We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a wonderful German town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barock Hotel am Dom
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a wonderful German town!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Barock Hotel. As other readers have mentioned, even with a GPS and driving directions supplied by the hotel, it was very tricky finding the hotel and navigating the narrow, one-lane windy roads. If you follow the directions supplied by the hotel you will get there just fine, just don't be afraid to drive through what looks like a pedestrian, non-drivable area.We reserved a parking place in advance and was glad we did. When we arrived, the lovely lady at the front desk came out and showed us where to park our car, which was just a few spaces away from the front door, behind a gate which she opened for us. Our hotel room was basic but big, with everything you need. It's just a quick walk from the hotel to the cathedral and river areas, and the allstadt. Bamberg is full of some wonderful picture-taking opportunities and the day we were there, they were celebrating some sort of local festival, so there was live music and food booths set up. Great people-watching. Make sure to check out the "Little Venice" area by the river.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhlllyPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    63
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
86
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our stay in Bamberg and the Barock Hotel was our favorite experience in a week-long trip across Germany. The location of the Barock Hotel is simply amazing in Bamberg. Also, I felt like I was staying in someone's home from a hospitality and generosity standpoint -- really a family, personal feel with above-and-beyond customer service.

I can say that the room and toiletries/etc. were very basic, but the charm of the hotel, the great breakfast and location, more than make up for the simplicity of the room amenities and I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-up room with a view of the top of the cathedral -- it made me smile in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montanaphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

This Is my third trip to Germany, but my first to Bamberg and the lovely Barock hotel. Gracious hosts, super rooms with extras (makeup mirror, coffees, water), wonderful breakfast , plus nice treats in the lobby. My traveling companions (5) and I loved our two night stay and would highly recommend the Barock Hotel. It would be difficult, but not impossible, to locate at night. If you have navigated the tiny streets of Rothenburg, you will understand! Please add Bamberg and this lovely hotel to your itinerary.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbofsrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is right in the heart of the old town next to a wall next to the cathedral and yes it is darn tricky getting a car in there. Even with the lovely little map supplied in an email it took three goes to wriggle down what look like oneway lanes but we eventually made it. Bamburg is a gorgeous town and this hotel is perfect for dumping the suitcase and getting out on foot. There are at least six brilliant places to eat and while away a few hours relaxing within metres of the hotel. We had lunch overlooking the river and just soaked up the very appealing atmosphere. The hotel is large and spacious, very clean and our twin room was perfectly fine. The bathroom was new, immaculate and had every amenity. The hosts put themselves out for us as we had to leave very early to get to airport so put a breakfast in the lobby fridge so we could snack in the car. If nothing else the service with genuine care was fantastic and we thank them for that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Wonderful place, great walk-in location, but may the good lord be there to support you if you arrive by car. Bamberg is not really a car friendly town in the first place. The rooms are modern, nice size for Europe, clean, nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a lovely hotel! Attention to detail, from the beautiful stairs, the décor, the comfortable rooms. Breakfast was excellent as well. This is a gem in a very beautiful medieval city. I felt
wonderful; Christine and Andries could not have been more hospitable. The hotel is near the cathedral, near several wonderful restaurants, a short and lovely walk to the famous Rathaus.
I enjoyed my stay in Bamberg so very much both because the city is so lovely and also because I felt so welcome and comfortable at the hotel. Great value!

Room Tip: I had a single room at the end of the hall. It was so very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmacane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

European style is alive and well at Barock. Our host emailed me perfect driving directions for TomTom which took us right to their decorative doors. A staff member secured a parking space very close by. The hotel is picturesque and we were lucky enough to reserve their last room after a cancellation, only the night before. It was a busy time in Bamberg and while our room was tiny, it was clean and had everything that opens and shuts, on a smaller scale.

The staff were exemplary and were a model for all other B&B's and hotels. They were very welcoming, helpful and patient with our many questions fired at a rapid rate. We were early but they secured our luggage and sent us for a short walk while our room was cleaned and gave it to us earlier than expected.

Our room was a twin at the front of the building, facing the Dom (Church). If you are a light sleeper, I suggest ear plugs as the church bell rings early in the morning. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious.

Unfortunately, we only stayed the one night but I would have enjoyed another night in this delightful establishment, with our hospitable hosts in a very pretty town.

Room Tip: If you book early enough, ask for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barock Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barock Hotel am Dom

Property: Barock Hotel am Dom
Address: Vorderer Bach 4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Barock Hotel am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barock Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barock Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing