same as the bar downstairs).

Bathroom is large for a German hotel - we had a shower/bath. Lotsa counter space. We also had a close-up mirror.

WiFi signal was good. They give you login/password at the front desk.

Spa/Wellness - only open 5-10 p.m., so we were not able to enjoy. Wish they were open longer or in the mornings.

Breakfast was a very nice spread and included "typical" American items - bacon, scrambled eggs, sausage as well as typical German items - brotchen, cold cuts, cheeses. Also had fresh fruits, jellies, cereal, juices, hot teas, coffee beverages and even champagne for a mimosa.

NEGATIVE: Parking is virtually unavailable around the hotel. Garage is a few blocks away. Suggest dropping someone off at the front door with luggage.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

A pretty small hotel at the edge of the old city of Bamberg. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Rooms were clean, large and attractively furnished. The bathroom was modern and clean but retained a delightful style. The bed was comfortable (although pillows were large but soft). The rooms were quiet despite a busy street outside the hotel.

Buffet Breakfast was disappointing, not helped by the milk and fruit salad being off. The restaurant staff were however helpful in replacing the milk when this was pointed out to them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OchreSilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
#12 of 40 in Bamberg
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bamberger Hof Bellevue
Bamberger Hof Bellevue
#11 of 40 in Bamberg
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt

Address: Lange Str. 41, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range: £140 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HRS, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing