We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barock Hotel am Dom
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alt Ringlein(Bamberg)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Nepomuk(Bamberg)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tandem Hotel(Bamberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
76
67
19
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
67
19
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towncathedral bellshistorical buildinglovely old hoteldefinitely return to this hotelexcellent locationneue residenzwell run hotelquiet side streeteggs to ordertwo night staygerman hotelsvisit bambergpublic areasenjoyed our staya great staycomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2007

I stayed at the hotel 2 days with my parents and I really loved it. A couple manages the hotel and both are quite friendly. Rooms are clean, breakfast excelent and location of the hotel very good - closer to touristic sights. With 5 min you come to the most important ones and the other ones are quite closer too.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Southwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2006

Bamberg was the first city of 5 that we visited in Germany and we had a great start here. We loved Frau Bosch and almost felt like we were staying with a relative. She spoke perfect English, gave us lots of assistance with directions, parking, and things to do, and took care of us for breakfast each morning. After the first day she remembered which of us wanted tea vs coffee and that we all wanted a soft-boiled egg.

The rooms were very large and quite clean, and I loved being woken by the cathedral bells every morning. Another nice touch was the refrigerator on the ground floor which acts as a minibar for the entire hotel--just help yourself at any time and keep a list.

We walked to most everything but if you aren't used to walking a lot you may need to cab or drive depending on where you eat or drink. The breweries in Bamberg were impressive and had amazing beer. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2006

We stayed here based on TripAdbvisor reviews opting to pay a little more including cab fare from the train station for location anbd ambience. it is a very short walk to the Rathaus, Dom, brew houses, restauruants, and, closest of all, the Dom. English-speaking staff is quite helopful Refrigerator at base of stairs includes beverages purchasable on honor system. Sekt for Sunday breakfast! The only downside as I see if would be attempting to drive to this hotel w/o GPS and most likely the necessity to use public parking. Would love to visit again during summer, and if we do, will definitely try to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tn-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2006

This was our second visit to Bamberg and to the Barock Hotel. We love it here. Quaint hotel with spacious double rooms and bathrooms. I had to ask for a hairdryer but that was no problem. The breakfast on the first morning was great (a Sunday) however after that there was little to choose from (eggs & croissants disappeared!) but we always managed to find something. Staff are very friendly and helpful and despite the bells ringing every morning, we will be back.

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank Malady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

This hotel is close to the cathedral and center of the old town of Bamberg. It is small and charming, and you can see the tower of the cathedral from the window. In the morning I loved listening to the chiming bells. Our room was on the ground floor which was OK but the rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor were even better, with windows that opened wide. The high ceilings made the room feel spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful with suggestions for dining and finding places. The front door is locked at night and the key code is a little tricky so be sure to test it before you leave if you are planning to come back late at night. Breakfast was very good. The hotel is in the old part of town that was built centuries before there were cars, so be sure you have a good map because it is hard to find; the streets are narrow. We had to unload our bags and then park at a public garage across the river, but this was Ok, because you really don't want to drive in Bamberg. It is a great place to walk.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AnotherHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews