We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and personalized service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barock Hotel am Dom
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Great value. Great location. Charming hotel with a b&b feel. Service by the owners is very good. Room had all that you needed...it's not a luxury hotel so don't be expecting posh, palatial estate rooms. We stayed 2 nights and could not have imagined a better choice. Walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel and can recommend for location and service, staff very helpful and accommodating, breakfast is simple but ample to set you up for your day ahead in a beautiful, bustling city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Centrally located at the mediaval old town of Bamberg, just next to the cathedral, this lovely family-run hotel is an excellent choice when you visit Bamberg. The building is a few hundreds year old mansion. It's five minutes walk to most of the historical sites and old restaurants and beerhouses. The owner is very friendly and helpful. When we arrived late in the evening, the owner moved his car to make a room for us. The next day, they gave us a map and detailed directions to the places we wanted to visit. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. Bamberg ends up being one of the most memorable places for our German trip and we really enjoyed our stayand highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aranjuezUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed here in late September 2012. The hotel is wonderfully located just below the Dom. The historic center of Bamberg is not large so it is very easy to walk to the main sights from the hotel. Bamberg is a lovely town.

Our experience with the hotel was outstanding from the quality of the room to the excellent breakfast. Given the location of the hotel my guess is that all of the rooms would be quiet. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keninakayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

The Barok Hotel am Dom has an absolutely central location, just beneath the cathedral. I would return when visiting Bamberg. The lady who runs this hotel is very knowledgeable and recommended two outstanding restaurants frequented by locals. But driving there, using the directions provided, is a challenge. The breakfasts were served in a white-washed room with a multiple-vaulted ceiling. Our room was clean and modern. Call ahead to reserve a space for your car, unless you want to go looking for a parking space.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

First, there have been many comments on TripAdvisor about getting to this hotel successfully. We had detailed written instructions from the owners, who said that GPS didn't work very well in the small streets around the hotel. We also had our new GPS (a Garmin Nuvi 2475) with North American and European maps loaded.

The directions were fine and thr GPS matched them street for street, turn for turn. But when we got to a place where it looked like a pedestrian area, we made a right turn instead of going straight ahead into the cobblestone area where there is a cafe with tables outside. The "lady on the dashboard" calmly took us around in a cricle until we were back looking at those cafe tables, and then noted a small blue sign on the right side that had the hotel name on it with an arrow straight ahead. So we slowly proceeded past the cafe patrons, and made a hard right just past the tables, followed by two quick lefts and we were in front of the hotel. Just drive slowly, don't be afriad of passing those cafe tables, and you'll be just fine.

There is very little street parking so I would advise going for the 7 Euros for their private parking in a courtyard almost next to the hotel. The gate is not closed, so your car is available to you at any time.

The hotel is lovely, as are the couple who own it. They were so helpful. The Dom (cathedral) itself is a few minutes walk up a steep hill from the hotel, so you are really right in the middle of town.

We had a room on the third floor, but there is an elevator so bag handling was a snap.

The bathroom had an interesting shower. It was essentially open with some small glass panels on each side. The owner said that they had complaints from large people not being able to fit into a conventional shower, so they installed this. It was fine as long as you directed the telephome shower away from the opening!

Breakfast was a large, excellent buffet in a very interesting room.

All in all, a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabreSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This is a lovely hotel situated in old Bamberg, an easy walk to everything. We had a spotlessly clean room in a quiet location of the hotel. We were able to park overnight right in front of the hotel. The breakfast room is a charming room with vaulted ceilings. There was an excellent selection of breakfast food. We have been in Bamberg twice before at another hotel. This hotel is much more reasonable and has a better location for seeing the old town, therefore, we would stay again. The staff were helpful and friendly.
Ask the hotel for driving directions, as Bamberg has many pedestrian areas, be patient, you will get there.
Try to book your room here early, there are not many, and it is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAGSNiagaraOnTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barock Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barock Hotel am Dom

Address: Vorderer Bach 4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range: £97 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barock Hotel am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barock Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barock Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing