We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different in a wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palais Schrottenberg
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Reviewed 13 December 2006

Built 300 years ago as the home of a wealthy merchant, and having had many changes of use since, this is now a very comfortable hotel right in the heart of beautiful Bamberg. There are 13 rooms of varying size and the nightly rate is from 100 to 140 euros, including breakfast. All the attractions of Old Bamberg are on the doorstep and numerous restaurants serving excellent food at very reasonable prices are within easy walking distance. We had 1 of the 2 ground floor rooms, both of which are huge with great high ceilings. Rooms are very well heated in winter and have ultra modern furnishings and fittings. Bathrooms, too, are large but have no bath: however the power shower was excellent and there was constant hot water. Toiletries and towels were adequate, but no more than this. A nice glass-fronted bar/cafe/bistro which overlooks a pleasant courtyard, has been added, and is very popular with locals, as is the restaurant.. Buffet breakfast comprises mainly cold meats and cheeses, and the selection is good. Hot cooked breakfast is available on request but this appears to be a "well kept secret" - no one tells you this! The hotel is staffed mainly by young, energetic and attentive people, so service is good and fairly fast. However, it attracts great crowds of locals for weekend breakfast and finding a table can be difficult at these times. Hotel residents appear to be given no preference over locals. One problem with ground floor rooms is that of privacy. Windows are at street level and passers-by are inclined to have a good look in!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2004

We stayed at Palais Schrottenberg in March 2002 and were very impressed. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. A hotel like this in the States would be double the price. The breakfast buffet was out of this world and the mini bar is well worth mentioning (very affordable) as well as the sushi bar (on season). The atmosphere is very sophiticated and elegant. We felt quite special as guest of Palais Schrottenberg! Perfect location. Great value. Need I say more?

4  Thank hurley71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2003

Palais Schrottenberg is by far the hippest, best hotel in Bamberg. The hotel is a historic palace directly on the river and only a short walk to the city center. The rooms are modern and stylishly decorated. After living in Bamberg for a year and getting to know the city and hotel offerings, Palais Schrottenberg is definitely where I will stay when I return.

7  Thank AtlantaMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zum Innenhof sind ruhig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pollyswelt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Souel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brudermuehle
Hotel Brudermuehle
#18 of 40 in Bamberg
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alt Ringlein
Alt Ringlein
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
0.1 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#9 of 40 in Bamberg
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Schrottenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Schrottenberg

Address: Kasernstr. 1, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range: £86 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palais Schrottenberg 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Palais Schrottenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing